Drugs / Tazemetostat
last change 3 days ago re-read 2 minutes ago

Tazemetostat

Small molecule targets EZH2 via inhibition

Developed for
follicular lymphoma · diffuse large B-cell lymphoma · epithelioid sarcoma · B-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma · synovial sarcoma · kidney medullary carcinoma · atypical teratoid rhabdoid tumor · mantle cell lymphoma
+70 more · mesothelioma · rhabdoid tumor · rhabdoid tumor of the kidney · cancer · castration-resistant prostate carcinoma · ependymoma · Ewing sarcoma · extrarenal rhabdoid tumor · hepatoblastoma · Langerhans cell histiocytosis · lymphoma · malignant germ cell tumor · malignant glioma · marginal zone lymphoma · medulloblastoma · metastatic prostate carcinoma · nasal cavity and paranasal sinus carcinoma · neuroblastoma · non-Hodgkin lymphoma · peripheral primitive neuroectodermal tumor · peripheral T-cell lymphoma, not otherwise specified · poorly differentiated chordoma · rhabdomyosarcoma · Wilms tumor · acute myeloid leukemia · acute respiratory distress syndrome · aggressive B-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma · chondrosarcoma · chordoma · colorectal cancer · conventional osteosarcoma · cutaneous melanoma · cytokine release syndrome · desmoplastic small round cell tumor · diffuse large B-cell lymphoma germinal center B-cell type · endometrial endometrioid adenocarcinoma · epithelioid malignant peripheral nerve sheath tumor · female breast carcinoma · head and neck squamous cell carcinoma · hepatocellular carcinoma · high grade B-cell lymphoma · high grade B-cell lymphoma with MYC and/ or BCL2 and/or BCL6 rearrangement · histiocytic sarcoma · Hodgkins lymphoma · hypercalcemic type ovarian small cell carcinoma · juvenile xanthogranuloma · malignant mesothelioma · malignant myoepithelioma · mediastinal malignant lymphoma · metastatic malignant neoplasm · metastatic melanoma · nerve sheath neoplasm · osteosarcoma · ovarian clear cell adenocarcinoma · ovarian endometrioid adenocarcinoma · pancreatic adenocarcinoma · plasma cell myeloma · primary cutaneous T-cell lymphoma · primary organ-specific lymphoma · prostate cancer · schwannomatosis · small cell lung carcinoma · soft tissue sarcoma · spindle cell sarcoma · T-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma · triple-negative breast carcinoma · urinary bladder carcinoma · urothelial carcinoma · uterine corpus cancer · refractory hematologic cancer
Investigated by
Epizyme, Inc. · National Cancer Institute (NCI) · Ipsen · Weill Medical College of Cornell University · Bristol-Myers Squibb · City of Hope Medical Center
+36 more · Dana-Farber Cancer Institute · Eisai Inc. · Genentech, Inc. · Hutchmed · American Society of Clinical Oncology · Applebaum Foundation · AstraZeneca · BeiGene · Children's Oncology Group · Dr. Victor H.F. Lee · Edwin Posadas, MD · Eric Jacobsen, MD · Hoffmann-La Roche · Incyte Corporation · Institut Bergonié · Jacob Soumerai, MD · Loma Linda University · MEI Pharma, Inc. · NRG Oncology · Northwestern University · Pennsylvania Department of Health · Pfizer · Prisma Health-Upstate · Robert Award · Ruijin Hospital · SWOG Cancer Research Network · Sponsor GmbH · Susan Chi, MD · Swedish Cancer Institute · The Lymphoma Academic Research Organisation · Thomas Jefferson University · University of Alabama at Birmingham · University of Florida · University of Wisconsin, Madison · Vaishalee Kenkre · Washington University School of Medicine

Regulatory milestones approvals, filings & regulatory actions · 1 recorded

MilestoneJurisdictionBrandIndicationDateSentence it was read from
Approved US (FDA) TAZVERIK 2020-01-23 fda.gov

