Drugs / Fenfluramine

Regulatory milestones approvals, filings & regulatory actions · 7 recorded

MilestoneJurisdictionBrandIndicationDateSentence it was read from
Filed CDKL5 disorder 1 milestone
Filed US (FDA) FINTEPLA CDKL5 disorder —

“In March 2026, FINTEPLA ® (fenfluramine) was filed for regulatory approval in CDKL5 Deficiency Disorder (CDD) with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)” ucb.com ↗

Filed Dravet syndrome 1 milestone
Filed Japan (PMDA) FINTEPLA Dravet syndrome 2021-12-21

“Zogenix Submits New Drug Application for FINTEPLA ® (Fenfluramine) in Japan for the Treatment of Epileptic Seizures Associated with Dravet Syndrome.” ucb.com ↗

Filed Lennox-Gastaut syndrome 2 milestones
Filed US (FDA) FINTEPLA Lennox-Gastaut syndrome 2021-12-01

“Zogenix Announces U.S. FDA Acceptance for Priority Review of Supplemental New Drug Application for FINTEPLA® (Fenfluramine) for the Treatment of Seizures Associated with...” ucb.com ↗

Filed Japan (PMDA) — Lennox-Gastaut syndrome —

“In June, fenfluramine was filed with the Japanese regulatory authority for the treatment of patients with Lennox-Gastaut syndrome (LGS)” ucb.com ↗

Approved Indication not stated 3 milestones
Label expansion US (FDA) FINTEPLA — 2022-03-25 fda.gov ↗
Approved EU (EMA) Fintepla — 2020-12-18 europa.eu ↗
Approved US (FDA) FINTEPLA — 2020-06-25 fda.gov ↗

Trials 23

PhaseRegistry idDatesIndicationSponsorStatusOutcome
Phase 12 trials
Phase 1 NCT03467113 Jan 2018 → Jun 2020 Dravet syndrome, Lennox-Gastaut syndrome Zogenix, Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT00000313 — substance-related disorder National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 24 trials
Phase 2 NCT04289467 Jun 2023 → Dec 2026 expected infantile spasms Children's Hospital of Orange County Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT03861871 Oct 2019 → Aug 2022 — NYU Langone Health Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT02655198 Jan 2016 → Sep 2018 Lennox-Gastaut syndrome KU Leuven Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT00000506 May 1983 → Apr 1988 heart disorder, obesity disorder, vascular disorder National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 310 trials · 5 met primary
Phase 3 NCT07503444 Jul 2026 → Feb 2029 expected Rett syndrome UCB BIOSCIENCES, Inc. Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT06118255 May 2024 → Sep 2026 Dravet syndrome UCB BIOSCIENCES, Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT05560282 Jan 2023 → May 2025 Dravet syndrome University Health Network, Toronto Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 3 NCT05064878 Mar 2022 → Nov 2027 expected CDKL5 disorder, epilepsy with generalized tonic-clonic seizures Zogenix, Inc. Active not recruiting Met primary
Phase 3 NCT03790137 May 2019 → Nov 2021 photosensitive epilepsy Elizabeth Anne Thiele Completed Met primary
Phase 3 NCT03936777 Apr 2019 → May 2025 Dravet syndrome, Lennox-Gastaut syndrome Zogenix, Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT03355209 Nov 2017 → May 2024 Lennox-Gastaut syndrome Zogenix, Inc. Completed Met primary
Phase 3 NCT02926898 Jan 2017 → Jun 2018 Dravet syndrome Zogenix, Inc. Completed Met primary
Phase 3 NCT02823145 Jun 2016 → Jan 2023 Dravet syndrome Zogenix, Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT02682927 Jan 2016 → Jul 2020 Dravet syndrome Zogenix, Inc. Completed Met primary
Phase 44 trials
Phase 4 NCT07112365 Apr 2026 → Sep 2027 expected Dravet syndrome The University of Texas Health Science Center, Houston Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 4 NCT06598449 Oct 2024 → Dec 2026 expected Dravet syndrome University of Colorado, Denver Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 4 NCT05232630 Oct 2022 → Dec 2024 developmental and epileptic encephalopathy, 15, developmental and/or epileptic encephalopathy with spike-wave activation in sleep, focal or multifocal malformations in neuronal migration Hospital Ruber Internacional Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 4 NCT05026398 Apr 2021 → Jun 2022 cognitive disorder University of Oxford Completed No outcome recorded
Phase not applicable1 trial
— NCT07651293 Jul 2026 → Jul 2028 expected major depressive disorder Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust Not yet recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase not stated2 trials
— NCT03780127 — Dravet syndrome Zogenix, Inc. Approved for marketing No outcome recorded
— NCT04437004 — Dravet syndrome University of California, Los Angeles Approved for marketing No outcome recorded
Comparator or background therapy2 trials
Phase 1 NCT06679413 Background Dec 2024 → Jun 2025 — UCB BIOSCIENCES, Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT03299842 Background Jul 2017 → Jul 2018 Dravet syndrome Zogenix, Inc. Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment

