Drugs / Idebenone

Regulatory milestones approvals, filings & regulatory actions · 2 recorded

MilestoneJurisdictionBrandIndicationDateSentence it was read from
Approved EU (EMA) Raxone 2015-09-08 europa.eu
Refused (EMA) EU (EMA) Sovrima 2009-04-27 europa.eu

Trials 26 · a red edge is where a trial was stopped

PhaseRegistry idDatesIndicationSponsorStatusOutcome
Phase 14 trials
Phase 1 NCT04071639 Mar 2020 → Dec 2024 Huntington disease Second Affiliated Hospital, School of Medicine, Zhejiang University Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT02887443 Sep → Nov 2016 Santhera Pharmaceuticals Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT00078481 Feb 2004 → Apr 2006 Friedreich ataxia National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT00015808 May 2001 → Apr 2006 Friedreich ataxia National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1/22 trials
Phase 1/2 NCT04669158 Jul 2021 → Jul 2023 metabolic dysfunction-associated steatohepatitis Stanford University Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT01854359 Mar 2013 → Oct 2018 primary progressive multiple sclerosis National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 26 trials
Phase 2 NCT04534023 Aug 2020 → Sep 2026 expected REM sleep behavior disorder, synucleinopathy Ruijin Hospital Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT00887562 May 2009 → Jul 2012 MELAS syndrome Michio Hirano Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT00758225 Sep 2008 → Jan 2011 Duchenne muscular dystrophy Santhera Pharmaceuticals Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT00747487 Nov 2007 → Feb 2010 Leber hereditary optic neuropathy Santhera Pharmaceuticals Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT00654784 Oct 2005 → Aug 2007 Duchenne muscular dystrophy Santhera Pharmaceuticals Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT00229632 Sep 2005 → Dec 2007 Friedreich ataxia National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 310 trials
Phase 3 NCT04151472 Dec 2021 → Dec 2025 overdue migraine disorder Second Affiliated Hospital, School of Medicine, Zhejiang University Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT03603288 Jul 2018 → Nov 2020 Duchenne muscular dystrophy Santhera Pharmaceuticals Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT02814019 Sep 2016 → Dec 2020 Duchenne muscular dystrophy Santhera Pharmaceuticals Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT01303406 Apr 2011 → Jul 2012 Friedreich ataxia Santhera Pharmaceuticals Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT01027884 Jul 2009 → Jan 2014 Duchenne muscular dystrophy Santhera Pharmaceuticals Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT00697073 Jul 2008 → May 2010 Friedreich ataxia Santhera Pharmaceuticals Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT00537680 Dec 2007 → Apr 2009 Friedreich ataxia Santhera Pharmaceuticals Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT00993967 Jun 2007 → Jun 2012 Friedreich ataxia Santhera Pharmaceuticals Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT00905268 Apr 2006 → Jan 2010 Friedreich ataxia Santhera Pharmaceuticals Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT01495715 Leber hereditary optic neuropathy Santhera Pharmaceuticals Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 43 trials
Phase 4 NCT05987397 Jul 2023 → Dec 2025 epilepsy Xiangya Hospital of Central South University Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 4 NCT03727295 Jan 2019 → Dec 2020 Parkinson disease, mitochondrial Second Affiliated Hospital of Soochow University Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 4 NCT02774005 May 2016 → Mar 2021 Leber hereditary optic neuropathy Santhera Pharmaceuticals Completed No outcome recorded
Phase not stated1 trial
NCT03433807 Duchenne muscular dystrophy Santhera Pharmaceuticals No longer available No outcome recorded
Also used as a comparator or background therapy in 4 trials
PhaseRegistry idDatesIndicationSponsorStatusOutcome
Phase 1/21 trial
Phase 1/2 NCT00950248 Comparator Nov 2009 → Apr 2018 primary progressive multiple sclerosis National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2/31 trial
Phase 2/3 NCT04152655 Comparator Jan 2020 → Jan 2022 Parkinson disease, REM sleep behavior disorder Second Affiliated Hospital, School of Medicine, Zhejiang University Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 41 trial
Phase 4 NCT05411978 Comparator May 2022 → Jun 2024 migraine disorder Beijing Tiantan Hospital Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase not stated1 trial
NCT04381091 Background Leber hereditary optic neuropathy Santhera Pharmaceuticals No longer available No outcome recorded

Evidence & citations 13 cited values

Every value below carries the sentence it was read from. 35 sources stand behind the page.

FieldValueCited text
Known as Idebenone ClinicalTrials.gov intervention name — accepted as the source's own label NCT00747487
29

NCT00015808

NCT03603288

NCT00993967

NCT01854359

NCT04534023

NCT00758225

NCT05411978

NCT00654784

NCT02887443

NCT00697073

NCT00537680

NCT01027884

NCT03433807

NCT00229632

NCT04381091

NCT02774005

NCT04071639

NCT00950248

NCT02814019

NCT00887562

NCT00905268

NCT04669158

NCT01495715

NCT04152655

NCT05987397

NCT00078481

NCT01303406

NCT03727295

NCT04151472

Known as 6-(10-Hydroxydecyl)-2,3-dimethoxy-5-methyl-1,4-benxoquinone “The chemical name for idebenone is 6-(10-Hydroxydecyl)-2,3-dimethoxy-5-methyl-1,4-benxoquinone.” NCT00229632
Known as Catena “Twenty-one DMD patients (aged 8-16 years) were randomly assigned to daily treatment with 450 mg idebenone (Catena®) (n=13) or placebo (n=8) for 12 months.” PMID 21435876 Mar 2011
2

“patients received idebenone (Catena(®), 150 mg film-coated tablets) at a weight-adjusted dose of 1,350/2,250 mg/day” PMID 21779958 Jul 2011

“patients receiving idebenone (Catena; 900 mg/d; N = 28) or placebo (N = 11) for 6 months.” PMID 23263355 Mar 2013

Known as CV-2619 “This compound was synthesized and developed initially by Takeda Chemical Industries, Ltd. (Osaka, Japan) and designated as CV-2619.” NCT00229632
Known as Hydroxydecyl ubiquinone ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL252556
Known as Idebenona ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL252556
Known as Idebenone,H10970363 Idebenone,H10970363NCT04071639
Known as NSC-759228 ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL252556
Known as Oristar hdu ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL252556
Known as Raxone Raxone (idebenone 300 mg t.i.d.) on days 3 and days 5 to 10” NCT02887443
Known as Sovrima ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL252556
Modality Small molecule CHEMBL252556
Route Oral Oral idebenone was administered at 60 mg/kg divided in 3 doses per day for 1 month.” PMID 17562928 Jun 2007