Drugs / Brivaracetam

Regulatory milestones approvals, filings & regulatory actions · 6 recorded

MilestoneJurisdictionBrandIndicationDateSentence it was read from
Filed simple partial epilepsy 1 milestone
Filed Japan (PMDA) BRIVIACT simple partial epilepsy —

“In July 2023 , UCB submitted the marketing authorization application for the epilepsy medicine BRIVIACT ® (brivaracetam) to PMDA in Japan.” ucb.com ↗

Approved Indication not stated 3 milestones
Label expansions (3) US (FDA) BRIVIACT — 2017-09-14 – 2021-08-27 fda.gov ↗
Approved US (FDA) BRIVIACT — 2016-02-18 fda.gov ↗
Approved EU (EMA) Briviact (in Italy: Nubriveo) — 2016-01-13 europa.eu ↗

Trials 47

PhaseRegistry idDatesIndicationSponsorStatusOutcome
Phase 01 trial
Phase 0 NCT05029960 May 2022 → May 2024 brain neoplasm University of Rochester Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 17 trials
Phase 1 NCT05622370 Sep 2022 → Mar 2023 epilepsy Overseas Pharmaceuticals, Ltd. Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT04882540 May → Jun 2021 — UCB Biopharma SRL Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT03695094 Sep 2018 → May 2019 epilepsy UCB Biopharma S.P.R.L. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT02602860 Nov 2015 → Sep 2017 — UCB Pharma Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT01710670 Sep → Nov 2012 — UCB Pharma Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT00736931 Jul → Oct 2008 epilepsy UCB Pharma Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT00426673 Apr 2005 → Jun 2006 epilepsy UCB Pharma Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1/22 trials
Phase 1/2 NCT05899764 Jan 2026 → Jun 2029 expected Alzheimer disease, cognitive impairment with or without cerebellar ataxia University of California, Los Angeles Not yet recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT04379011 Feb 2021 → Mar 2024 spinal cord injury University of Minnesota Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 28 trials · 1 met primary · 2 missed
Phase 2 NCT03405714 Jun 2018 → Nov 2020 epilepsy UCB Biopharma S.P.R.L. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT03021018 Feb 2017 → Apr 2018 epilepsy UCB Biopharma S.P.R.L. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT02088957 Mar → Oct 2014 epilepsy syndrome UCB BIOSCIENCES, Inc. Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 2 NCT00422422 Jul 2011 → Mar 2013 epilepsy UCB Pharma Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT00175825 Nov 2005 → Jun 2006 epilepsy UCB Pharma Completed Met primary
Phase 2 NCT00175929 May 2005 → Mar 2006 focal epilepsy UCB Pharma Completed Missed primary
Phase 2 NCT00160667 Oct 2004 → Jan 2006 postherpetic neuralgia UCB Pharma Completed Missed primary
Phase 2 NCT00401648 Sep 2002 → Jun 2003 epilepsy UCB Pharma Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 326 trials · 4 met primary · 4 missed
Phase 3 NCT06315322 Jul 2024 → Nov 2029 expected childhood absence epilepsy, juvenile absence epilepsy UCB Biopharma SRL Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT05639946 Jan 2023 → Oct 2024 neuropathy, painful, spinal cord injury University of Minnesota Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT05109234 Mar 2022 → Mar 2025 childhood absence epilepsy, juvenile absence epilepsy UCB Biopharma SRL Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT04666610 Jul 2021 → Aug 2026 overdue childhood absence epilepsy, juvenile absence epilepsy UCB Biopharma SRL Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT04715646 Mar 2021 → Jul 2030 expected epilepsy UCB Biopharma SRL Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT07563634 Feb 2021 → May 2024 focal epilepsy Jiangxi Qingfeng Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT03325439 May 2019 → Sep 2020 neonatal epilepsy syndrome UCB Biopharma SRL Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT03685630 Jan 2019 → Mar 2021 focal epilepsy UCB Biopharma S.P.R.L. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT03083665 Aug 2017 → Jun 2022 focal epilepsy UCB Biopharma SRL Completed Met primary
Phase 3 NCT03250377 Aug 2017 → Dec 2024 focal epilepsy UCB Biopharma SRL Completed No outcome recorded
Phase not applicable2 trials
— NCT07163572 Jan → Aug 2025 — Muhammad Aamir Latif Completed No outcome recorded
— NCT07163585 Aug 2024 → Jul 2025 epilepsy RESnTEC, Institute of Research Completed No outcome recorded
Phase not stated1 trial
— NCT03532516 — epilepsy UCB Biopharma SRL No longer available No outcome recorded
Comparator or background therapy1 trial
Phase 2/3 NCT03580707 Comparator Jun → Dec 2018 photosensitive epilepsy Rosenfeld, William E., M.D. Completed No outcome recorded

News releases announcing trial results or a regulatory action · 3

DateIssuerRelease
2024-06-26 UCB Pharma Regulatory UCB’s epilepsy drug BRIVIACT[®](brivaracetam)[1] approved in Japan for treatment of focal onset seizures ucb.com ↗
“Today’s approval from the Japanese Ministry of Health, Labor and Welfare is exciting news for those in Japan who are living with epilepsy and need alternative treatment options,” said Kanako Kikuchi, Head of UCB Japan.
2022-10-13 UCB Pharma Results UCB announces positive preliminary results for major brivaracetam (Briviact[®]) study in Asia ucb.com ↗
UCB, a global biopharmaceutical company, announced today positive top-line results from the latest Phase 3 study of brivaracetam (Briviact).
2022-02-02 UCB Pharma Regulatory UCB Receives Positive CHMP Opinion Recommending Approval of BRIVIACT[®] (brivaracetam) and VIMPAT[®] (lacosamide) in the EU for Partial-Onset Seizures in Pediatric Patients From Two to Four Years ucb.com ↗

Evidence & citations 11 cited values

Every value below carries the sentence it was read from. 65 sources stand behind the page.

