Drugs / Copanlisib
last change Jul 2026 re-read 9 days ago

Copanlisib

Small molecule targets PIK3CA, PIK3CD via inhibition

Developed for
non-Hodgkin lymphoma · diffuse large B-cell lymphoma · follicular lymphoma · metastatic malignant neoplasm · neoplasm · female breast carcinoma · plasma cell myeloma · HER2 positive breast carcinoma
+61 more · invasive breast carcinoma · mantle cell lymphoma · adult lymphoma · B-cell chronic lymphocytic leukemia · cancer · chronic lymphocytic leukemia/small lymphocytic lymphoma · endometrial cancer · estrogen-receptor positive breast cancer · head and neck squamous cell carcinoma · Her2-receptor negative breast cancer · indolent B-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma · marginal zone lymphoma · non-small cell lung carcinoma · ovarian serous adenocarcinoma · primary peritoneal serous adenocarcinoma · progesterone-receptor positive breast cancer · prostate carcinoma · refractory malignant neoplasm · adult acute lymphoblastic leukemia · bone cancer · breast adenocarcinoma · Burkitt lymphoma · cholangiocarcinoma · colorectal cancer · diffuse large B-cell lymphoma germinal center B-cell type · endometrial endometrioid adenocarcinoma · endometrial mixed adenocarcinoma · endometrial serous adenocarcinoma · endometrial undifferentiated carcinoma · endometrium adenocarcinoma · Ewing sarcoma · fallopian tube carcinoma · fallopian tube endometrioid adenocarcinoma · fallopian tube serous adenocarcinoma · gallbladder carcinoma · hepatocellular carcinoma · high grade B-cell lymphoma · high grade malignant neoplasm · Hodgkins lymphoma · hormone receptor-positive breast cancer · lymphoma · lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma · mycosis fungoides · neoplasm of mature T-cells or NK-cells · neuroblastoma · nodal marginal zone B-cell lymphoma · osteosarcoma · ovarian cancer · ovarian endometrioid adenocarcinoma · primary central nervous system lymphoma · primary mediastinal large B-cell lymphoma · prostate cancer · rhabdomyosarcoma · Richter transformation · T-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma · T-cell/histiocyte rich large B cell lymphoma · thyroid gland follicular carcinoma · thyroid gland papillary carcinoma · triple-negative breast carcinoma · urothelial carcinoma · peripheral T-cell lymphoma, not otherwise specified
Investigated by
Bayer · National Cancer Institute (NCI) · Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center · M.D. Anderson Cancer Center · Bristol-Myers Squibb · Cancer Trials Ireland
+38 more · City of Hope Medical Center · Columbia University · NRG Oncology · University of Washington · AbbVie · Big Ten Cancer Research Consortium · Brown University · Celltrion Healthcare Co., LTD · Chonnam National University Hospital · Christian Buske · Clovis Oncology, Inc. · Consortium for Improving Survival of Lymphoma · Dana-Farber Cancer Institute · Dorothy Sipkins, MD, PhD · Fondazione Italiana Linfomi - ETS · H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute · Inhye Ahn · Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center · Ludwig-Maximilians - University of Munich · Mayo Clinic · OHSU Knight Cancer Institute · Optimapharm · Oregon Health and Science University · Rhode Island Hospital · Roche Pharma AG · Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins · Swiss Cancer Institute · The Miriam Hospital · Translational Research in Oncology · UNICANCER · University Hospital Muenster · University of Michigan · University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center · University of Ulm · VA Office of Research and Development · X-act Cologne Clinical Research GmbH · Zentrum für Klinische Studien Ulm · Zhonglin Hao

Regulatory milestones approvals, filings & regulatory actions · 3 recorded

MilestoneJurisdictionBrandIndicationDateSentence it was read from
Filed marginal zone lymphoma 1 milestone
Filed EU (EMA) — marginal zone lymphoma 2021-06-21

