Drugs / Trabectedin
last change Aug 2026 re-read 9 days ago

Trabectedin

Small molecule targets FLI1 via inhibition

Developed for
leiomyosarcoma · soft tissue sarcoma · sarcoma · liposarcoma · ovarian cancer · myxoid liposarcoma · cancer · bone neoplasm
+43 more · breast cancer · Ewing sarcoma · fallopian tube cancer · metastatic neoplasm · ovarian neoplasm · prostate cancer · round cell liposarcoma · solitary fibrous tumor · synovial sarcoma · cancer of unknown primary site · central nervous system neoplasm · childhood malignant neoplasm · chronic lymphocytic leukemia/small lymphocytic lymphoma · dedifferentiated liposarcoma · desmoplastic small round cell tumor · DNA repair disease · endometrial cancer · endometrium neoplasm · epithelioid sarcoma · gastrointestinal stromal tumor · hemangioendothelioma · hereditary neoplastic syndrome · leiomyosarcoma of the corpus uteri · malignant epithelial tumor of ovary · malignant mesothelioma · malignant pleural mesothelioma · meningioma · mesenchymal chondrosarcoma · metastatic malignant neoplasm · ovarian carcinoma · ovarian carcinosarcoma · ovary leiomyosarcoma · pancreatic adenocarcinoma · peripheral primitive neuroectodermal tumor · peritoneum cancer · pleomorphic liposarcoma · primary peritoneal carcinoma · rhabdomyosarcoma · small intestine cancer · undifferentiated pleomorphic sarcoma · undifferentiated round cell sarcoma · uterine carcinosarcoma · uterine corpus sarcoma
Investigated by
PharmaMar · Johnson & Johnson Pharmaceutical Research & Development, L.L.C. · National Cancer Institute (NCI) · Italian Sarcoma Group · Janssen Research & Development, LLC · Mario Negri Institute for Pharmacological Research
+55 more · Spanish Group for Research in Sarcomas · AstraZeneca · European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTC · Institut Bergonié · Fondazione Policlinico Universitario Agostino Gemelli IRCCS · Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center · Gustave Roussy, Cancer Campus, Grand Paris · Janssen Scientific Affairs, LLC · Children's Oncology Group · French Sarcoma Group · Gynecologic Oncology Group · Istituto Di Ricerche Farmacologiche Mario Negri · M.D. Anderson Cancer Center · Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center · Sarcoma Alliance for Research through Collaboration · Sarcoma Oncology Research Center, LLC · Anturec Pharmaceuticals GmbH · Averion International Corporation · Bristol-Myers Squibb · Catholic University of the Sacred Heart · Centre Leon Berard · Centre Oscar Lambret · Dana-Farber Cancer Institute · EMD Serono · Fondazione IRCCS Istituto Nazionale dei Tumori, Milano · German Cancer Research Center · Heidelberg University · Hoffmann-La Roche · Humanitas Hospital, Italy · IRCCS San Raffaele · Institut Claudius Regaud · Institut für Klinische Krebsforschung IKF GmbH at Krankenhaus Nordwest · Janssen Pharmaceuticals · Ligue contre le cancer, France · Ludwig-Maximilians - University of Munich · Massachusetts General Hospital · National Center for Tumor Diseases, Heidelberg · National Institutes of Health (NIH) · National Research Agency, France · Northwell Health · Oncopole · Oregon Health and Science University · PharmaMar S.A.U. · Presage Biosciences · Study Group of Bone Tumors · UNICANCER · University Hospital, Marseille · University Medicine Greifswald · University of Colorado, Denver · University of Miami · University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center · University of Münster · University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center · University of Washington · Xian-Janssen Pharmaceutical Ltd.