Trials 53 · a red edge is where a trial was stopped

PhaseRegistry idDatesIndicationSponsorStatusOutcome
Phase 01 trial
Phase 0 NCT05567679 Dec 2023 → Dec 2025 prostate cancer Edwin Posadas, MD Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 118 trials
Phase 1 NCT05983965 Sep 2024 → Mar 2026 T-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma University of Alabama at Birmingham Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT05934838 Oct 2023 → May 2026 overdue diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, follicular lymphoma, mantle cell lymphoma Weill Medical College of Cornell University Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT05627232 Aug 2023 → Jan 2028 expected acute myeloid leukemia Thomas Jefferson University Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT05618366 Jun 2023 → Feb 2026 diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, follicular lymphoma Weill Medical College of Cornell University Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT05774886 May → Sep 2023 female breast carcinoma, triple-negative breast carcinoma Dana-Farber Cancer Institute Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT05627245 Mar 2023 → Sep 2026 expected diffuse large B-cell lymphoma germinal center B-cell type, follicular lymphoma, primary cutaneous T-cell lymphoma National Cancer Institute (NCI) Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT05353439 Jul 2022 → Feb 2026 overdue small cell lung carcinoma National Cancer Institute (NCI) Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT04846478 Jun 2021 → Sep 2025 overdue castration-resistant prostate carcinoma, metastatic prostate carcinoma Dana-Farber Cancer Institute Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT04624113 Apr 2021 → Aug 2022 head and neck squamous cell carcinoma Washington University School of Medicine Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT04537715 Apr 2020 → Apr 2023 diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, epithelioid sarcoma, follicular lymphoma, kidney medullary carcinoma +3 Epizyme, Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1/212 trials
Phase 1/2 NCT07209163 Oct 2025 → Mar 2026 overdue peripheral T-cell lymphoma, not otherwise specified Ruijin Hospital Not yet recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT05407441 Aug 2023 → Feb 2027 expected atypical teratoid rhabdoid tumor, chordoma, epithelioid sarcoma, rhabdoid tumor of the kidney Susan Chi, MD Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT05152459 May 2023 → Dec 2024 follicular lymphoma City of Hope Medical Center Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT05551936 Jan 2023 → May 2026 overdue follicular lymphoma Vaishalee Kenkre Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT05604417 Jan 2023 → Dec 2024 follicular lymphoma Jacob Soumerai, MD Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT05372354 Oct 2022 → Oct 2026 expected plasma cell myeloma Bristol-Myers Squibb Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT04557956 Aug 2021 → Oct 2025 overdue cutaneous melanoma, metastatic melanoma National Cancer Institute (NCI) Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT03854474 Nov 2019 → Jun 2027 expected urinary bladder carcinoma, urothelial carcinoma National Cancer Institute (NCI) Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT04179864 Nov 2019 → Nov 2024 castration-resistant prostate carcinoma, metastatic prostate carcinoma Epizyme, Inc. Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT02889523 Oct 2016 → Jan 2023 overdue diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, follicular lymphoma The Lymphoma Academic Research Organisation Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 220 trials
Phase 2 NCT06068881 Sep 2025 → Apr 2029 follicular lymphoma Epizyme, Inc. Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT06575686 Mar 2025 → Jul 2028 B-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma City of Hope Medical Center Suspended No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT06692452 Dec 2024 → Oct 2027 angioimmunoblastic T-cell lymphoma, enteropathy-associated T-cell lymphoma, monomorphic epitheliotropic intestinal T-cell lymphoma, peripheral T-cell lymphoma, not otherwise specified Eric Jacobsen, MD Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT06242834 Sep 2024 → Apr 2027 expected aggressive B-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma Northwestern University Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT05994235 Nov 2023 → Oct 2033 expected follicular lymphoma Weill Medical College of Cornell University Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT05890352 Sep 2023 → Dec 2026 expected high grade B-cell lymphoma, high grade B-cell lymphoma with MYC and/ or BCL2 and/or BCL6 rearrangement SWOG Cancer Research Network Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT05151588 Sep 2023 → Aug 2026 overdue nasal cavity and paranasal sinus carcinoma Dr. Victor H.F. Lee Not yet recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT05713110 Feb 2023 → Dec 2024 lymphoma Hutchmed Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT05467943 Jul 2022 → Nov 2024 B-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma Hutchmed Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT05023655 Jan 2022 → Mar 2026 cancer Prisma Health-Upstate Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 31 trial
Phase 3 NCT04224493 Jun 2020 → Feb 2027 expected follicular lymphoma Epizyme, Inc. Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase not stated1 trial
NCT03874455 atypical teratoid rhabdoid tumor, chondrosarcoma, desmoplastic small round cell tumor, epithelioid malignant peripheral nerve sheath tumor +12 Epizyme, Inc. No longer available No outcome recorded
Also used as a comparator or background therapy in 3 trials
PhaseRegistry idDatesIndicationSponsorStatusOutcome
Phase 1/22 trials
Phase 1/2 NCT07407283 Background Apr 2026 → Nov 2027 expected prostate cancer Jiangsu HengRui Medicine Co., Ltd. Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT05205252 Comparator Dec 2021 → Jul 2023 refractory hematologic cancer Epizyme, Inc. Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase not stated1 trial
NCT04225429 Background epithelioid sarcoma Epizyme, Inc. No longer available No outcome recorded

