Drugs / Entecavir
last change Sep 2026 re-read 9 days ago

Entecavir

Small molecule

Developed for
chronic hepatitis B virus infection · hepatitis B virus infection · hepatocellular carcinoma · cirrhosis of liver · fibrotic liver disease · disease arising from reactivation of latent virus · hepatitis · hepatitis C virus infection
+3 more · interferon antiviral depressor · liver cancer · liver failure
Investigated by
Bristol-Myers Squibb · Sun Yat-sen University · National Taiwan University Hospital · Yonsei University · Pusan National University Hospital · Asan Medical Center
+128 more · Beijing 302 Hospital · Hoffmann-La Roche · Nanfang Hospital, Southern Medical University · Seoul St. Mary's Hospital · The Catholic University of Korea · Tongji Hospital · Beijing Ditan Hospital · Hallym University Medical Center · Hanyang University · Korea University · Kyungpook National University Hospital · Peking University · Ruijin Hospital · Seoul National University Hospital · Third Affiliated Hospital, Sun Yat-Sen University · Beijing Continent Pharmaceutical Co, Ltd. · Beijing Friendship Hospital · Beijing YouAn Hospital · Chia Tai Tianqing Pharmaceutical Group Co., Ltd. · Chonbuk National University Hospital · Enyo Pharma · Fudan University · GlaxoSmithKline · Guangxi Medical University · Hannover Medical School · Henan Provincial People's Hospital · Inha University Hospital · Konkuk University Medical Center · Korea University Guro Hospital · Luohe Central Hospital · Luoyang Central Hospital · Nanyang Central Hospital · National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) · National Science and Technology Council, Taiwan · Peking University People's Hospital · Qing-Lei Zeng · Roche Pharma AG · Sanmenxia Central Hospital · Severance Hospital · Shangcheng County People's Hospital · Shanghai General Hospital, Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Medicine · Shanghai Public Health Clinical Center · Soonchunhyang University Hospital · Taichung Veterans General Hospital · Taipei Veterans General Hospital, Taiwan · The First Affiliated Hospital of Henan Polytechnic University · The First Affiliated Hospital of Zhengzhou University · The Sixth People's Hospital of Zhengzhou · The Third Affiliated Hospital of Henan Medical University · Weishi County People's Hospital · Xuchang Central Hospital · Yongcheng People's Hospital · Affiliated Hospital of Yanbian University · Ajou University · Ajou University School of Medicine · Alios Biopharma Inc. · Arrowhead Pharmaceuticals · Ascentage Pharma Group Inc. · Aucta Pharmaceuticals, Inc · Bader, Ted, M.D. · Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University, Dhaka, Bangladesh · Beijing Kawin Technology Share-Holding Co., Ltd. · Beijing Tiantan Hospital · CPR Pharma Services Pty Ltd, Australia · Chang Gung Memorial Hospital · Changi General Hospital · Chongqing Jiachen Biotechnology Ltd. · Chonnam National University Hospital · Chung-Ang University · Chungnam National University Hospital · Daegu Catholic University Medical Center · Dong-A University · Eastern Hepatobiliary Surgery Hospital · Eulji University Hospital · all 134 on the full record

Regulatory milestones approvals, filings & regulatory actions · 10 recorded

MilestoneJurisdictionBrandIndicationDateSentence it was read from
Filed chronic hepatitis B virus infection 2 milestones
Filed EU (EMA) — chronic hepatitis B virus infection —

“a marketing authorization application (MAA) for entecavir with the European Medicines Evaluation Agency (EMEA)” bms.com ↗

Filed US (FDA) — chronic hepatitis B virus infection —

“Bristol-Myers Squibb recently submitted a new drug application (NDA) for entecavir to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)” bms.com ↗

Approved Indication not stated 3 milestones
Label expansions (6) US (FDA) BARACLUDE — 2007-02-23 – 2014-03-20 fda.gov ↗
Approved EU (EMA) Baraclude — 2006-06-26 europa.eu ↗
Approved US (FDA) BARACLUDE — 2005-03-29 fda.gov ↗

