Drugs / Telaprevir

Regulatory milestones approvals, filings & regulatory actions · 10 recorded

MilestoneJurisdictionBrandIndicationDateSentence it was read from
Filed chronic hepatitis C virus infection 3 milestones
Filed US (FDA) — chronic hepatitis C virus infection 2013-01-29

“Vertex recently submitted a supplemental New Drug Application (sNDA) for a twice-daily dosing regimen of telaprevir to the FDA.” vrtx.com ↗

Filed Other — chronic hepatitis C virus infection 2013-01-29

“In January, the company submitted a supplemental New Drug Submission (sNDS) in Canada for a twice-daily dosing regimen of telaprevir.” vrtx.com ↗

Filed Japan (PMDA) — chronic hepatitis C virus infection 2011-01-26

“application for the manufacturing and marketing approval of MP-424 (generic name: telaprevir) for treatment of chronic hepatitis C on January 26, 2011.” tanabe-pharma.com ↗

Filed hepatitis C virus infection 3 milestones
Filed Other — hepatitis C virus infection 2011-01-20

“Vertex completed a New Drug Submission (NDS) to the Therapeutic Product Directorate (TPD) of Health Canada seeking approval for telaprevir in Canada.” vrtx.com ↗

“completion of a New Drug Submission (NDS) to the Therapeutic Product Directorate (TPD) of Health Canada seeking approval for telaprevir in Canada” vrtx.com ↗

Filed EU (EMA) — hepatitis C virus infection 2010-12-17

“On December 17, 2010, Janssen-Cilag International NV announced the submission of a Marketing Authorization Application (MAA) to the European Medicines Agency (EMA) for telaprevir” vrtx.com ↗

Filed US (FDA) — hepatitis C virus infection 2010-11-22

“announced today that it has completed the submission of a New Drug Application (NDA) to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) seeking approval for telaprevir” vrtx.com ↗

“On November 22, 2010, Vertex completed the submission of its New Drug Application (NDA) for telaprevir to the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA).” vrtx.com ↗

“In November 2010, Vertex announced it has completed the submission of a New Drug Application to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration for telaprevir.” vrtx.com ↗

Withdrawn Indication not stated 4 milestones
Withdrawn EU (EMA) Incivo — 2016-09-22 europa.eu ↗
Label expansion US (FDA) INCIVEK — 2013-10-28 fda.gov ↗
Approved EU (EMA) Incivo — 2011-09-19 europa.eu ↗
Approved US (FDA) INCIVEK — 2011-05-23 fda.gov ↗