“In the EU, Bayer has filed for relapsed marginal zone lymphoma (MZL), a subtype of iNHL, and the filing has been accepted” bayer.com ↗

“The U.S. and EU submissions of the novel combination of copanlisib and rituximab” bayer.com ↗

Filed relapsed/refractory diffuse large B-cell lymphoma 1 milestone
Filed US (FDA) — relapsed/refractory diffuse large B-cell lymphoma 2021-06-21

“In the US, Bayer has filed for relapsed indolent B-cell non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma (B-iNHL)” bayer.com ↗

“The U.S. and EU submissions of the novel combination of copanlisib and rituximab” bayer.com ↗

Approved Indication not stated 1 milestone
Approved US (FDA) ALIQOPA — 2017-09-14 fda.gov ↗

Trials 73 · started per year

today
US approved 2017
1
4
1
3
6
5
2
13
11
12
6
6
1
1
201020112012201320142015201620172018201920202021202220232024202520262027
PhaseRegistry idDatesIndicationSponsorStatusOutcome
Phase 01 trial
Phase 0 NCT04803123 Jun 2021 → Apr 2023 adult acute lymphoblastic leukemia Dorothy Sipkins, MD, PhD Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 131 trials
Phase 1 NCT04933617 Mar 2022 → Nov 2023 Burkitt lymphoma, T-cell/histiocyte rich large B cell lymphoma, diffuse large B-cell lymphoma germinal center B-cell type, high grade B-cell lymphoma National Cancer Institute (NCI) Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT05010096 Mar 2022 bone cancer, high grade malignant neoplasm, metastatic malignant neoplasm M.D. Anderson Cancer Center Withdrawn No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 1 NCT04895579 May 2021 → Nov 2025 non-small cell lung carcinoma Zhonglin Hao Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT04462471 Jun 2020 → Sep 2023 thyroid gland follicular carcinoma, thyroid gland papillary carcinoma Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT03939897 Jun 2020 → Jun 2023 overdue female breast carcinoma, hormone receptor-positive breast cancer National Cancer Institute (NCI) Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT04431635 Jun 2020 → Nov 2023 indolent B-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Business
Phase 1 NCT03878524 Apr → Dec 2020 acute myeloid leukemia, atypical chronic myeloid leukemia, BCR-ABL1 negative, blast phase chronic myelogenous leukemia, BCR-ABL1 positive, castration-resistant prostate carcinoma +14 OHSU Knight Cancer Institute Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 1 NCT04156828 Mar 2020 → Apr 2022 diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, follicular lymphoma University of Washington Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 1 NCT04233697 Feb 2020 → Jul 2022 T-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma Columbia University Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT03842228 Nov 2019 → Jul 2024 overdue metastatic malignant neoplasm National Cancer Institute (NCI) Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1/216 trials · 1 missed
Phase 1/2 NCT05687721 Jun 2025 urothelial carcinoma VA Office of Research and Development Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT06218667 Jan 2024 → Jan 2027 prostate cancer Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT04939272 Jun 2022 → Feb 2027 expected mantle cell lymphoma City of Hope Medical Center Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT04572763 Sep 2021 → Jul 2025 overdue diffuse large B-cell lymphoma Dana-Farber Cancer Institute Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT04108858 May 2021 → Apr 2022 HER2 positive breast carcinoma National Cancer Institute (NCI) Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 1/2 NCT04345913 Mar 2021 → Mar 2024 overdue female breast carcinoma, triple-negative breast carcinoma National Cancer Institute (NCI) Active not recruiting Missed primary
Phase 1/2 NCT04317105 Jul 2020 → Oct 2025 overdue metastatic malignant neoplasm National Cancer Institute (NCI) Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT04253262 Apr 2020 → Jan 2027 expected prostate carcinoma Brown University Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT03877055 Mar 2019 → Oct 2022 mantle cell lymphoma Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT03803761 Feb 2019 → Feb 2022 female breast carcinoma, invasive breast carcinoma, metastatic malignant neoplasm in the brain National Cancer Institute (NCI) Withdrawn No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 221 trials · 1 met primary · 1 missed
Phase 2 NCT05082025 Sep 2022 → May 2024 endometrial cancer, ovarian cancer M.D. Anderson Cancer Center Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT05295589 Jun 2022 → Mar 2023 fallopian tube endometrioid adenocarcinoma, fallopian tube serous adenocarcinoma, ovarian endometrioid adenocarcinoma, ovarian serous adenocarcinoma +1 National Cancer Institute (NCI) Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT04750941 Feb 2022 → Jun 2023 endometrial cancer, follicular lymphoma Columbia University Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 2 NCT04685915 Feb 2021 → Mar 2023 B-cell chronic lymphocytic leukemia Inhye Ahn Withdrawn No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 2 NCT05387616 Oct 2020 → Sep 2023 follicular lymphoma Ludwig-Maximilians - University of Munich Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT04433182 Aug 2020 → Dec 2024 diffuse large B-cell lymphoma Fondazione Italiana Linfomi - ETS Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 2 NCT04263584 Jun 2020 → Apr 2025 diffuse large B-cell lymphoma University Hospital Muenster Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT04155840 Jan 2020 → Mar 2021 chronic lymphocytic leukemia/small lymphocytic lymphoma University of Washington Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 2 NCT03474744 Dec 2019 → Dec 2027 expected marginal zone lymphoma Christian Buske Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT03484819 Dec 2019 → Nov 2022 primary mediastinal large B-cell lymphoma National Cancer Institute (NCI) Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 33 trials · 1 met primary · 1 missed
Phase 3 NCT02626455 Jan 2016 → Sep 2023 non-Hodgkin lymphoma Bayer Terminated Missed primary
Phase 3 NCT02369016 Sep 2015 → Oct 2022 non-Hodgkin lymphoma Bayer Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT02367040 Aug 2015 → Aug 2020 non-Hodgkin lymphoma Bayer Completed Met primary
Phase not stated1 trial
— NCT06238583 — cancer Bayer No longer available No outcome recorded
Comparator or background therapy1 trial
Phase 1/2 NCT02535247 Comparator Jan 2016 → Feb 2020 peripheral T-cell lymphoma, not otherwise specified Fox Chase Cancer Center Terminated No outcome recorded