Trials 120 · started per year

today
US approved 2005
EU approved 2006
3
3
5
2
11
12
6
6
3
11
11
4
11
3
6
3
2
5
3
4
4
2
200120022003200420052006200720082009201020112012201320142015201620172018201920202021202220232024202520262027
PhaseRegistry idDatesIndicationSponsorStatusOutcome
Phase 18 trials
Phase 1 NCT07295873 Dec 2025 → Jun 2026 overdue fibrotic liver disease Beijing Continent Pharmaceutical Co, Ltd. Not yet recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT04124081 May → Jun 2019 — Beijing Continent Pharmaceutical Co, Ltd. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT03469583 Feb → Jun 2018 chronic hepatitis B virus infection Enyo Pharma Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT03239353 Oct 2017 → May 2018 hepatitis B virus infection Aucta Pharmaceuticals, Inc Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT03083821 May → Dec 2017 hepatitis B virus infection Bristol-Myers Squibb Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT03032536 Jan → Jun 2017 chronic hepatitis B virus infection Alios Biopharma Inc. Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Business
Phase 1 NCT02586363 Nov 2015 → Mar 2016 — Seoul St. Mary's Hospital Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT00994773 Dec 2009 → Oct 2011 hepatitis B virus infection Bader, Ted, M.D. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1/22 trials
Phase 1/2 NCT01589952 Mar 2012 → Feb 2013 chronic hepatitis B virus infection Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University, Dhaka, Bangladesh Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT00423891 Jun 2007 → Aug 2013 chronic hepatitis B virus infection Bristol-Myers Squibb Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 218 trials
Phase 2 NCT05404919 Sep 2022 → Aug 2024 hepatitis B virus infection University of Pennsylvania Withdrawn No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 2 NCT05453435 Jul 2022 → Dec 2026 expected hepatitis B virus infection, neoplasm of mature B-cells Sun Yat-sen University Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT04568265 Jun 2020 → Oct 2022 chronic hepatitis B virus infection Ascentage Pharma Group Inc. Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT04365933 May 2020 → Jun 2021 chronic hepatitis B virus infection Enyo Pharma Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT04202653 Jan 2020 → Jun 2023 chronic hepatitis B virus infection Tongji Hospital Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT03361956 Feb 2018 → Sep 2019 chronic hepatitis B virus infection Janssen Sciences Ireland UC Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT02577029 Dec 2015 → Dec 2016 hepatitis B virus infection, hepatitis D virus infection Arrowhead Pharmaceuticals Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT02777801 Jun 2015 → Dec 2017 gastric cancer Sun Yat-sen University Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT02777814 May 2015 → Oct 2018 colorectal neoplasm Sun Yat-sen University Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT01914744 Feb 2013 → Dec 2015 hepatitis B virus infection, non-Hodgkin lymphoma Fudan University Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 2/33 trials
Phase 2/3 NCT02555943 Feb 2015 → May 2021 chronic hepatitis C virus infection, hepatitis B virus infection Humanity and Health Research Centre Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2/3 NCT02829359 Jul 2012 → Dec 2015 hepatocellular carcinoma Guangxi Medical University Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2/3 NCT00051038 Sep 2002 → Oct 2005 hepatitis B virus infection Bristol-Myers Squibb Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 320 trials · 4 met primary · 2 missed
Phase 3 NCT06966232 May 2025 → May 2027 expected digestive system cancer Sun Yat-sen University Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT02650271 Feb 2021 → Dec 2023 hepatocellular carcinoma Guangxi Medical University Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT04539119 Jul 2020 → Sep 2022 B-cell non-Hodgkin lymphoma, hepatitis B virus infection Ruijin Hospital Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT03887702 Jan 2020 → Dec 2022 cancer, hepatitis B virus infection SWOG Cancer Research Network Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 3 NCT02327416 Oct 2014 → Dec 2018 chronic hepatitis B virus infection Tongji Hospital Unknown Met primary