Regulatory milestones approvals, filings & regulatory actions · 5 recorded

MilestoneJurisdictionBrandIndicationDateSentence it was read from
Filed soft tissue sarcoma 1 milestone
Filed US (FDA) YONDELIS soft tissue sarcoma 2014-11-24

“Janssen Research & Development, LLC (Janssen) has submitted a New Drug Application (NDA) for YONDELIS® (trabectedin) to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)” jnj.com ↗

Approved Indication not stated 4 milestones
Label expansion US (FDA) YONDELIS — 2018-06-29 fda.gov ↗
Approved US (FDA) YONDELIS — 2015-10-23 fda.gov ↗
Approved EU (EMA) Yondelis — 2007-09-17 europa.eu ↗
Refused (EMA) EU (EMA) Yondelis — 2004-09-07 europa.eu ↗

Trials 78 · started per year

today
EU approved 2007
US approved 2015
1
1
2
2
4
1
1
2
1
3
4
1
4
9
1
3
5
3
2
4
6
4
3
6
1
2
19961997199819992000200120022003200420052006200720082009201020112012201320142015201620172018201920202021202220232024202520262027
PhaseRegistry idDatesIndicationSponsorStatusOutcome
Phase 114 trials · 1 met primary
Phase 1 NCT03884972 Jun 2019 → Mar 2020 chronic lymphocytic leukemia/small lymphocytic lymphoma M.D. Anderson Cancer Center Withdrawn No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 1 NCT03437070 Jun 2019 → Jun 2021 leiomyosarcoma University of Miami Withdrawn No outcome recorded Stop: Business
Phase 1 NCT03496519 Oct 2018 → Oct 2021 cancer University of Colorado, Denver Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT03985722 Sep 2018 → Feb 2021 soft tissue sarcoma Spanish Group for Research in Sarcomas Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT03085225 May 2017 → Nov 2020 ovarian carcinoma, soft tissue sarcoma Institut Bergonié Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT03056599 Dec 2016 → Jul 2021 soft tissue sarcoma Presage Biosciences Completed Met primary
Phase 1 NCT02398058 Jul 2014 → Dec 2019 bone neoplasm, soft tissue sarcoma Italian Sarcoma Group Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT01426633 Nov 2011 → Dec 2014 leiomyosarcoma, liposarcoma Heidelberg University Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT01273480 Dec 2010 → Oct 2012 metastatic neoplasm Janssen Research & Development, LLC Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT01273493 Dec 2010 → Apr 2014 liver disorder, metastatic neoplasm Janssen Research & Development, LLC Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1/25 trials · 1 met primary
Phase 1/2 NCT04067115 Jan 2021 → Apr 2025 Ewing sarcoma Sarcoma Alliance for Research through Collaboration Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT03074318 Sep 2017 → Nov 2020 leiomyosarcoma, liposarcoma Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT02805725 Dec 2015 → Apr 2020 soft tissue sarcoma Institut Bergonié Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT02275286 Nov 2014 → Jun 2028 expected leiomyosarcoma, myxoid liposarcoma, pleomorphic liposarcoma Spanish Group for Research in Sarcomas Recruiting Met primary
Phase 1/2 NCT01267084 Feb 2011 → Nov 2012 metastatic malignant neoplasm Janssen Research & Development, LLC Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 243 trials · 3 met primary · 2 missed
Phase 2 NCT07076186 Oct 2025 → Dec 2027 expected leiomyosarcoma M.D. Anderson Cancer Center Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT06524583 Jan 2025 → Dec 2029 expected leiomyosarcoma UNICANCER Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT04794127 Feb 2022 → Sep 2024 dedifferentiated liposarcoma, myxoid liposarcoma, round cell liposarcoma Mario Negri Institute for Pharmacological Research Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT04383119 Oct 2021 → Dec 2026 expected ovary leiomyosarcoma Italian Sarcoma Group Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT04305548 