Drugs / Voclosporin

Regulatory milestones approvals, filings & regulatory actions · 8 recorded

MilestoneJurisdictionBrandIndicationDateSentence it was read from
Filed lupus nephritis 5 milestones
Filed Japan (PMDA) LUPKYNIS lupus nephritis 2024-01-05

“Our collaboration partner, Otsuka Pharmaceuticals Co., Ltd. filed for approval of LUPKYNIS to treat lupus nephritis (LN) with Japanese authorities” auriniapharma.com ↗

“based on the JNDA that Otsuka filed in November 2023 for approval of LUPKYNIS to treat adults with LN.” auriniapharma.com ↗

Filed EU (EMA) — lupus nephritis 2021-06-24

“has filed an initial marketing authorization application (MAA) to the European Medicines Agency (EMA) for an oral calcineurin inhibitor, voclosporin, for the treatment of lupus...” otsuka.co.jp ↗

“On June 25, 2021, Aurinia’s licensing partner, Otsuka Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd., filed an initial marketing authorization application (MAA) with the European Medicines Agency (EMA)” auriniapharma.com ↗

“filed an initial Marketing Authorization Application (MAA) for voclosporin for the treatment of lupus nephritis (LN) to the European Medicines Agency (EMA).” auriniapharma.com ↗

“filed an initial Marketing Authorization Application (MAA) for voclosporin for the treatment of lupus nephritis (LN) to the European Medicines Agency (EMA).” auriniapharma.com ↗

“filed an initial Marketing Authorization Application (MAA) for voclosporin for the treatment of LN to the EMA.” auriniapharma.com ↗

Filed US (FDA) — lupus nephritis 2020-07-21

“U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has accepted the filing of its New Drug Application (NDA) for voclosporin, as a potential treatment for lupus nephritis” auriniapharma.com ↗

“the U.S. Food & Drug Administration (FDA) has accepted the filing of its New Drug Application (NDA) for voclosporin” auriniapharma.com ↗

Filed US (FDA) — lupus nephritis 2020-05-25

“completion of the rolling submission of a New Drug Application (“NDA”) to the United States Food and Drug Administration (“FDA”) for voclosporin” auriniapharma.com ↗

“voclosporin’s new drug application (NDA) to the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) which was completed on May 25, 2020.” auriniapharma.com ↗

Filed US (FDA) — lupus nephritis 2020-03-16

“The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) accepted the filing of Aurinia’s NDA for voclosporin in the treatment of lupus nephritis (LN)” auriniapharma.com ↗

“initiated a Rolling Submission of its New Drug Application (“NDA”) to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (“FDA”)” auriniapharma.com ↗

“has accepted the NDA filing for voclosporin, as a potential treatment for lupus nephritis (LN).” auriniapharma.com ↗

Approved Indication not stated 3 milestones
Label expansion US (FDA) LUPKYNIS — 2024-04-29 fda.gov ↗
Approved EU (EMA) Lupkynis — 2022-09-15 europa.eu ↗
Approved US (FDA) LUPKYNIS — 2021-01-22 fda.gov ↗

Trials 19

PhaseRegistry idDatesIndicationSponsorStatusOutcome
Phase 13 trials
Phase 1 NCT05306379 Jan → Apr 2022 — Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT02949999 Oct → Dec 2016 — Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT00851734 Feb → Mar 2009 keratoconjunctivitis Lux Biosciences, Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 26 trials · 1 met primary · 1 missed
Phase 2 NCT05306873 Nov 2022 → Jun 2024 systemic lupus erythematosus National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 2 NCT04701528 Nov 2020 → Mar 2022 COVID-19, disease related to solid organ transplantation Leiden University Medical Center Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT03597139 Aug → Nov 2018 dry eye syndrome Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Completed Missed primary
Phase 2 NCT03598036 Jun 2018 → May 2020 focal segmental glomerulosclerosis Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 2 NCT02949973 Jun 2015 → Dec 2016 lupus nephritis Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT02141672 Jun 2014 → Jul 2016 lupus nephritis Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Completed Met primary
Phase 2/31 trial · 1 missed
Phase 2/3 NCT04147650 Oct 2019 → Sep 2020 dry eye syndrome Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Completed Missed primary
Phase 37 trials · 1 met primary
Phase 3 NCT05962788 Mar 2024 → Jul 2025 lupus nephritis Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT06406205 Dec 2023 → Jun 2027 expected lupus nephritis Qilu Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT05288855 Oct 2023 → Jul 2025 lupus nephritis Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT03597464 Sep 2019 → Oct 2021 lupus nephritis Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT03021499 May 2017 → Sep 2019 lupus nephritis Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Completed Met primary
Phase 3 NCT01586845 Mar 2013 → Dec 2015 — Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT01243983 Feb 2011 → Dec 2012 uveitis Lux Biosciences, Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 41 trial
Phase 4 NCT07611214 Apr 2026 → Mar 2029 expected lupus nephritis Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase not stated1 trial
— NCT01236287 — immunodeficiency disease Weill Medical College of Cornell University No longer available No outcome recorded
Comparator or background therapy8 trials
Phase 2 NCT00270634 Comparator Jan 2006 → Jul 2009 kidney disorder Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT00404612 Comparator Jan 2007 → Nov 2008 intermediate uveitis, panuveitis, posterior uveitis Lux Biosciences, Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT00404885 Comparator Jan 2007 → Nov 2008 anterior uveitis, panuveitis Lux Biosciences, Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT00404742 Comparator Jan 2007 → Nov 2008 intermediate uveitis, panuveitis, posterior uveitis Lux Biosciences, Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT00408187 Comparator Dec 2006 → Dec 2008 psoriasis Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Completed No outcome recorded

