Drugs / Difelikefalin

Regulatory milestones approvals, filings & regulatory actions · 5 recorded

MilestoneJurisdictionBrandIndicationDateSentence it was read from
Filed pruritus, hereditary localized 2 milestones
Filed Japan (PMDA) — pruritus, hereditary localized 2022-09-28

“ジフェリケファリン酢酸塩(一般名)を有効成分とした注射剤(開発番号:MR13A9)」について、丸石製薬が血液透析患者におけるそう痒症の改善を適応症とした日本国内における製造販売承認申請を行いました” kissei.co.jp ↗

Filed US (FDA) KORSUVA pruritus, hereditary localized 2021-03-08

“U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has accepted and granted Priority Review for the New Drug Application (NDA) for KORSUVATM (difelikefalin)” csl.com ↗

Approved Indication not stated 3 milestones
Approved EU (EMA) Kapruvia — 2022-04-25 europa.eu ↗
Approved US (FDA) KORSUVA — 2021-08-23 fda.gov ↗
Filed EU (EMA) — chronic kidney disease-associated pruritus in hemodialysis patients 2021-03-30

“today announced that the European Medicines Agency (EMA) accepted to review the Marketing Authorization Application (MAA) for difelikefalin injection” csl.com ↗

Trials 21

PhaseRegistry idDatesIndicationSponsorStatusOutcome
Phase 14 trials
Phase 1 NCT05885763 Jun → Oct 2023 end stage renal failure Vifor Fresenius Medical Care Renal Pharma Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT05533008 Dec 2019 → Jun 2020 — Cara Therapeutics, Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT04019574 Jun → Oct 2019 — Cara Therapeutics, Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT03947970 Jan → Apr 2019 — Cara Therapeutics, Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 27 trials · 3 met primary
Phase 2 NCT06593392 Jun 2026 → Aug 2029 expected chronic kidney disease Vifor Fresenius Medical Care Renal Pharma Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT03802617 Feb → Oct 2019 — Kissei Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. Completed Met primary
Phase 2 NCT03617536 Jul 2018 → Oct 2019 chronic kidney disease Cara Therapeutics, Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT02229929 Jul 2014 → Jul 2015 — Cara Therapeutics, Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT01789476 May → Aug 2013 — Cara Therapeutics, Inc. Completed Met primary
Phase 2 NCT01361568 Jul 2011 → Apr 2012 — Cara Therapeutics, Inc. Completed Met primary
Phase 2 NCT00877799 Mar → Dec 2009 — Cara Therapeutics, Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2/31 trial · 1 met primary
Phase 2/3 NCT02858726 Jun 2016 → Mar 2017 — Cara Therapeutics, Inc. Completed Met primary
Phase 37 trials · 2 met primary
Phase 3 NCT05885737 May 2023 → Sep 2024 — Vifor Fresenius Medical Care Renal Pharma Completed Met primary
Phase 3 NCT05356403 Aug 2022 → Feb 2024 chronic kidney disease Cara Therapeutics, Inc. Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT05387707 Aug 2022 → Feb 2024 atopic eczema Cara Therapeutics, Inc. Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT05342623 May 2022 → Feb 2024 chronic kidney disease Cara Therapeutics, Inc. Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT04711603 Jan 2021 → Jan 2022 — Kissei Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. Completed Met primary
Phase 3 NCT03998163 May 2019 → Feb 2020 — Cara Therapeutics, Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT03281538 Aug 2017 → Feb 2020 — Cara Therapeutics, Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase not applicable1 trial
— NCT07526324 Apr 2026 → Jan 2027 expected end stage renal failure Chittagong Medical College Not yet recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase not stated1 trial
— NCT05031546 — — Cara Therapeutics, Inc. Approved for marketing No outcome recorded
Comparator or background therapy9 trials
Phase 2 NCT04706975 Comparator Jan 2021 → May 2022 — Cara Therapeutics, Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT04018027 Comparator Jun 2019 → Apr 2021 atopic eczema Cara Therapeutics, Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT03995212 Comparator Jun 2019 → Jun 2022 cholestasis Cara Therapeutics, Inc. Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 2 NCT02944448 Comparator Sep 2016 → May 2017 osteoarthritis, hip, osteoarthritis, knee, rheumatic disorder Cara Therapeutics, Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT02524197 Comparator Aug 2015 → Jan 2016 osteoarthritis Cara Therapeutics, Inc. Completed No outcome recorded