Phase 3 NCT02263079 Jun 2014 → Jan 2020 chronic hepatitis B virus infection Hoffmann-La Roche Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT01694264 Sep 2012 → Aug 2015 ankylosing spondylitis, chronic hepatitis B virus infection, juvenile idiopathic arthritis, psoriatic arthritis Seoul National University Hospital Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 3 NCT01368497 Sep 2012 → Dec 2016 hepatitis B virus infection National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT01369199 May 2012 → Feb 2017 chronic hepatitis B virus infection National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT01580202 Apr 2012 → Jun 2017 cancer, hepatitis B virus infection Seoul National University Hospital Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 460 trials · 3 met primary · 6 missed
Phase 4 NCT07345624 Jan 2026 → Dec 2030 expected chronic hepatitis B virus infection Qing-Lei Zeng Not yet recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 4 NCT07345611 Jan 2026 → Dec 2030 expected chronic hepatitis B virus infection Qing-Lei Zeng Not yet recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 4 NCT07189377 Sep 2025 → Aug 2027 expected hepatitis B virus infection University Health Network, Toronto Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 4 NCT05182463 Jan 2022 → Dec 2026 expected chronic hepatitis B virus infection Third Affiliated Hospital, Sun Yat-Sen University Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 4 NCT03448744 Oct 2017 → Dec 2018 chronic hepatitis B virus infection Wen-hong Zhang Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 4 NCT04032860 Jul 2017 → Jul 2022 hepatocellular carcinoma West China Hospital Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 4 NCT04069858 Dec 2016 → Mar 2019 chronic hepatitis B virus infection Korea University Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 4 NCT02973646 Jan 2016 → Dec 2018 chronic hepatitis B virus infection Third Affiliated Hospital, Sun Yat-Sen University Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 4 NCT02849132 Jan 2016 → Dec 2023 cirrhosis of liver, hepatitis B virus infection Beijing Friendship Hospital Unknown Missed primary
Phase 4 NCT03332329 Dec 2015 → Dec 2018 chronic hepatitis B virus infection Qin Ning Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase not applicable8 trials
— NCT07253220 Dec 2025 → Sep 2027 expected hepatitis B virus infection, hepatocellular carcinoma Sun Yat-sen University Not yet recruiting No outcome recorded
— NCT05453448 May 2022 interferon antiviral depressor Xiangya Hospital of Central South University Completed No outcome recorded
— NCT04942886 Aug 2021 → Dec 2028 expected hepatitis B virus infection Seoul St. Mary's Hospital Enrolling by invitation No outcome recorded
— NCT05792761 May 2021 → Dec 2025 chronic hepatitis B virus infection Fang Wang Unknown No outcome recorded
— NCT04195074 Jan 2019 → Dec 2023 chronic hepatitis B virus infection Third Affiliated Hospital, Sun Yat-Sen University Unknown No outcome recorded
— NCT04405011 Aug 2018 → Dec 2020 hepatitis C virus infection National Taiwan University Hospital Unknown No outcome recorded
— NCT03164889 Jan 2017 → Jan 2018 chronic hepatitis B virus infection Beijing 302 Hospital Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
— NCT00824707 Dec 2008 → Nov 2010 liver cancer Eastern Hepatobiliary Surgery Hospital Completed No outcome recorded
Phase not stated1 trial
— NCT00096811 Sep 2003 → Aug 2008 chronic hepatitis B virus infection Bristol-Myers Squibb No longer available No outcome recorded
Comparator or background therapy126 trials
Phase 1 NCT05763576 Background Apr 2023 → Dec 2024 chronic hepatitis B virus infection Hoffmann-La Roche Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT04638439 Background Aug 2022 → Apr 2026 chronic hepatitis B virus infection, hepatitis D virus infection PharmaEssentia Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT05391360 Comparator Oct 2021 → Jan 2023 chronic hepatitis B virus infection Sunshine Lake Pharma Co., Ltd. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT05017116 Background Aug 2021 → Oct 2023 chronic hepatitis B virus infection Suzhou Ribo Life Science Co. Ltd. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT04536337 Background Oct 2020 → Jun 2025 chronic hepatitis B virus infection Aligos Therapeutics Completed No outcome recorded
Show all 126 trials opens the full record — a long page