Sep 2021 → Dec 2026 expected mesenchymal chondrosarcoma Italian Sarcoma Group Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT04535271 Sep 2021 → Sep 2028 expected leiomyosarcoma Sarcoma Oncology Research Center, LLC Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT05131386 May 2021 → Jul 2024 bone neoplasm, undifferentiated round cell sarcoma Spanish Group for Research in Sarcomas Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT04887961 Oct 2020 → Apr 2022 — Fondazione Policlinico Universitario Agostino Gemelli IRCCS Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT04076579 Mar 2020 → Jan 2023 sarcoma University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT03886311 May 2019 → Dec 2030 expected sarcoma Sarcoma Oncology Research Center, LLC Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2/31 trial
Phase 2/3 NCT01189253 May 2011 → Jun 2013 sarcoma European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer - EORTC Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 312 trials · 2 met primary · 6 missed
Phase 3 NCT05597917 Oct 2021 → Aug 2026 overdue soft tissue sarcoma University of Münster Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT03773510 Feb 2019 → Oct 2025 leiomyosarcoma, liposarcoma, synovial sarcoma Italian Sarcoma Group Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT02997358 Jan 2017 → Jul 2021 leiomyosarcoma Gustave Roussy, Cancer Campus, Grand Paris Completed Met primary
Phase 3 NCT02903004 Apr 2016 → Dec 2018 ovarian neoplasm Fondazione Policlinico Universitario Agostino Gemelli IRCCS Completed Missed primary
Phase 3 NCT02672527 Jan 2015 → Jul 2018 soft tissue sarcoma Gustave Roussy, Cancer Campus, Grand Paris Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT01846611 Oct 2013 → Jan 2018 fallopian tube cancer, ovarian cancer, peritoneum cancer Janssen Research & Development, LLC Completed Missed primary
Phase 3 NCT01692678 Aug 2012 → Oct 2016 liposarcoma Xian-Janssen Pharmaceutical Ltd. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT01710176 Jun 2011 → Jun 2024 soft tissue sarcoma Italian Sarcoma Group Completed Missed primary
Phase 3 NCT01379989 Jun 2011 → Dec 2020 ovarian cancer Mario Negri Institute for Pharmacological Research Completed Missed primary
Phase 3 NCT01343277 Jun 2011 → Jan 2015 — Janssen Research & Development, LLC Completed Missed primary
Phase not applicable1 trial
— NCT04008238 Jan 2020 → Aug 2024 desmoplastic small round cell tumor, epithelioid sarcoma, hemangioendothelioma, solitary fibrous tumor +2 Institut Bergonié Completed No outcome recorded
Phase not stated2 trials
— NCT01427582 — soft tissue sarcoma University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center No longer available No outcome recorded
— NCT00210665 — sarcoma Janssen Research & Development, LLC No longer available No outcome recorded
Comparator or background therapy8 trials
Phase 1 NCT07444619 Background Jun 2026 → Dec 2031 expected soft tissue sarcoma M.D. Anderson Cancer Center Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT06333314 Comparator Jul 2024 → Oct 2028 expected adrenal cortex carcinoma, carcinoma of the ampulla of vater, duodenal adenocarcinoma, gastric adenocarcinoma +3 UNICANCER Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT03838744 Comparator May 2020 → Nov 2024 soft tissue sarcoma Italian Sarcoma Group Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2/3 NCT05432791 Comparator Mar 2023 → Aug 2024 overdue leiomyosarcoma of the corpus uteri National Cancer Institute (NCI) Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT06263231 Comparator Jun 2024 → Dec 2027 expected soft tissue sarcoma Intensity Therapeutics, Inc. Active not recruiting No outcome recorded