News releases announcing trial results or a regulatory action · 15

DateIssuerRelease
2026-09-01 UCB Pharma Results UCB presents data at EEC 2026 highlighting continued leadership in epilepsy and developmental and epileptic encephalopathies ucb.com ↗
Post hoc analyses showed that fenfluramine had an impact on seizure control in CDKL5 deficiency disorder (CDD) including increasing seizure-free days;
2026-04-15 UCB Pharma Results UCB presents new data demonstrating quality-of-life impacts for epilepsy patients and caregivers at AAN 2026 meeting ucb.com ↗
Claims analysis data evaluating treatment persistence with FINTEPLA ® ▼ 4,5 (fenfluramine) for people in the U.S. living with Lennox-Gastaut syndrome (LGS) show reductions in healthcare resource utilization and antiseizure medication claims for patients with treatment persistence at 6 and 12 months.
2025-12-08 UCB Pharma Results UCB presents positive results from GEMZ phase 3 study at AES showing fenfluramine significantly reduces countable motor seizure frequency in CDKL5 Deficiency Disorder ucb.com ↗
The trial met its primary endpoint and key secondary endpoints, demonstrating a statistically significant reduction in countable motor seizure frequency (CMSF) and a clinically meaningful improvement on the Clinical Global Impression-Improvement (CGI-I) scale, compared with placebo.
2025-12-04 UCB Pharma Results UCB shares leading scientific research and advances at American Epilepsy Society Annual Meeting ucb.com ↗
Sustained long-term safety and clinical benefit - as assessed by investigator and caregiver reported Clinical Global Impression-Improvement (CGI) ratings - in patients living with DS and LGS.
2025-10-14 UCB Pharma Results Final analysis of open-label extension (OLE) study of Fintepla[®]▼ (fenfluramine) in Lennox-Gastaut syndrome published in Epilepsy and Behavior ucb.com ↗
No new or unexpected treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs) were reported.
2025-07-31 UCB Pharma Results From Differentiated Innovation to Outstanding Delivery - A Strong First Half Performance ucb.com ↗
positive results from the GEMZ phase 3 study of fenfluramine in CDKL5 Deficiency Disorder (CDD);
2025-06-27 UCB Pharma Results UCB announces positive results from GEMZ phase 3 study of fenfluramine in CDKL5 Deficiency Disorder ucb.com ↗
UCB, a global biopharmaceutical company, today announced that the phase 3 study investigating the safety and efficacy of adjunctive fenfluramine in CDKL5 Deficiency Disorder (CDD) met its primary and key secondary endpoints.
2024-05-08 UCB Pharma Results UCB presents final open-label extension FINTEPLA®▼(fenfluramine)[1] data at International Child Neurology Congress (ICNC) Annual Meeting ucb.com ↗
In the modified intent-to-treat (mITT) population (n=324), the median percent MCSF change from baseline over the entire OLE was -66.8%, P<0.001.
2024-04-17 UCB Pharma Regulatory FINTEPLA[®]▼ (fenfluramine) oral solution approved in Japan for adjunctive treatment of seizures associated with Lennox-Gastaut syndrome (LGS) ucb.com ↗
The approval by the MHLW was based on safety and efficacy data from a global, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-group randomized Phase 3 clinical trial (1601 Study Cohort A & B), in 296 patients with LGS (aged 2-35 years), including 33 in Japan.
2023-02-08 UCB Pharma Regulatory FINTEPLA[®]▼ (fenfluramine) oral solution approved in the EU for adjunctive treatment of seizures associated with Lennox-Gastaut syndrome (LGS) ucb.com ↗
2022-12-19 UCB Pharma Regulatory FINTEPLA[®]▼ (fenfluramine) oral solution recommended for approval in the EU for adjunctive treatment of seizures associated with Lennox-Gastaut syndrome (LGS) ucb.com ↗
2022-12-01 UCB Pharma Results UCB to present data at the American Epilepsy Society 76th Annual Meeting 2022 supporting a decades-long commitment to transforming epilepsy care ucb.com ↗
Fenfluramine Treatment Is Associated With Improvement in Everyday Executive Function in Adults With Lennox-Gastaut Syndrome: Post-Hoc Analysis of Dose Effects From a Phase 3 Trial

All press releases naming this drug 16 releases

DateIssuerRelease

Evidence & citations 33 cited values

Every value below carries the sentence it was read from. 30 sources stand behind the page.