News releases announcing trial results or a regulatory action · 4

DateIssuerRelease
2021-06-21 Bayer Regulatory Bayer submits regulatory applications for oncology treatment combination of copanlisib and rituximab in the U.S. and EU bayer.com ↗
In the EU, Bayer has filed for the treatment of relapsed marginal zone lymphoma (MZL), a subtype of iNHL, and the filing has been accepted.
2021-04-10 Bayer Results Combination of copanlisib and rituximab significantly increases progression-free survival in patients with relapsed indolent non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma bayer.com ↗
Results from the randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled Phase III trial CHRONOS-3 show a significant progression-free survival (PFS) benefit for the combination of copanlisib, the only pan class I phosphatidylinositol-3-kinase (PI3K) inhibitor, and rituximab in patients with relapsed indolent non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma (iNHL).
2020-10-14 Bayer Results Combination of copanlisib and rituximab significantly prolonged progression-free survival of patients with relapsed indolent non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma bayer.com ↗
2017-09-14 Bayer Regulatory Bayer receives FDA approval for Copanlisib in adults with relapsed follicular lymphoma after two prior systemic therapies bayer.com ↗
Bayer announced today that the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has approved copanlisib under the brand name Aliqopa™ 60 mg vial for injection for the treatment of adult patients with relapsed follicular lymphoma who have received at least two prior systemic therapies.

Evidence & citations 14 cited values

Every value below carries the sentence it was read from. 76 sources stand behind the page.