Trials 72 · started per year

today
US approved 2011
EU approved 2011
2
2
6
10
8
4
6
21
10
2
2006200720082009201020112012201320142015201620172018201920202021202220232024202520262027
PhaseRegistry idDatesIndicationSponsorStatusOutcome
Phase 124 trials
Phase 1 NCT01766167 Feb → Apr 2013 chronic hepatitis C virus infection Tanabe Pharma Corporation Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT01786382 Feb → Mar 2013 — Presidio Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT01818856 Dec 2012 → Apr 2013 HIV infectious disease, chronic hepatitis C virus infection Hospitales Universitarios Virgen del Rocío Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT01657552 Aug → Oct 2012 thrombocytopenia GlaxoSmithKline Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT01597895 Jul → Aug 2012 — ViiV Healthcare Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT01600976 Jun → Oct 2012 — Janssen Infectious Diseases BVBA Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT01635829 May → Aug 2012 — Janssen Infectious Diseases BVBA Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT01582035 Apr 2012 → Nov 2013 hepatitis C virus infection Janssen R&D Ireland Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT01511432 Jan → Jun 2012 chronic hepatitis C virus infection Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT01336829 Mar → Sep 2011 HIV infectious disease, hepatitis C virus infection Tibotec Pharmaceuticals, Ireland Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1/21 trial
Phase 1/2 NCT01701063 Jan 2013 → Apr 2015 hepatitis C virus infection Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 218 trials · 3 met primary
Phase 2 NCT01994486 Dec 2013 → Apr 2014 chronic hepatitis C virus infection University of Florida Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT01841502 May 2013 → Sep 2014 depressive disorder, hepatitis C virus infection Radboud University Medical Center Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT01532908 Nov 2012 → Aug 2015 chronic hepatitis C virus infection MassBiologics Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Business
Phase 2 NCT01581138 Jul 2012 → Jun 2013 chronic hepatitis C virus infection Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT01516918 Feb 2012 → Sep 2013 chronic hepatitis C virus infection Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT01467505 Feb 2012 → Apr 2014 hepatitis C virus infection Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT01332955 Apr 2011 → Sep 2013 HIV infectious disease, chronic hepatitis C virus infection ANRS, Emerging Infectious Diseases Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT00983853 Oct 2009 → Mar 2012 HIV infectious disease, hepatitis C virus infection Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT00892697 May 2009 → Dec 2012 hepatitis C virus infection Weill Medical College of Cornell University Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT00580801 Jan 2008 → Jan 2010 hepatitis C virus infection Tibotec BVBA Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 323 trials · 6 met primary
Phase 3 NCT02006745 Jan 2014 → Feb 2016 HIV infectious disease St Stephens Aids Trust Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT01858961 May 2013 → Jul 2016 chronic hepatitis C virus infection Boehringer Ingelheim Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT01821963 Apr 2013 → Feb 2014 infectious disease M.D. Anderson Cancer Center Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT01718158 Jan 2013 → Oct 2014 hepatitis C virus infection Bristol-Myers Squibb Completed Met primary
Phase 3 NCT01753570 Dec 2012 → Oct 2015 chronic hepatitis C virus infection Tanabe Pharma Corporation Completed Met primary
Phase 3 NCT01753557 Dec 2012 → Nov 2014 chronic hepatitis C virus infection Tanabe Pharma Corporation Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT01500616 Jun 2012 → Aug 2014 chronic hepatitis C virus infection Janssen-Cilag International NV Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT01466192 May 2012 → Aug 2013 chronic hepatitis C virus infection Tanabe Pharma Corporation Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT01513941 Apr 2012 → Mar 2014 chronic hepatitis C virus infection Janssen-Cilag International NV Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT01571583 Feb 2012 → Apr 2014 chronic hepatitis C virus infection Janssen-Cilag International NV Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 45 trials
Phase 4 NCT02087111 Apr 2014 → Nov 2016 hepatitis C virus infection Queen Mary University of London Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 4 NCT01766115 Apr 2013 → May 2014 hepatitis C virus infection Massachusetts General Hospital Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 4 NCT01743521 Jan 2013 → Nov 2015 chronic hepatitis C virus infection Kirby Institute Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 4 NCT01592006 Apr 2012 → Sep 2014 hepatitis C virus infection University of Chicago Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 4 NCT01467492 Jan 2012 → May 2014 chronic hepatitis C virus infection Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase not stated1 trial
— NCT01508286 — hepatitis C virus infection Janssen-Cilag International NV No longer available No outcome recorded
Comparator or background therapy14 trials
Phase 1 NCT01704521 Comparator Dec 2012 → Oct 2014 chronic hepatitis C virus infection, hemophilia Kenneth Sherman Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT01646489 Comparator Jun → Sep 2012 chronic hepatitis C virus infection Santaris Pharma A/S Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT01872936 Background Jun 2013 → Jan 2015 chronic hepatitis C virus infection Santaris Pharma A/S Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT01648140 Comparator Aug 2012 → Jul 2014 chronic hepatitis C virus infection GlaxoSmithKline Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT01355289 Background Nov 2011 → Feb 2014 thrombocytopenia Eisai Inc. Completed Met primary