FieldValueCited text
Known as Brivaracetam “Both levetiracetam (LEV) and brivaracetam (BRV) eliminate the electroencephalogram photoparoxysmal response (PPR) in the human phase IIa photosensitivity model of epilepsy.” PMID 32949370 ↗ Oct 2020
47

“Brivaracetam (BRV), a selective, high-affinity ligand for synaptic vesicle protein 2A, is a new antiepileptic drug (AED)” PMID 29486396 ↗ Feb 2018

“Brivaracetam as add-on Treatment of Unverricht-Lundborg Disease (ULD) in Adolescents and Adults” NCT00368251 ↗

NCT03685630 ↗

NCT07163585 ↗

NCT00490035 ↗

NCT05029960 ↗

NCT01364597 ↗

NCT00175916 ↗

NCT03695094 ↗

NCT01728077 ↗

Show 37 more sources

Known as Brivaracetam sustained-release tablets “Brivaracetam sustained-release tablets Specification: 100mg/ tablet Batch number: 22081201 Content: 102.5% Date of production: August 12, 2022” NCT05622370 ↗
Known as Brivaracetam tablets “Brivaracetam tablets (trade name: Briviact) Specification: 50mg/ piece Batch number: 34244 Content: 100.0% Date of purchase: September 2022” NCT05622370 ↗
Known as BRIVIACT (IN ITALY: NUBRIVEO) ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL607400 ↗
Known as Briviact() “Brivaracetam (Briviact(®)), a 4-n-propyl analogue of levetiracetam developed by UCB Pharma, has been approved in the EU as an adjunctive therapy for the treatment of...” PMID 26899665 ↗ Mar 2016
Known as BRV “The purpose of the study is to evaluate the safety and tolerability of intravenous (iv) brivaracetam (BRV) as adjunctive therapy administered as a replacement for oral BRV at...” NCT03685630 ↗
21

“This long-term open-label extension (OLE) trial was conducted to evaluate the long-term safety and tolerability of brivaracetam (BRV) at individualized doses in patients with...” PMID 33461041 ↗ Dec 2020

“This Compassionate Use Program (CUP) is setup to provide study patients with continuous access to Brivaracetam (BRV) for the time period between closures of the long-term...” NCT03532516 ↗

“This post hoc analysis was conducted to evaluate the efficacy, tolerability, and health-related quality of life during long-term adjunctive brivaracetam (BRV) treatment in...” PMID 34218211 ↗ Jun 2021

“OBJECTIVE: The objective of this analysis was to provide a comprehensive analysis of safety data for adjunctive brivaracetam (BRV), an antiepileptic drug (AED) of the racetam...” PMID 31937513 ↗ Jan 2020

“Brivaracetam (BRV), a selective, high-affinity ligand for synaptic vesicle protein 2A, is a new antiepileptic drug (AED) approved for monotherapy (in the USA) and adjunctive...” PMID 29486396 ↗ Feb 2018

“Brivaracetam (BRV), a selective, high-affinity ligand for synaptic vesicle protein 2A, is a new antiepileptic drug (AED) for adjunctive treatment of focal (partial-onset)...” PMID 28279891 ↗ Feb 2017

“All subjects will receive a single oral dose of Brivaracetam (BRV) 200 mg, given as 50 mg tablets times 4 followed by an adequate volume of water (approximately 200 ml) in 2 of...” NCT01710670 ↗

“This trial evaluated long-term safety, tolerability, and maintenance of efficacy of adjunctive brivaracetam (BRV) in Japanese and Chinese patients aged ≥ 16 years with...” PMID 40549270 ↗ Jun 2025

“PURPOSE: To evaluate the safety and tolerability of adjunctive brivaracetam (BRV), a high-affinity synaptic vesicle protein 2A (SV2A) ligand, in adults with uncontrolled epilepsy.” PMID 24116853 ↗ Oct 2013

“Both levetiracetam (LEV) and brivaracetam (BRV) eliminate the electroencephalogram photoparoxysmal response (PPR) in the human phase IIa photosensitivity model of epilepsy.” PMID 32949370 ↗ Oct 2020

Show 11 more sources

Known as ucb 34714 “Brivaracetam (ucb 34714)” NCT00175916 ↗
1

“Brivaracetam (ucb34714)” NCT00426673 ↗

Action Inhibit “inhibitory activity at neuronal voltage-dependent sodium channels” PMID 22813235 ↗ Jul 2012
Modality Small molecule “Brivaracetam (Briviact(®)), a 4-n-propyl analogue of levetiracetam developed by UCB Pharma, has been approved in the EU as an adjunctive therapy for the treatment of...” PMID 26899665 ↗ Mar 2016
Route Oral “* Route of Administration: Oral” NCT00150800 ↗
Target SV2A “brivaracetam binds to synaptic vesicle glycoprotein 2a (SV2A) in the brain” PMID 26899665 ↗ Mar 2016