News releases announcing trial results or a regulatory action · 10

DateIssuerRelease
2025-04-28 PharmaMar Results PharmaMar presents eleven scientific publications at the Annual Meeting of the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) pharmamar.com ↗
On this occasion, the Company is presenting eleven new studies with results on the activity of its compounds: lurbinectedin (Zepzelca®), ecubectedin, PM54, PM534, and trabectedin (Yondelis®).
2023-05-26 PharmaMar Results PharmaMar announces abstracts to be presented at ASCO 2023 pharmamar.com ↗
The study confirms the activity of trabectedin plus nivolumab, particularly in patients with lipo- or leiomyosarcomas, suggesting synergistic activity.
2022-09-08 PharmaMar Results PharmaMar announces the data to be presented at ESMO 2022 pharmamar.com ↗
Trabectedin induces apoptosis regardless of acquired resistance to PARP inhibitors in BRCA2 mutant high grade ovarian cancer cell lines
2022-08-17 NATCO Pharma Ltd. Regulatory NATCO announces tentative approval to its ANDA for Trabectedin (generic for Yondelis®) natcopharma.co.in ↗
NATCO Pharma Limited (NSE: NATCOPHARM; BSE: 524816) announces today that the U.S. Food and Drug Administration has granted tentative approval to its Abbreviated New Drug Application (ANDA) for Trabectedin for Injection (generic for Yondelis® ) for the 1mg/vial presentation.
2022-05-20 Immix Biopharma, Inc. Results ImmixBio IMX-110 Demonstrated Improved Survival Over U.S. Food and Drug Administration Approved Drug Trabectedin (sold as YONDELIS ® by Janssen, a Johnson & Johnson Company) in Connective Tissue Cancer Soft Tissue Sarcoma Mice Study immixbio.com ↗
One cycle of IMX-110 produced 75% survival vs. 0% survival for Trabectedin
2021-09-20 PharmaMar Results New results with Yondelis® (trabectedin) in sarcoma will be presented at ESMO 2021 pharmamar.com ↗
In the combination arm of trabectedin with doxorubicin, median PFS reached 12.2 months, compared to 6.2 months with single-agent doxorubicin (HR = 0.41; 95% CI 0.29-0.58; P<0.0001).
2021-04-23 PharmaMar Regulatory The Australian TGA approves Yondelis® (trabectedin) for Soft Tissue Sarcoma (Liposarcoma or Leiomyosarcoma) pharmamar.com ↗
2015-10-23 Janssen Research & Development, LLC Regulatory U.S. FDA Approves YONDELIS® (trabectedin) for the Treatment of Patients with Unresectable or Metastatic Liposarcoma or Leiomyosarcoma, Two Common Subtypes of Soft Tissue Sarcoma jnj.com ↗
Janssen Biotech, Inc. today announced the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has approved YONDELIS® (trabectedin) for the treatment of patients with unresectable (unable to be removed with surgery) or metastatic liposarcoma (LPS) or leiomyosarcoma (LMS) who received a prior anthracycline-containing regimen.
2015-02-03 Janssen Research & Development, LLC Regulatory U.S. FDA Grants Priority Review for YONDELIS® (trabectedin) for the Treatment of Patients with Advanced Soft Tissue Sarcoma jnj.com ↗
U.S. FDA Grants Priority Review for YONDELIS® (trabectedin) for the Treatment of Patients with Advanced Soft Tissue Sarcoma
2014-11-24 Janssen Research & Development, LLC Regulatory Janssen Submits New Drug Application for YONDELIS® (trabectedin) to U.S. FDA for the Treatment of Patients with Advanced Soft Tissue Sarcoma jnj.com ↗
Janssen Submits New Drug Application for YONDELIS® (trabectedin) to U.S. FDA for the Treatment of Patients with Advanced Soft Tissue Sarcoma

All press releases naming this drug 13 releases

DateIssuerRelease

Evidence & citations 10 cited values

Every value below carries the sentence it was read from. 93 sources stand behind the page.

FieldValueCited text
Known as Trabectedin “Trabectedin 580 mcg/m2 once weekly for 3 consecutive weeks (Treatment A) or 1,300 mcg/m2 once every 21 days (Treatment B) will be given to patients” NCT00050427 ↗
83

“Trabectedin (also referred to as Yondelis) is a drug being developed to treat patients with cancer.” NCT00060944 ↗

“Doxorubicin and ifosfamide or doxorubicin monotherapy or doxorubicin and trabectedin.” NCT06333314 ↗

“Trabectedin Presentation: vials with trabectedin 1 mg and sucrose 400 mg.” NCT01104298 ↗