News releases announcing trial results or a regulatory action · 68

DateIssuerRelease
2014-10-10 Janssen Research & Development, LLC Results Janssen Demonstrates Continued Commitment to Combating Hepatitis C in European Patients with Data Presented at Viral Hepatitis Congress jnj.com ↗
Overall, simeprevir met its primary endpoint of non-inferiority to telaprevir in treatment-experienced HCV patients and also demonstrated an improved tolerability profile
2013-04-26 Janssen Research & Development, LLC Regulatory INCIVO® Receives Positive Opinion From The Committee For Medicinal Products For Human Use (CHMP) For Twice Daily Dosing For Treatment Of Genotype-1 Hepatitis C Virus jnj.com ↗
The CHMP positive opinion is a critical step in the approval process and will be considered by the European Commission, which has authority to approve medicines for use throughout the European Union.
2013-04-24 Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated Results Vertex Announces New Data that Showed High Viral Cure Rates with a Total of 12 and 24 Weeks of Telaprevir Combination Treatment Among People with Genotype 1 Hepatitis C Who Have the IL28B CC Genotype vrtx.com ↗
In the 12-week total treatment group, of the 85 people with data available at the time of the interim analysis, 87 percent (74/85) had undetectable hepatitis C virus 12 weeks after the end of treatment (SVR12).
2012-12-19 Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated Regulatory Vertex Announces Update to U.S. Prescribing Information for INCIVEK® (telaprevir) vrtx.com ↗
Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated (Nasdaq: VRTX) today announced that the INCIVEK® (telaprevir) label in the United States has been updated to include a Boxed Warning stating that fatal and non-fatal serious skin reactions have been reported in patients taking INCIVEK combination treatment.
2012-11-10 Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated Results Vertex Presents New Phase 3 Data that Showed People with Hepatitis C Treated with Twice-Daily Telaprevir Achieved Viral Cure (SVR12) Rates Similar to Those Treated Three Times Daily vrtx.com ↗
2012-11-01 Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated Results Vertex Reports Third Quarter 2012 Financial Results and Recent Progress in Development Programs vrtx.com ↗
Adverse events were generally similar between both arms of the study and consistent with previous studies.
2012-04-18 Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated Results Vertex Advances INCIVEK™ (telaprevir) and Broad Portfolio of Medicines in Development With Goal of Further Expanding and Improving Treatment for People With Hepatitis C vrtx.com ↗
Subanalysis of Phase 2 data shows 12 weeks of INCIVEK combination treatment resulted in a viral cure (SVR) for 100% of people with hepatitis C who had the IL28B CC genotype
2012-03-06 Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated Results Data from Phase 2 Study of an INCIVEK® Combination Regimen Showed 74% of People Co-Infected with Hepatitis C and HIV Had Undetectable Hepatitis C Virus 12 Weeks After Treatment Ended (SVR12) vrtx.com ↗
2012-02-23 Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated Results Vertex Announces 12-Week On-Treatment Data and SVR4 From Phase 2 Study of Interferon-Free (All-Oral) Treatment Regimen of INCIVEK®, VX-222 and Ribavirin in People with Genotype 1 Hepatitis C vrtx.com ↗
Nine of these 11 patients achieved SVR4 (undetectable hepatitis C virus four weeks after the end of all treatment).
2011-11-05 Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated Results Positive Interim Data From a Phase 2 Study of INCIVEK™ (telaprevir) Combination Therapy in People Co-Infected with Hepatitis C and HIV Presented at The Liver Meeting® vrtx.com ↗
Data showed 74 percent (28/38) of patients who were treated with INCIVEK (in-SEE-veck) combination therapy had undetectable hepatitis C virus (HCV RNA) at Week 24 of treatment compared to 55 percent (12/22) who were treated with pegylated-interferon and ribavirin alone.
2011-11-05 Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated Results Interim Data from Phase 2 Study Showed 93% of People with Hepatitis C Who Received a Total of 12 Weeks of a Combination Regimen Including INCIVEK™ (telaprevir) and VX-222 (400mg) Achieved a Viral Cure (SVR) vrtx.com ↗
Fifty percent (15/30) of patients who received the combination regimen including VX-222 (400mg) were eligible for a total of 12 weeks of treatment and 93 percent (14/15) of them achieved a viral cure (sustained viral response, or SVR).
2011-09-26 Tanabe Pharma Corporation Regulatory Approval for TELAVIC® 250mg Tablet Novel Mode of Action for Chronic Hepatitis C Treatment tanabe-pharma.com ↗
Approval for TELAVIC® 250 mg Tablet

All press releases naming this drug 102 releases

DateIssuerRelease
Show all 102 releases opens the full record — a long page

Evidence & citations 13 cited values

Every value below carries the sentence it was read from. 94 sources stand behind the page.

FieldValueCited text
Known as Telaprevir “Drug Telaprevir (TPV): dosed 1125mg twice daily (given as three 375 mg film-coated tablets) orally, except in the situation where a patient is on efavirenz in which case the...” NCT01743521 ↗
75

“Simeprevir versus telaprevir with peginterferon and ribavirin in previous null or partial responders with chronic hepatitis C virus genotype 1 infection (ATTAIN): a randomised,...” PMID 25482330 ↗ Dec 2014

“A Dosing Regimen Study (Twice Daily Versus Every 8 Hours) of Telaprevir in Treatment-naïve Participants With Genotype 1 Chronic Hepatitis C Virus Infection” NCT01241760 ↗

“Telaprevir is being investigated for the treatment of chronic hepatitis C virus infection” NCT01253551 ↗