News releases announcing trial results or a regulatory action · 25

DateIssuerRelease
2024-06-05 Aligos Therapeutics Results Aligos Therapeutics Presents Positive Data at the EASL Congress 2024 aligos.com ↗
Extended Treatment of HBeAg+ CHB Subjects with the Capsid Assembly Modulator ALG-000184 with or without Entecavir is Associated with Reductions in Viral Markers and Favorable Anti-HBeAb trends
2024-05-22 Aligos Therapeutics Results Aligos Therapeutics Announces Six Abstracts Accepted for Presentation at EASL 2024 aligos.com ↗
Extended Treatment of HBeAg+ CHB Subjects with the Capsid Assembly Modulator ALG-000184 with or without Entecavir is Associated with Reductions in Viral Markers and Favorable Anti-HBeAb trends
2023-06-26 Ascletis Pharmaceuticals Co., Ltd. Results Ascletis Announces Poster Presentation of Phase II Study of ASC42 FXR Agonist for Functional Cure of Chronic Hepatitis B at EASL CONGRESS 2023 ascletis.com ↗
In total, 122, 119, and 107 adverse events (AEs) were reported in 10 mg ASC42, 15 mg ASC42 and PBO cohorts, respectively, and most AEs (94.3%) were mild (grade 1) or moderate (grade 2) in severity.
2023-06-21 Assembly Biosciences Results Assembly Biosciences Presents New Data Highlighting Entry Inhibitor and Core Inhibitor Programs at EASL’s International Liver Congress™ 2023 assemblybio.com ↗
The first-generation core inhibitor candidate, VBR, was evaluated in a Phase 2 study in combination with entecavir (ETV) and pegylated interferon alpha (Peg-IFNα) in patients with hepatitis B e antigen positive cHBV infection.
2023-02-16 Aligos Therapeutics Results Aligos Therapeutics Presents Program Updates at the 32nd Conference of the Asian Pacific Association for the Study of the Liver aligos.com ↗
These data demonstrate that ALG-000184 has best-in-class properties and a potential role in combination therapeutic regimens for CHB.
2023-02-14 Aligos Therapeutics Results Aligos Therapeutics to Present Program Updates at the 32nd Conference of the Asian Pacific Association for the Study of the Liver aligos.com ↗
ALG-000184, a Capsid Assembly Modulator, Demonstrates Superior Antiviral Activity in Combination with Entecavir Compared to Entecavir in HBeAg Positive Subjects with Chronic Hepatitis B infection
2022-06-22 Assembly Biosciences Results Assembly Biosciences Presents New Data Highlighting Clinical Progress of Core Inhibitor Programs at EASL’s International Liver Congress™ 2022 assemblybio.com ↗
2022-06-08 Assembly Biosciences Results Assembly Biosciences to Highlight Data from HBV Core Inhibitor Programs at EASL’s International Liver Congress™ 2022 assemblybio.com ↗
Greater sequence diversity during early hepatitis B virus decline on vebicorvir plus entecavir is associated with a lower level of virus rebound following switch to entecavir monotherapy
2019-11-11 Assembly Biosciences Results Data for Assembly Biosciences’ First and Second Generation HBV Core Inhibitors in Development for the Treatment of Chronic Hepatitis B Highlighted in Late-Breaker Poster Session at AASLD 2019 assemblybio.com ↗
Final Week 24 results from HBeAg-positive patients in Study 202 (n=25) demonstrated faster and deeper HBV DNA declines in patients receiving 731+entecavir (ETV) than those receiving ETV alone.
2019-10-16 Assembly Biosciences Results Safety and Antiviral Activity of Assembly Biosciences’ First and Second Generation Core Inhibitor Candidates In the Treatment of Chronic Hepatitis B to be Featured in a Late Breaking Session at AASLD assemblybio.com ↗
In Study 202 (Rx naïve patients), greater mean log10 declines in HBV DNA (5.27 vs 3.99; p=0.017) and RNA (2.34 vs 0.61; p<0.001) were achieved with 731+Nrtl (entecavir) versus entecavir alone.
2019-04-13 Assembly Biosciences Results Assembly Biosciences Presents Interim Data from Two Phase 2a Studies of ABI-H0731 in HBV-Infected Subjects in a Late-Breaker Oral Session at EASL 2019 assemblybio.com ↗
The combination of 731 + entecavir (ETV) reduced both HBV DNA and HBV RNA significantly faster and deeper compared to ETV monotherapy as early as week 2.
2017-12-20 Replicor Inc. Results Replicor announces publication of its latest pre-clinical hepatitis B study: replicor.com ↗
REP 2139 and TDF/ETV combine synergistically to establish control of cccDNA in the liver

