Drugs / Nusinersen

Regulatory milestones approvals, filings & regulatory actions · 8 recorded

MilestoneJurisdictionBrandIndicationDateSentence it was read from
Filed arthrogryposis spinal muscular atrophy 3 milestones
Filed EU (EMA) — arthrogryposis spinal muscular atrophy 2025-01-23

“the European Medicines Agency (EMA) has validated the application for a higher dose regimen of nusinersen for spinal muscular atrophy (SMA)” biogen.com ↗

Filed EU (EMA) SPINRAZA arthrogryposis spinal muscular atrophy 2016-10-28

“the company’s Marketing Authorization Application (MAA) has been validated by the European Medicines Agency (EMA)” biogen.com ↗

Filed US (FDA) SPINRAZA arthrogryposis spinal muscular atrophy 2016-09-26

“Earlier in September 2016, Biogen completed the rolling submission of a New Drug Application (NDA) to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for the approval of nusinersen.” biogen.com ↗

“its New Drug Application (NDA) for nusinersen, an investigational treatment for spinal muscular atrophy (SMA), has been accepted by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)” biogen.com ↗

“Biogen has completed the rolling submission of a New Drug Application (NDA) to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for the approval of nusinersen” biogen.com ↗

Approved Indication not stated 3 milestones
Label expansions (3) US (FDA) SPINRAZA — 2018-05-14 – 2026-03-27 fda.gov ↗
Approved EU (EMA) Spinraza — 2017-05-30 europa.eu ↗
Approved US (FDA) SPINRAZA — 2016-12-23 fda.gov ↗

Trials 20

PhaseRegistry idDatesIndicationSponsorStatusOutcome
Phase 01 trial
Phase 0 NCT04050852 Jul 2019 → Apr 2021 spinal muscular atrophy NYU Langone Health Withdrawn No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 14 trials
Phase 1 NCT06555419 Jan 2025 → Sep 2027 expected spinal muscular atrophy Biogen Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT02052791 Jan 2014 → Jan 2017 spinal muscular atrophy Biogen Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT01780246 Jan 2013 → Feb 2014 spinal muscular atrophy Biogen Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT01494701 Nov 2011 → Jan 2013 spinal muscular atrophy Biogen Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1/21 trial
Phase 1/2 NCT01703988 Oct 2012 → Jan 2015 spinal muscular atrophy Biogen Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 23 trials · 1 met primary
Phase 2 NCT02462759 Aug 2015 → Sep 2018 spinal muscular atrophy Biogen Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT02386553 May 2015 → Dec 2024 spinal muscular atrophy Biogen Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT01839656 May 2013 → Aug 2017 spinal muscular atrophy Biogen Completed Met primary
Phase 37 trials · 3 met primary
Phase 3 NCT07846696 Sep 2026 → Dec 2028 expected spinal muscular atrophy London Health Sciences Centre Research Institute OR Lawson Research Institute of St. Joseph's Not yet recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT05067790 Jan 2022 → Sep 2027 expected spinal muscular atrophy Biogen Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT04729907 Apr 2021 → Jul 2026 overdue spinal muscular atrophy Biogen Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT04089566 Mar 2020 → Feb 2024 spinal muscular atrophy Biogen Completed Met primary
Phase 3 NCT02594124 Nov 2015 → Aug 2023 spinal muscular atrophy Biogen Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT02292537 Nov 2014 → Feb 2017 spinal muscular atrophy Biogen Completed Met primary
Phase 3 NCT02193074 Aug 2014 → Nov 2016 spinal muscular atrophy Biogen Terminated Met primary Stop: Enrollment
Phase 41 trial
Phase 4 NCT04488133 Jan 2021 → Oct 2025 spinal muscular atrophy Biogen Completed No outcome recorded
Phase not applicable2 trials
— NCT07838779 Sep 2026 → Dec 2028 expected spinal muscular atrophy London Health Sciences Centre Research Institute OR Lawson Research Institute of St. Joseph's Not yet recruiting No outcome recorded
— NCT04576494 Jan 2022 → Jan 2023 spinal muscular atrophy Reims University Hospital Completed No outcome recorded
Phase not stated1 trial
— NCT02865109 — spinal muscular atrophy, type 1 Biogen No longer available No outcome recorded
Comparator or background therapy1 trial
Phase 2 NCT07047144 Background Sep 2025 → Nov 2028 expected spinal muscular atrophy, type II, spinal muscular atrophy, type III Scholar Rock, Inc. Recruiting No outcome recorded