“Study drugs include trabectedin and rifampin.” NCT01273480 ↗

NCT02249702 ↗

NCT03056599 ↗

NCT04535271 ↗

NCT01692678 ↗

NCT01267084 ↗

NCT03127215 ↗

Show 73 more sources

Known as Ecteinascidin “A Randomized, Multicenter, Open-label Study of Yondelis (ET-743 Ecteinascidin) Administered by 2 Different Schedules” NCT00060944 ↗
Known as ecteinascidin 743 “While investigating the novel anticancer drug ecteinascidin 743 (Et743), a natural marine product isolated from the Caribbean sea squirt, we discovered a new cell-killing...” PMID 11479630 ↗ Aug 2001
2

“Trabectedin (ecteinascidin-743, ET-743, YONDELIS [R])” NCT01453283 ↗

NCT00006463 ↗

Known as ET-743 “The cytotoxic activity of ecteinascidin 743 (ET-743), a natural product derived from the marine tunicate Ecteinascidia turbinata that exhibits potent anti-tumor activity in...” PMID 11304695 ↗ May 2001
6

“While investigating the novel anticancer drug ecteinascidin 743 (Et743), a natural marine product isolated from the Caribbean sea squirt, we discovered a new cell-killing...” PMID 11479630 ↗ Aug 2001

“A Randomized, Multicenter, Open-label Study of Yondelis (ET-743 Ecteinascidin) Administered by 2 Different Schedules” NCT00060944 ↗

“A phase II study of ET-743/trabectedin ('Yondelis') for patients with advanced gastrointestinal stromal tumours.” PMID 15177491 ↗ Jun 2004

“ET-743, Yondelis (vials of 1 mg). Route of administration: intravenous infusion” NCT05131386 ↗

“Trabectedin (ecteinascidin-743, ET-743, YONDELIS [R])” NCT01453283 ↗

NCT00147212 ↗

Known as Yondelis “PURPOSE: To determine the dose-limiting toxicity (DLT) and the maximum tolerated dose of ecteinascidin-743 (ET-743, Yondelis) in children with refractory solid tumors, to...” PMID 15701855 ↗ Jan 2005
9

“A Study Comparing the Combination of Trabectedin (YONDELIS) and DOXIL/CAELYX With DOXIL/CAELYX for the Treatment of Advanced-Relapsed Epithelial Ovarian, Primary Peritoneal, or...” NCT01846611 ↗

“A Randomized, Multicenter, Phase III Trial of Trabectedin (Yondelis) Versus Doxorubicin-based Chemotherapy as First-Line Therapy in Patients With Translocation-Related Sarcomas (TRS)” NCT00796120 ↗

“A Multicenter Phase II Clinical Trial of Neoadjuvant Trabectedin (Yondelis) in Patients With Localized Myxoid / Round Cell Liposarcoma” NCT00579501 ↗

“A Randomized Controlled Study of YONDELIS (Trabectedin) or Dacarbazine for the Treatment of Advanced Liposarcoma or Leiomyosarcoma” NCT01343277 ↗

“A phase II study of ET-743/trabectedin ('Yondelis') for patients with advanced gastrointestinal stromal tumours.” PMID 15177491 ↗ Jun 2004

“The purpose of the study is to determine the dose of the combination of trabectedin (Yondelis) and Doxorubicin” NCT00102609 ↗

“combination of trabectedin (Yondelis®)” NCT04887961 ↗

“Trabectedin 1 MG [Yondelis]” NCT04067115 ↗

NCT00060944 ↗

Known as YONDELIS [R] “Trabectedin (ecteinascidin-743, ET-743, YONDELIS [R])” NCT01453283 ↗
Action Inhibit “ET-743 downregulated TLS:CHOP expression” PMID 22293175 ↗ Feb 2012
Modality Small molecule “Trabectedin (ET-743) is a marine alkaloid isolated from the Caribbean tunicate Ecteinascidia turbinata, with a chemical structure characterized by three fused...” PMID 20647340 ↗ Jul 2010
Route Intravenous “administered as a single intravenous infusion” NCT00002904 ↗
Target FLI1 “Trabectedin above a threshold concentration reverses the activity of EWS::FLI1 and is potentiated by low-dose irinotecan in vivo.” PMID 41991689 ↗ Apr 2026