Drugs / Amifampridine

Regulatory milestones approvals, filings & regulatory actions · 7 recorded

MilestoneJurisdictionBrandIndicationDateSentence it was read from
Filed Lambert-Eaton myasthenic syndrome 1 milestone
Filed US (FDA) Firdapse Lambert-Eaton myasthenic syndrome 2015-07-22

“initiation of a rolling submission of a New Drug Application (NDA) to the United States (U.S.) Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for Firdapse®” globenewswire.com ↗

Approved Indication not stated 5 milestones
Label expansions (2) US (FDA) FIRDAPSE — 2022-09-29 – 2024-05-30 fda.gov ↗
Approved US (FDA) FIRDAPSE — 2018-11-28 fda.gov ↗
Rejected (CRL) US (FDA) Firdapse Lambert-Eaton myasthenic syndrome, congenital myasthenic syndromes 2016-02-17

“received a "Refusal to File" letter from the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) regarding its New Drug Application (NDA) for Firdapse®” globenewswire.com ↗

Filed US (FDA) Firdapse Lambert-Eaton myasthenic syndrome, congenital myasthenic syndromes 2015-12-17

“completion of its rolling submission of a New Drug Application (NDA) to the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for Firdapse®” globenewswire.com ↗

Approved EU (EMA) Firdapse (previously Zenas) — 2009-12-23 europa.eu ↗

Trials 27

PhaseRegistry idDatesIndicationSponsorStatusOutcome
Phase 01 trial
Phase 0 NCT03937687 May 2019 → Nov 2020 — University of South Carolina Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 11 trial
Phase 1 NCT05769478 Sep 2023 → Oct 2024 iatrogenic botulism Wake Forest University Health Sciences Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 24 trials · 1 met primary
Phase 2 NCT05123053 Oct 2021 → May 2025 — Augusta University Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT03819660 Mar 2019 → Sep 2021 spinal muscular atrophy, type III Catalyst Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT03781479 Jan 2019 → Jul 2020 spinal muscular atrophy Catalyst Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Completed Met primary
Phase 2 NCT02090725 Feb 2004 → Jul 2018 myopathy Jeffrey A. Cohen, MD Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 2/31 trial
Phase 2/3 NCT01441557 Sep 2011 → Feb 2012 botulism Centre Hospitalier Universitaire, Amiens Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 39 trials · 2 met primary · 2 missed
Phase 3 NCT05919407 Mar 2023 → Sep 2024 myasthenia gravis Leiden University Medical Center Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT03579966 Jun 2018 → Aug 2022 AChR+ myasthenia gravis, muscle-specific tyrosine kinase-associated myasthenia gravis Catalyst Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT03304054 Apr 2018 → Jan 2020 generalized myasthenia gravis Catalyst Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Completed Missed primary
Phase 3 NCT02970162 Nov 2016 → Oct 2017 Lambert-Eaton myasthenic syndrome Catalyst Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Completed Met primary
Phase 3 NCT02562066 Jan 2016 → Aug 2019 congenital myasthenic syndrome Catalyst Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Completed Missed primary
Phase 3 NCT01377922 Jun 2011 → Jul 2016 Lambert-Eaton myasthenic syndrome Catalyst Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Completed Met primary
Phase 3 NCT00701077 Sep 2008 → Mar 2010 Brugada syndrome Assistance Publique - Hôpitaux de Paris Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 3 NCT00190268 Feb 2005 → Jun 2008 multiple sclerosis Assistance Publique - Hôpitaux de Paris Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT00004939 Aug 1996 chronic inflammatory demyelinating polyradiculoneuropathy National Center for Research Resources (NCRR) Completed No outcome recorded
Phase not applicable1 trial
— NCT00004832 Aug 1994 → Jun 1998 Lambert-Eaton myasthenic syndrome FDA Office of Orphan Products Development Completed No outcome recorded
Phase not stated10 trials · 1 met primary
— NCT01378546 May 2005 → May 2015 Lambert-Eaton myasthenic syndrome Louis H. Weimer, MD No longer available No outcome recorded
— NCT01373333 Sep 1997 → Sep 2012 Lambert-Eaton myasthenic syndrome The Cleveland Clinic No longer available No outcome recorded
— NCT01765140 — congenital myasthenic syndrome Vern C. Juel, M.D. No longer available Met primary
— NCT01825395 — Lambert-Eaton myasthenic syndrome University of Colorado, Denver Approved for marketing No outcome recorded
— NCT02189720 — Lambert-Eaton myasthenic syndrome, congenital myasthenic syndrome, pathologic nystagmus Catalyst Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Approved for marketing No outcome recorded
— NCT00704925 — Lambert-Eaton myasthenic syndrome David P. Richman, MD No longer available No outcome recorded
— NCT02012933 — Lambert-Eaton myasthenic syndrome, congenital myasthenic syndrome Oregon Health and Science University No longer available No outcome recorded
— NCT03062631 — congenital myasthenic syndrome Ricardo Maselli No longer available No outcome recorded
— NCT00872950 — Lambert-Eaton myasthenic syndrome, congenital myasthenic syndrome Lahey Clinic Approved for marketing No outcome recorded
— NCT00994916 — Lambert-Eaton myasthenic syndrome David Lacomis, MD No longer available No outcome recorded
Comparator or background therapy2 trials
Phase 2 NCT01511978 Comparator Jan 2012 → Feb 2014 Lambert-Eaton myasthenic syndrome Jacobus Pharmaceutical Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT00342381 Comparator Jun 2006 → Dec 2007 multiple sclerosis University of Aarhus Completed No outcome recorded