“telaprevir (TVR) is given as oral tablets” NCT01582035 ↗

“MP-424 (generic name:Telaprevir)” NCT01468584 ↗

“MP-424 (Telaprevir)” NCT00591214 ↗

NCT01513941 ↗

NCT01821963 ↗

NCT00528528 ↗

NCT01532908 ↗

Show 65 more sources

Known as Incivek “This study is for people who have been diagnosed with chronic hepatitis C, specifically those who have a certain type of the virus, genotype 1, and who have not yet received...” NCT01890772 ↗
1

“telaprevir 750 mg tid (Incivek®)” NCT01592006 ↗

Known as Incivek (telaprevir) “Incivek (telaprevir)” NCT01532908 ↗
Known as Incivo ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL231813 ↗
Known as LY 570310 ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL231813 ↗
Known as MP-424 “MP-424 (generic name:Telaprevir)” NCT01466192 ↗
10

NCT00621296 ↗

NCT01766167 ↗

NCT00591214 ↗

NCT00780416 ↗

NCT01468584 ↗

NCT01753557 ↗

NCT00780910 ↗

NCT01753570 ↗

NCT00781274 ↗

NCT00630058 ↗

Known as TPV “Drug Telaprevir (TPV): dosed 1125mg twice daily (given as three 375 mg film-coated tablets) orally, except in the situation where a patient is on efavirenz in which case the...” NCT01743521 ↗
2

“Telaprevir plus pegylated interferon/ribavirin (TPV+PegIFN/RBV)” PMID 26321288 ↗ Aug 2015

“ARM 2: PEG-IFN and weight-based RBV plus telaprevir (TPV)” NCT02006745 ↗

Known as TVR “This study aimed to characterize the pharmacokinetic parameters of telaprevir (TVR) in patients with moderate and severe hepatic impairment, measure the unbound...” PMID 25975934 ↗ Jul 2015
10

“We evaluated the association between baseline HOMA-IR and pretreatment factors on sustained virologic response (SVR) to telaprevir (TVR) in genotype 1 patients with hepatitis C...” PMID 24382638 ↗ Oct 2013

“The purpose of this study is to investigate the effect of steady-state telaprevir (TVR 750 mg q8h (3 times a day, every 8 hours) on the steady-state pharmacokinetics of...” NCT00933894 ↗

“750 mg (2 tablets) TVR (telaprevir) will be given from day 1 to 17 every 8 hours with a morning and afternoon dose only on day 18 and 200 mg ETR will be given twice a day from...” NCT01336829 ↗

“Telaprevir (TVR) plus peginterferon-α2a (PEG-IFN-α2a) and ribavirin substantially increases treatment efficacy for genotype 1 chronic hepatitis C virus (HCV) infection versus...” PMID 23685940 ↗ Jul 2013

“We studied 15 patients chronically infected with genotype 1 HCV treated with telaprevir (TVR)/pegylated-interferon alpha/ribavirin.” PMID 24811404 ↗ Jul 2014

“All participants will receive a single 750-mg dose of telaprevir (TVR) given by mouth as 2 tablets of 375 mg.” NCT00903773 ↗

“Asunaprevir (ASV) and Daclatasvir (DCV) to Telaprevir (TVR) included therapy” NCT01718145 ↗

“TVR Type=exact number, unit=mg, number=375, form=tablet, route=oral use.” NCT01485991 ↗

“TVR (Telaprevir)” NCT00828789 ↗

NCT01582035 ↗

Known as VRT 111950 ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL231813 ↗
Known as VX-950 “A Phase IIa Randomized, Partially Blinded Trial of Telaprevir (VX-950) in Treatment-Naive Subjects With Chronic Genotype 4 Hepatitis C Infection” NCT00580801 ↗
4

“Study of Telaprevir (VX-950) Administered Every 12 or Every 8 Hours” NCT00528528 ↗

“telaprevir (VX-950)” NCT00509210 ↗

NCT00251199 ↗

NCT00262483 ↗

Action Inhibit “Telaprevir, a protease inhibitor specific to the HCV nonstructural 3/4A serine protease, rapidly reduced HCV RNA levels in early studies.” PMID 19403902 ↗ Apr 2009
Modality Small molecule “an orally available small molecule inhibitor of the HCV-1 protease” NCT01415141 ↗
Route Oral “Single loading dose of telaprevir 1250 mg tablet orally on Day 1 followed by 750 mg telaprevir tablet thrice daily for 12 weeks” NCT00336479 ↗