News releases announcing trial results or a regulatory action · 46

DateIssuerRelease
2025-05-22 Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Results New AURORA 1 Analysis: LUPKYNIS-Based Triple Immunosuppressive Therapy Yields Deep Proteinuria Reduction in Lupus Nephritis auriniapharma.com ↗
Of the 357 patients in AURORA 1, 60.9% in the triple immunosuppressive therapy group (N=109) achieved a UPCR of ≤0.4 g/g at least once during the study compared to 37.1% of patients in the control group (N=66).
2025-02-20 Lotus Pharmaceutical Regulatory Lotus announces FDA acceptance of Potential First-to-File ANDA Submission for Voclosporin soft gelatin capsules, a generic equivalent to Lupkynis® lotuspharm.com ↗
Lotus Pharmaceuticals, a multinational pharmaceutical company (1795:TT), has announced that U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has accepted the Potential First-to-File Abbreviated New Drug Application (ANDA) for Voclosporin soft gelatin capsules, a generic equivalent to Lupkynis® from Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc.
2024-11-15 Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Results Aurinia Presents New Data Underscoring Critical Importance of Earlier Lupus Nephritis Detection and Intervention and Value of LUPKYNIS® in Managing LN at American College of Rheumatology Convergence 2024 auriniapharma.com ↗
The analysis found that 62% of these SLE patients had ICD-10 coding or clinical laboratory measurements suggestive of LN.
2024-10-11 Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Results Aurinia Presents New Data Highlighting Real-World Utilization and Value of LUPKYNIS® in Treating Lupus Nephritis at American Society of Nephrology Kidney Week 2024 auriniapharma.com ↗
The subset of patients includes high percentages of Black and Hispanic and/or Latino patients, reflecting the larger population of LN in the US and the communities disproportionately affected by lupus and LN.
2024-09-24 Otsuka Pharmaceutical Development & Commercialization, Inc. Regulatory Otsuka Receives Approval in Japan for Lupkynis as a Treatment for Lupus Nephritis® otsuka.co.jp ↗
Otsuka Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. (Otsuka) announces that the Japanese Ministry of Health, Labor, and Welfare (MHLW) has approved Lupkynis (voclosporin) for the treatment of lupus nephritis (LN), an inflammation of the kidneys caused by systemic lupus erythematosus, an autoimmune disease.
2024-09-24 Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Regulatory Aurinia Announces Japan Approval of LUPKYNIS® (Voclosporin) to Treat Lupus Nephritis auriniapharma.com ↗
Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. (NASDAQ: AUPH) (Aurinia or the Company) today announced that the Japanese Ministry of Health, Labour, and Welfare has approved voclosporin, a second-generation calcineurin inhibitor, in combination with mycophenolate mofetil (MMF) to treat lupus nephritis (LN).
2024-06-05 Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Results Aurinia Presents Safety and Efficacy Profile of LUPKYNIS® for People with Lupus Nephritis at European Alliance of Associations for Rheumatology (EULAR) Congress 2024 auriniapharma.com ↗
These patients also achieved >50% UPCR reduction at any time point in the study significantly earlier than their propensity-matched counterparts in ALMS.
2024-05-14 Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Results Analysis Showing LUPKYNIS® is a Cost-Effective Treatment for Lupus Nephritis Presented at National Kidney Foundation’s Spring Clinical Meeting 2024 auriniapharma.com ↗
An updated cost-effectiveness analysis demonstrated that LUPKYNIS continues to be a cost-effective treatment for lupus nephritis (LN).
2024-05-09 Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Results Aurinia Presents Data Reinforcing LUPKYNIS® Safety and Efficacy for People with Lupus Nephritis at Congress of Clinical Rheumatology East 2024 auriniapharma.com ↗
Patients who received the LUPKYNIS-based regimen experienced reductions in exposure to glucocorticoids and more patients achieved a >50% urine protein creatinine ratio reduction from baseline compared to their propensity-matched counterparts in ALMS.
2024-04-30 Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Regulatory The U.S. Food & Drug Administration (FDA) Approves Updated LUPKYNIS® (voclosporin) Label to include Long-Term Data from the AURORA Clinical Program auriniapharma.com ↗
Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. (NASDAQ: AUPH) (Aurinia or the Company) today announced that the FDA has approved a label update for LUPKYNIS.
2023-11-06 Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Results Aurinia Presents Breadth of Data from AURORA Clinical Program Underscoring Value of LUPKYNISⓇ (voclosporin) for Patients with Lupus Nephritis at ACR 2023 auriniapharma.com ↗
A post-hoc, pooled analysis of Phase 2 and 3 studies showed LUPKYNIS® achieved significantly higher complete renal response in lupus nephritis patients with proteinuria >=2 g/day compared to patients treated with MMF and low-dose glucocorticoids alone.
2023-11-02 Aurinia Pharmaceuticals Inc. Results Aurinia Presents Breadth of Data at ASN 2023 Demonstrating Clinical Importance of LUPKYNIS® for Managing Lupus Nephritis auriniapharma.com ↗
Patients treated with LUPKYNISⓇ in a repeat kidney biopsy sub-study achieved improvement in histologic activity with stable chronicity scores and no evidence of chronic injury.