FieldValueCited text
Known as Copanlisib “A Phase I study of intravenous PI3K inhibitor copanlisib in Japanese patients with advanced or refractory solid tumors.” PMID 27915408 ↗ Dec 2016
73

“PI3 (Phosphatidylinositol-3)-Kinase Inhibitor Copanlisib” NCT01460537 ↗

NCT03172884 ↗

NCT03711058 ↗

NCT03842228 ↗

NCT04895579 ↗

NCT03474744 ↗

NCT03484819 ↗

NCT03655301 ↗

NCT05387616 ↗

NCT05295589 ↗

Show 63 more sources

Known as ALIQOPA “Copanlisib (Aliqopa, BAY80-6946) solution for IV infusion (test drug/investigational medicinal product)” NCT02391116 ↗
7

“Copanlisib (ALIQOPA, BAY80-6946)” NCT03172884 ↗

“Copanlisib (Aliqopa, BAY80-6946)” NCT01660451 ↗

“Copanlisib (Aliqopa, BAY80-6946)” NCT03655301 ↗

“Copanlisib (Aliqopa, BAY80-6946)” NCT00962611 ↗

“Copanlisib (Aliqopa, BAY80-6946)” NCT06238583 ↗

“Copanlisib (Aliqopa, BAY80-6946)” NCT02367040 ↗

“Copanlisib (Aliqopa, BAY80-6946)” NCT03498430 ↗

Known as BAY 80-6946 “Copanlisib (BAY 80-6946), a highly selective and potent class-1 PI3K inhibitor with sub-nanomolar IC50s against PI3Kα and PI3Kδ, has demonstrated activity in...” NCT03052933 ↗
19

“Copanlisib (Aliqopa, BAY80-6946) solution for IV infusion (test drug/investigational medicinal product)” NCT02391116 ↗

“effect of Rifampin on the pharmacokinetics of Copanlisib (BAY 80-6946) and safety” NCT02253420 ↗

“First-in-human phase I study of copanlisib (BAY 80-6946), an intravenous” PMID 27672108 ↗ Oct 2016

“Copanlisib (Aliqopa, BAY80-6946)” NCT01660451 ↗

“Copanlisib (Aliqopa, BAY80-6946)” NCT00962611 ↗

“Copanlisib (ALIQOPA, BAY80-6946)” NCT03172884 ↗

“Copanlisib (Aliqopa, BAY80-6946)” NCT03655301 ↗

“Copanlisib (Aliqopa, BAY80-6946)” NCT06238583 ↗

“Copanlisib (Aliqopa, BAY80-6946)” NCT02367040 ↗

“Copanlisib (Aliqopa, BAY80-6946)” NCT03498430 ↗

Show 9 more sources

Known as BAY 80-6946 DIHYDROCHLORIDE ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL3218576 ↗
Known as BAY 84-1236 ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL3218576 ↗
Known as Copa “Copanlisib (Copa): 60 mg/day i.v. on days 1,8,15” NCT04433182 ↗
Known as Copanlisib dihydrochloride ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL3218576 ↗
Known as Copanlisib Hydrochloride “Drug: Copanlisib Hydrochloride” NCT03939897 ↗
1

“Drug: Copanlisib Hydrochloride” NCT04939272 ↗

Known as Copanlisib hydrochloride hydrate ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL3218576 ↗
Action Inhibit “a phosphatidylinositol 3-kinase inhibitor” PMID 27672108 ↗ Oct 2016
2

“PI3-kinase p110-delta subunit inhibitor” CHEMBL3218576 ↗

“PI3-kinase p110-alpha subunit inhibitor” CHEMBL3218576 ↗

Modality Small molecule “Copanlisib is a small molecule pan-class 1 PI3K inhibitor” NCT04263584 ↗
Route Intravenous “Patients received three weekly intravenous infusions of copanlisib” PMID 27672108 ↗ Oct 2016
Target PIK3CA “PI3-kinase p110-alpha subunit inhibitor” CHEMBL3218576 ↗
Target PIK3CD “PI3-kinase p110-delta subunit inhibitor” CHEMBL3218576 ↗