FieldValueCited text
Known as Fenfluramine “This is an open label study to evaluate the safety of ZX008 (fenfluramine) in patients with Dravet syndrome (DS) or Lennox Gastaut syndrome (LGS) who are being administered...” NCT03467113 ↗
24

“ZX008 drug product is an oral aqueous solution of fenfluramine hydrochloride.” NCT03355209 ↗

“Fenfluramine” NCT07112365 ↗

NCT00000506 ↗

NCT00000313 ↗

NCT07503444 ↗

NCT03299842 ↗

NCT02655198 ↗

NCT03780127 ↗

NCT05232630 ↗

NCT05026398 ↗

Show 14 more sources

Known as Acino ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL87493 ↗
Known as AHR-3002 ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL87493 ↗
Known as Brabafen ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL87493 ↗
Known as Dl-fenfluramine hydrochloride ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL87493 ↗
Known as Fenfluramin ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL87493 ↗
Known as Fenfluramina ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL87493 ↗
Known as fenfluramine HCl “A pilot, open-label study of the effectiveness and tolerability of low-dose ZX008 (fenfluramine HCl) in Lennox-Gastaut syndrome.” PMID 30146701 ↗ Aug 2018
1

“Study participants will receive pre-specified repeated oral doses of fenfluramine HCl (ZX008) from Day 6 to 26 during the study” NCT06679413 ↗

Known as Fenfluramine Hydrochloride “Participants will receive fenfluramine hydrochloride for 14 weeks in a double-blind period (including titration and maintenance), followed by a 2-week double-blind transition period.” NCT07503444 ↗
10

“The active ingredient, fenfluramine hydrochloride, is designated chemically as N-ethyl-α- methyl-3-(trifluoromethyl) phenethylamine hydrochloride.” NCT05560282 ↗

“ZX008 drug product is an oral aqueous solution of fenfluramine hydrochloride.” NCT03355209 ↗

“ZX008 drug is an oral aqueous solution of fenfluramine hydrochloride.” NCT03467113 ↗

“ZX008 (Fenfluramine Hydrochloride)” NCT02926898 ↗

“ZX008 (Fenfluramine Hydrochloride)” NCT03936777 ↗

“ZX008 (Fenfluramine Hydrochloride)” NCT03299842 ↗

“ZX008 (Fenfluramine Hydrochloride)” NCT02682927 ↗

“ZX008 (Fenfluramine Hydrochloride)” NCT02823145 ↗

“Drug: Fenfluramine Hydrochloride” NCT03861871 ↗

NCT03790137 ↗

Known as Fenfluramine Hydrochloride (ZX008) “Fenfluramine Hydrochloride (ZX008)” NCT05026398 ↗
Known as Fenfluramine Hydrochloride HCl “ZX008 (Fenfluramine Hydrochloride HCl) Oral Solution” NCT02823145 ↗
Known as FFA “To assess the impact of fenfluramine (FFA) on the expected mortality incidence, including sudden unexpected death in epilepsy (SUDEP), in persons with Dravet syndrome (DS).” PMID 34768178 ↗ Nov 2021
2

“Fenfluramine (FFA), an antiseizure medication (ASM) indicated for treating convulsive seizures in Dravet syndrome, was assessed in six patients” PMID 33979451 ↗ May 2021

“fenfluramine (FFA)” PMID 40072476 ↗ Mar 2025

Known as Fintepla “Fenfluramine treatment (Fintepla)” NCT07112365 ↗
Known as Ganal ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL87493 ↗
Known as HHR-965 ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL87493 ↗
Known as J5.760F ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL87493 ↗
Known as Obedrex ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL87493 ↗
Known as Pesos ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL87493 ↗
Known as Phenfluramine ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL87493 ↗
Known as Ponderax ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL87493 ↗
Known as Ponderax pa ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL87493 ↗
Known as Ponderax pacaps ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL87493 ↗
Known as Rotondin ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL87493 ↗
Known as S-768 ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL87493 ↗
Known as Z-008 ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL87493 ↗