News releases announcing trial results or a regulatory action · 39

DateIssuerRelease
2025-03-17 Lupin Limited Regulatory Lupin Receives Tentative Approval from U.S. FDA for Amifampridine Tablets lupin.com ↗
Lupin Limited (Lupin) today announced that it has received tentative approval from the United States Food and Drug Administration (U.S. FDA) for its Abbreviated New Drug Application for Amifampridine Tablets, 10 mg.
2024-09-24 Catalyst Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Regulatory Catalyst Pharmaceuticals Announces Sub-Licensee DyDo Pharma Received Approval to Commercialize FIRDAPSE® in Japan globenewswire.com ↗
We are pleased that our partner, DyDo, has secured regulatory approval for FIRDAPSE in Japan.
2024-05-30 Catalyst Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Regulatory Catalyst Pharmaceuticals Receives U.S. FDA Approval For Increased Maximum Daily Dose For FIRDAPSE® globenewswire.com ↗
FIRDAPSE is currently the only U.S. approved treatment for LEMS and this approval broadens the approved dosing options for prescribers treating LEMS.
2023-12-18 Catalyst Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Regulatory Catalyst Pharmaceuticals Announces FIRDAPSE® New Drug Application Submitted in Japan by Partner DyDo Pharma globenewswire.com ↗
2023-10-13 Catalyst Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Regulatory Catalyst Pharmaceuticals Announces FDA Acceptance of the Supplemental New Drug Application for FIRDAPSE® globenewswire.com ↗
The Agency assigned a Prescription Drug User Fee Act ("PDUFA") action date of June 4, 2024.
2023-01-23 Catalyst Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Regulatory Catalyst Pharmaceuticals Comments on FDA's Announcement of its Position on Orphan Drug Exclusivity In Light of the 11th Circuit Decision in Catalyst Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Becerra globenewswire.com ↗
Separately, Catalyst announced this morning that an abbreviated new drug application has been filed by Teva Pharmaceuticals, Inc., seeking authorization from the FDA to manufacture, use, or sell a generic version of FIRDAPSE® in the United States.
2023-01-23 Catalyst Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Regulatory Catalyst Pharmaceuticals Notified of Abbreviated New Drug Application Filing for FIRDAPSE® globenewswire.com ↗
2022-09-29 Catalyst Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Regulatory Catalyst Pharmaceuticals Announces FDA Approval of Supplemental New Drug Application for FIRDAPSE® Expanding Patient Population to Include Pediatric Patients globenewswire.com ↗
today announced that the U.S. Food and Drug Administration ("FDA") has approved the supplemental New Drug Application ("sNDA") to expand the indicated age range for FIRDAPSE ® (amifampridine) Tablets 10 mg to include pediatric patients, six years of age and older for the treatment of Lambert-Eaton myasthenic syndrome ("LEMS").
2022-03-11 Catalyst Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Regulatory Catalyst Pharmaceuticals and KYE Pharmaceuticals Announce a Second Favorable Canadian Federal Court Ruling Setting Aside Approval of Ruzurgi® globenewswire.com ↗
2022-02-03 Catalyst Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Regulatory Catalyst Pharmaceuticals Reports that the FDA Marketing Approval Previously Granted for Ruzurgi® is No Longer Valid globenewswire.com ↗
As a result of the District Court's order, the FDA marketing approval previously granted for Ruzurgi® is no longer valid.
2022-01-28 Catalyst Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Regulatory Catalyst Pharmaceuticals Announces Issuance of Mandate by the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 11th Circuit Directing the District Court Judge in Catalyst's Lawsuit Against the FDA to Grant Summary Judgement in Favor of Catalyst globenewswire.com ↗
the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 11 th Circuit has issued a mandate directing the District Court that heard Catalyst's claim against the FDA to enter summary judgment in favor of Catalyst
2021-06-28 Catalyst Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Regulatory Catalyst Pharmaceuticals Comments on Recent Decision by Health Canada to Re-issue an NOC for Ruzurgi® globenewswire.com ↗