Press releases naming this drug 2 releases

DateIssuerRelease
2026-03-09 Ipsen Update: Ipsen voluntarily withdraws Tazverik® (tazemetostat) in follicular lymphoma and epithelioid sarcoma ipsen.com
2026-03-09 Ipsen Ipsen voluntarily withdraws Tazverik® (tazemetostat) in follicular lymphoma and epithelioid sarcoma ipsen.com

Evidence & citations 16 cited values

Every value below carries the sentence it was read from. 58 sources stand behind the page.

FieldValueCited text
Known as Tazemetostat Tazemetostat (Tazverik) 200 mg oral tablets; 800 mg by mouth twice daily for 28 days” NCT05567679
55

“Atezolizumab, Tazemetostat, Panobinostat, Olaparib” NCT05774886

NCT05890352

NCT03213665

NCT03456726

NCT05618366

NCT06575686

NCT03217253

NCT05018975

NCT05713110

NCT06242834

NCT07407283

NCT03348631

NCT04705818

NCT04537715

NCT05983965

NCT04557956

NCT05151588

NCT05934838

NCT05407441

NCT04225429

NCT04762160

NCT03155620

NCT02601950

NCT07209163

NCT02601937

NCT04241835

NCT04224493

NCT04204941

NCT06692452

NCT05152459

NCT02889523

NCT03009344

NCT04917042

NCT05627245

NCT05467943

NCT04179864

NCT03028103

NCT02860286

NCT05372354

NCT04846478

NCT05023655

NCT03010982

NCT02875548

NCT03854474

NCT01897571

NCT02220842

NCT05551936

NCT05353439

NCT05205252

NCT03874455

NCT05604417

NCT05994235

NCT06068881

NCT04624113

NCT05627232

Known as CT-EPZ438EPZ-6438EPZ6438A-1623E-7438E7438 ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL3414621
Known as E-7438 ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL3414621
Known as E-7438 HYDROBROMIDE ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL3414621
Known as EPZ-6438 “Tazemetostat (EPZ-6438) is a selective small molecule inhibitor of the histone-lysine methyltransferase EZH2 gene.” NCT02860286
1

“Tazemetostat (EPZ-6438) is a selective small molecule inhibitor of the histone-lysine methyltransferase EZH2 gene” NCT03874455

Known as EPZ-6438 HYDROBROMIDE ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL3414621
Known as EPZ-6438 MONOHYDROBROMIDE ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL3414621
Known as EZ-438 ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL3414621
Known as TAZEMETOSTAT (EPZ-6438) ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL3414621
Known as Tazemetostat Hydrobromide “Drug: Tazemetostat HydrobromideNCT04557956
Known as Tazemetostat monohydrobromide ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL3414621
Known as Tazverik “Tazemetostat (Tazverik) 200 mg oral tablets; 800 mg by mouth twice daily for 28 days” NCT05567679
1

Tazverik (Tazemetostat)” NCT06068881

Action Inhibit “selective inhibitor of EZH2” PMID 29650362 Apr 2018
Modality Small molecule “selective small molecule inhibitor” NCT02601937
Route Oral “Tazemetostat was administered orally” PMID 29650362 Apr 2018
Target EZH2 “selective inhibitor of EZH2PMID 29650362 Apr 2018