News releases announcing trial results or a regulatory action · 45

DateIssuerRelease
2026-03-05 Biogen Results Biogen to Share New SMA Data at Muscular Dystrophy Association and SMA Europe Conferences biogen.com ↗
Long-term data from DEVOTE/ONWARD studies show benefits of high dose nusinersen in people living with spinal muscular atrophy (SMA)
2026-02-04 Biogen Results Nature Medicine Publishes Results from the Pivotal DEVOTE Study of High-Dose Regimen of Nusinersen in Spinal Muscular Atrophy biogen.com ↗
The results showed the safety and effectiveness of the high-dose regimen of nusinersen across a broad range of people living with SMA, irrespective of age, prior treatment experience, and baseline functional status.
2026-01-12 Biogen Regulatory Biogen Receives European Commission Approval for High Dose Regimen of SPINRAZA® (nusinersen) for Spinal Muscular Atrophy biogen.com ↗
The SPINRAZA European Union marketing authorization has been updated to include the high dose regimen.
2025-11-17 Biogen Regulatory High Dose Regimen of Nusinersen Receives Positive CHMP Opinion for the Treatment of Spinal Muscular Atrophy biogen.com ↗
Biogen Inc. (Nasdaq: BIIB) today announced the Committee for Medicinal Products for Human Use (CHMP) of the European Medicines Agency (EMA) adopted a positive opinion recommending by consensus the approval of the high dose regimen of nusinersen for the treatment of 5q spinal muscular atrophy (SMA).
2025-09-23 Biogen Regulatory Biogen Provides Regulatory Update on High Dose Regimen of Nusinersen biogen.com ↗
Biogen Inc. (Nasdaq: BIIB) today announced that the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) issued a Complete Response Letter (CRL) for the Company’s supplemental New Drug Application (sNDA) for the high dose regimen of nusinersen for the treatment of spinal muscular atrophy (SMA).
2025-06-27 Biogen Results New Data for Nusinersen Underscore Biogen’s Commitment to Advancing Clinical Research to Improve Outcomes in SMA biogen.com ↗
Final results from the landmark NURTURE study highlight the profound impact of early treatment with 12 mg SPINRAZA in clinically presymptomatic SMA with 92% of children achieving the ability to walk independently
2025-01-23 Biogen Regulatory FDA and EMA Accept Applications for Higher Dose Regimen of Nusinersen in SMA biogen.com ↗
2024-10-08 Biogen Results New Higher Dose Nusinersen Efficacy and Safety Data Presented at World Muscle Society Congress, Highlight Potential to Maximize Benefit of Nusinersen in SMA biogen.com ↗
Findings from Part B and Part C of the DEVOTE study support the clinical benefits of a higher dose regimen of nusinersen (50/28 mg) in both individuals previously treated and treatment-naïve to nusinersen
2024-09-04 Biogen Results Biogen Announces Positive Topline Results from Study of Higher Dose Regimen of Nusinersen, Showing Significant Benefit in Treatment of SMA biogen.com ↗
The study met its primary endpoint at six months, achieving a statistically significant improvement in motor function in infants who received the higher dose regimen as compared to a prespecified matched sham (untreated) control group from the ENDEAR study.
2024-03-06 Biogen Results New Biomarker Data Add Further Evidence Supporting the Potential Benefit of SPINRAZA® (nusinersen) in Infants and Toddlers with Unmet Clinical Needs after Gene Therapy biogen.com ↗
The new data show that plasma neurofilament light chain (NfL) levels, an objective biomarker of axonal injury and neurodegeneration, were reduced in nearly all study participants treated with SPINRAZA.
2023-06-30 Biogen Results New Data at Cure SMA Highlight Potential Benefit of SPINRAZA® (nusinersen) in Infants and Toddlers with Unmet Clinical Needs After Gene Therapy biogen.com ↗
Interim results from the RESPOND study show improved motor function in most participants treated with SPINRAZA after Zolgensma ® (onasemnogene abeparvovec)
2022-06-15 Biogen Results New Data Presented at Cure SMA Reveal Residual Unmet Needs in Young SMA Patients Treated With Gene Therapy and Suggest Further Potential of Using SPINRAZA® (nusinersen) biogen.com ↗
Final safety data from DEVOTE Part A support the continued development of an investigational, higher dose of nusinersen; additional study phases are actively enrolling

All press releases naming this drug 65 releases

DateIssuerRelease

Evidence & citations 11 cited values

Every value below carries the sentence it was read from. 24 sources stand behind the page.

FieldValueCited text
Known as nusinersen ClinicalTrials.gov intervention name — accepted as the source's own label NCT02594124 ↗
20

NCT04729907 ↗

NCT02292537 ↗

NCT01839656 ↗

NCT01494701 ↗

NCT07838779 ↗

NCT04576494 ↗

NCT07047144 ↗

NCT02462759 ↗

NCT02052791 ↗

NCT07846696 ↗

Show 10 more sources

Known as BIIB058 “An Open Label Individual Patient (OLIP) Study of Nusinersen (BIIB058) in a Participant With Spinal Muscular Atrophy Who Previously Participated in an Investigational Study With...” NCT07838779 ↗
1

“An Open Label Individual Patient (OLIP)-02 Study of Nusinersen (BIIB058)” NCT07846696 ↗

Known as ISIS 396443 ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL3301572 ↗
Known as ISIS-396443 SODIUM ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL3301572 ↗
Known as ISIS-SMNRx “Nusinersen (ISIS-SMNRx or ISIS 396443) is an antisense oligonucleotide drug administered intrathecally to treat spinal muscular atrophy.” PMID 26823478 ↗ Jan 2016
Known as NUSINERSEN SODIUM ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL3301572 ↗
Known as Spinraza ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL3301572 ↗
Action Restore “thus increase the amount of functional survival motor neuron (SMN) protein that is deficient in patients with spinal muscular atrophy” PMID 27939059 ↗ Dec 2016
Modality Antisense oligonucleotide “is an antisense oligonucleotide drug” PMID 26823478 ↗ Jan 2016
Route Intrathecal “administered intrathecally” NCT01494701 ↗
Target SMN2 “specifically designed to alter splicing of SMN2 pre-mRNA” PMID 27939059 ↗ Dec 2016