All press releases naming this drug 83 releases

DateIssuerRelease

Evidence & citations 21 cited values

Every value below carries the sentence it was read from. 30 sources stand behind the page.

FieldValueCited text
Known as amifampridine ClinicalTrials.gov intervention name — accepted as the source's own label NCT02970162 ↗
10

NCT01377922 ↗

NCT02562066 ↗

NCT05769478 ↗

NCT05123053 ↗

NCT02189720 ↗

NCT03781479 ↗

NCT03304054 ↗

NCT03579966 ↗

NCT05919407 ↗

NCT03819660 ↗

Known as 3, 4-DAP “A new drug called 3,4-Diaminopyridine (3,4-DAP) is currently under investigation for treatment of the symptoms of Lambert-Eaton Myasthenic Syndrome (LEMS).” NCT00704925 ↗
6

“3,4diaminopyridine (3,4DAP)is a drug that has been demonstrated to be effective in treating the weakness associated with LEMS” NCT01378546 ↗

“The 3,4-diaminopyridine (3,4-DAP) is a pharmacological Ito blocker that can be used in humans.” NCT00701077 ↗

“oral 3,4-diaminopyridine (3,4-DAP) or placebo administered for 4 days” NCT00004939 ↗

NCT01373333 ↗

NCT00704925 ↗

NCT01511978 ↗

Known as 3,4 Diaminopyridine “A new drug called 3,4-Diaminopyridine (3,4-DAP) is currently under investigation for treatment of the symptoms of Lambert-Eaton Myasthenic Syndrome (LEMS).” NCT00704925 ↗
15

“Compassionate use of orphan drug 3,4-Diaminopyridine(DAP) in Treatment of Lambert Eaton Myasthenic Syndrome (LEMS).” NCT01373333 ↗

“oral 3,4-diaminopyridine (3,4-DAP) or placebo administered for 4 days” NCT00004939 ↗

NCT01441557 ↗

NCT00004832 ↗

NCT03062631 ↗

NCT00342381 ↗

NCT01378546 ↗

NCT01825395 ↗

NCT00190268 ↗

NCT00994916 ↗

Show 5 more sources

Known as 3,4-DAPP ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL354077 ↗
Known as 3,4-diammoniopyridinium ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL354077 ↗
Known as 4-DAP ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL354077 ↗
Known as Amifampridina ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL354077 ↗
Known as Amifampridine Phosphate “Amifampridine Phosphate 10 MG Oral Tablet” NCT03819660 ↗
1

“Drug: Amifampridine Phosphate” NCT03579966 ↗

Known as Amifampridine serb ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL354077 ↗
Known as DAP “Evaluate the safety and effectiveness of 3,4-diaminopyridine (DAP) in the treatment of patients with Lambert-Eaton myasthenic syndrome (LEMS).” NCT00004832 ↗
1

“Compassionate use of orphan drug 3,4-Diaminopyridine(DAP) in Treatment of Lambert Eaton Myasthenic Syndrome (LEMS).” NCT01373333 ↗

Known as DAPP ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL354077 ↗
Known as Dynamine ClinicalTrials.gov intervention name — accepted as the source's own label NCT03937687 ↗
Known as FIRDAPSE “Evaluate the effectiveness of an administration of 3,4-diaminopyridine (FIRDAPSE ®) in severe botulinic poisoning in measuring the effect on electrophysiological and...” NCT01441557 ↗
Known as Firdapse (previously zenas) ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL354077 ↗
Known as NSC-521760 ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL354077 ↗
Known as Pyridine-3,4-diamine ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL354077 ↗
Known as Ruzurgi ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL354077 ↗
Known as Zenas ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL354077 ↗
Action Inhibit “3,4-DAP is a pharmacological Ito blocker” NCT00701077 ↗
Modality Small molecule — CHEMBL354077 ↗
Route Oral “patients are randomized to receive 3,4-diaminopyridine (DAP) or placebo orally 3 times daily for 5 days” NCT00004832 ↗