News releases announcing trial results or a regulatory action · 11

DateIssuerRelease
2023-10-23 Maruishi Pharmaceutical Results 静注透析そう痒症改善剤「コルスバ®静注透析用シリンジ」の国内第Ⅲ相臨床試験結果がNEJM Evidenceに掲載 maruishi-pharm.co.jp ↗
2023-10-23 Kissei Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. Results 静注透析そう痒症改善剤「コルスバ®静注透析用シリンジ」の国内第Ⅲ相臨床試験結果がNEJM Evidenceに掲載 kissei.co.jp ↗
二重盲検期において、本剤またはプラセボのいずれかを6週間投与した結果、主要評価項目である「4週時の平均かゆみNRSスコアのベースラインからの変化量」は、本剤投与群 -2.06、プラセボ投与群 -1.09であり、プラセボ投与群に対して本剤投与群の優越性が示されました(p<0.001)。
2023-09-25 Maruishi Pharmaceutical Regulatory 静注透析そう痒症改善剤「コルスバ®静注透析用シリンジ17.5μg、同25.0μg、同35.0μg」の国内製造販売承認取得のお知らせ maruishi-pharm.co.jp ↗
2023-09-25 Kissei Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. Regulatory 静注透析そう痒症改善剤「コルスバ®静注透析用シリンジ17.5μg、同25.0μg、同35.0μg」の国内製造販売承認取得のお知らせ kissei.co.jp ↗
丸石製薬が血液透析患者におけるそう痒症の改善(既存治療で効果不十分な場合に限る)を適応症として、厚生労働省より製造販売承認を取得しましたので、お知らせします。
2022-09-28 Maruishi Pharmaceutical Regulatory 透析患者におけるそう痒症治療薬「ジフェリケファリン酢酸塩」の国内製造販売承認申請のお知らせ maruishi-pharm.co.jp ↗
2022-09-28 Kissei Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. Regulatory 透析患者におけるそう痒症治療薬「ジフェリケファリン酢酸塩」の国内製造販売承認申請のお知らせ kissei.co.jp ↗
2022-01-07 Kissei Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. Results 透析患者におけるそう痒症治療薬「ジフェリケファリン(MR13A9)」の 国内第Ⅲ相臨床試験の結果(二重盲検期)について ―主要評価項目を達成― kissei.co.jp ↗
今般、二重盲検期が終了し、ジフェリケファリン群はプラセボ群に対して主要評価項目である「かゆみに対するNRSスコア変化量」および副次評価項目である「白取の重症度基準スコア変化量」を統計学的に有意に改善しました。
2021-08-24 CSL Behring Regulatory Vifor Pharma and Cara Therapeutics announce U.S. FDA approval of KORSUVA™ injection for the treatment of moderate to severe pruritus in hemodialysis patients csl.com ↗
Vifor Pharma and Cara Therapeutics (Nasdaq: CARA) today announced that the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has approved KORSUVA™ (difelikefalin) for injection for the treatment of moderate-to-severe pruritus associated with chronic kidney disease in adults undergoing hemodialysis.
2021-03-30 CSL Behring Regulatory Vfmcrp and Cara Therapeutics Announce European Medicines Agency Has Accepted to Review the Marketing Authorization Application for Difelikefalin csl.com ↗
Vifor Fresenius Medical Care Renal Pharma (VFMCRP) and Cara Therapeutics, Inc. (Nasdaq: CARA) today announced that the European Medicines Agency (EMA) accepted to review the Marketing Authorization Application (MAA) for difelikefalin injection for the treatment of pruritus associated with chronic kidney disease in hemodialysis patients.
2021-03-08 CSL Behring Regulatory Vifor Pharma and Cara Therapeutics Announce U.s. Fda Acceptance and Priority Review of Nda for Korsuva™* Injection in Hemodialysis Patients With Moderate-to-severe Pruritus csl.com ↗
2020-04-21 CSL Behring Results Vifor Pharma Press Release Phase-iii Kalm-2 Trial of Korsuva csl.com ↗
today announced positive topline data from Cara’s KALM-2 pivotal phase-III trial of KORSUVATM (CR845/difelikefalin) Injection in haemodialysis patients with moderate-to-severe chronic kidney diseaseassociated pruritus (CKD-aP).

All press releases naming this drug 20 releases

DateIssuerRelease

Evidence & citations 16 cited values

Every value below carries the sentence it was read from. 32 sources stand behind the page.

FieldValueCited text
Known as difelikefalin “INTERVENTION: At least 1 intravenous placebo or difelikefalin dose of 0.5 mcg/kg for up to 64 weeks.” PMID 36039153 ↗ Jun 2022
11

NCT06593392 ↗

NCT07526324 ↗

NCT05885763 ↗

NCT04706975 ↗

NCT05978063 ↗

NCT05885737 ↗

NCT05356403 ↗

NCT04018027 ↗

NCT05387707 ↗

NCT05031546 ↗

Show 1 more source

Known as 4-PIPERIDINECARBOXYLIC ACID, N1-(D-PHENYLALANYL-D-PHENYLALANYL-D-LEUCYL-D-LYSYL)-4-AMINO- ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL3989915 ↗
Known as Cr-845 acetate ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL3989915 ↗
Known as CR845 ClinicalTrials.gov intervention name — accepted as the source's own label NCT04019574 ↗
16

NCT03947970 ↗

NCT00877799 ↗

NCT02858726 ↗

NCT02524197 ↗

NCT03998163 ↗

NCT03995212 ↗

NCT02542384 ↗

NCT03617536 ↗

NCT03422653 ↗

NCT02229929 ↗

Show 6 more sources

Known as Difelicefalina ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL3989915 ↗
Known as DIFELIKEFALIN ACETATE ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL3989915 ↗
Known as Difelikefaline ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL3989915 ↗
Known as FE-202845 ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL3989915 ↗
Known as Kapruvia ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL3989915 ↗
Known as Korsuva ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL3989915 ↗
Known as MR13A9 ClinicalTrials.gov intervention name — accepted as the source's own label NCT03802617 ↗
1

NCT04711603 ↗

Action Activate “Because CR845 activates kappa receptors instead of mu receptors, the side effects are different than with a morphine-type drug.” NCT00877799 ↗
1

“Kappa opioid receptor agonist” CHEMBL3989915 ↗

Modality Peptide “Its hydrophilic peptide structure limits its ability to cross the blood-brain barrier, thereby reducing central nervous system effects.” NCT07526324 ↗
Modality Protein / enzyme biologic — CHEMBL3989915 ↗
Route Intravenous “single intravenous doses of the kappa opioid agonist CR845” NCT00877799 ↗
Target OPRK1 “Kappa opioid receptor agonist” CHEMBL3989915 ↗