All press releases naming this drug 61 releases

DateIssuerRelease

Evidence & citations 15 cited values

Every value below carries the sentence it was read from. 29 sources stand behind the page.

FieldValueCited text
Known as Voclosporin “Treatment Arm A: voclosporin 0.4 mg/kg p.o. b.i.d., not to exceed 40 mg p.o. b.i.d.” NCT01243983 ↗
22

NCT07225387 ↗

NCT03021499 ↗

NCT00270634 ↗

NCT05306873 ↗

NCT04701528 ↗

NCT05288855 ↗

NCT00244842 ↗

NCT03597139 ↗

NCT05306379 ↗

NCT02949973 ↗

Show 12 more sources

Known as ISA-247 ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL5314379 ↗
Known as ISATX-247 ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL5314379 ↗
Known as LUPKYNIS ClinicalTrials.gov intervention name — accepted as the source's own label NCT07611214 ↗
Known as LX211 ClinicalTrials.gov intervention name — accepted as the source's own label NCT00404612 ↗
2

NCT00404742 ↗

NCT00404885 ↗

Known as QL1074 “Drug: Voclosporin calcineurin inhibitor Other Names: QL1074” NCT06406205 ↗
Known as VCS “Voclosporin (VCS, ISA247) is a novel calcineurin inhibitor being developed for organ transplantation.” PMID 21943027 ↗ Sep 2011
1

“anti-viral effect of voclosporin (VCS) with an extended safety follow-up” NCT04701528 ↗

Known as voclosporin, ISA247 “voclosporin, ISA247” NCT01586845 ↗
Known as Voclosporina ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL5314379 ↗
Known as Voclosporine ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL5314379 ↗
Known as VOS “0.05% Voclosporin Ophthalmic Solution (VOS)” NCT04147650 ↗
1

“Voclosporin ophthalmic solution (VOS)” NCT03597139 ↗

Action Inhibit “Voclosporin represents the possibility of a calcineurin inhibitor which is not only as efficacious as cyclosporine A, but also has an improved toxicity profile.” NCT00258713 ↗
1

“Serine/threonine protein phosphatase 2B catalytic subunit, alpha isoform inhibitor” CHEMBL5314379 ↗

Modality Other / unclassified “a novel CNI, voclosporin (VCS)” NCT04701528 ↗
Route Oral “voclosporin 0.4, 0.6, 0.8 mg/kg po BID” NCT00270634 ↗
Target PPP3CA “Serine/threonine protein phosphatase 2B catalytic subunit, alpha isoform inhibitor” CHEMBL5314379 ↗