All press releases naming this drug 29 releases

DateIssuerRelease

Evidence & citations 17 cited values

Every value below carries the sentence it was read from. 256 sources stand behind the page.

FieldValueCited text
Known as Entecavir “A Randomized, Parallel, Single-Dose Study to Evaluate the Pharmacokinetics of a Test Formulation of Entigin Film Coated Tablet 0.5mg (Entecavir 0.5 mg), Compared to an...” NCT02850848 ↗
243

“Patients will be on their existing nucleosid(t)e analogue therapy comprising lamivudine 100mg daily, adefovir 10mg daily, entecavir 0.5mg or 1.0mg daily or tenofovir 300mg...” NCT01928511 ↗

“Participants will continue on their SOC NrtI, Entecavir (ETV), Tenofovir Disoproxil Fumarate (TDF) or Tenofovir Alafenamide (TAF) tablet QD (once daily) orally as per approved...” NCT03780543 ↗

“First-line NAs (e.g. Entecavir (ETV), tenofovir disoproxil fumarate (TDF), tenofovir alafenamide fumarate (TAF), tenofovir amibufenamide (TMF)), one tablet a day, take orally,...” NCT06323681 ↗

“NUC treatment, including tenofovir disoproxil fumarate (TDF), tenofovir alafenamide (TAF), or entecavir (ETV), will be administered orally per local prescribing information.” NCT05763576 ↗

“Administered prior to study enrollment (tenofovir disoproxil fumarate, entecavir, adefovir, lamivudine, or telbivudine either as single agents or in combination)” NCT01943799 ↗

“Oral nucleos(t)ide analogues (NAs) (Entecavir(ETV), Tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets(TDF) or Tenofovir Alafenamide Fumarate(TAF)) is used for 12-24 weeks” NCT05182463 ↗

“Patients will continue ongoing nucleos(t)ide analogue (Entecavir or Tenofovir Disoproxil Fumarate or Tenofovir Alafenamide Fumarate) therapy for 48 weeks” NCT05256823 ↗

“Background nucleos(t)ide analogue therapy with entecavir, tenofovir disoproxil fumarate, or tenofovir alafenamide will be continued throughout the study.” NCT07809165 ↗

“Efficacy and Safety of Switching from Entecavir to Tenofovir Alafenamide in Chronic Hepatitis B: A Multicenter Randomized Trial in Korea.” PMID 42015653 ↗ Apr 2026

“The intervention group take entecavir 0.5mg everyday by oral administration for 3 years after hematopoietic stem cell transplantation.” NCT04942886 ↗

Show 233 more sources

Known as Baraclude “This study will examine whether 12 month treatment with entecavir(Baraclude®) has an effect on changes of liver stiffness measurement (LSM) and of hyaluronan measurement in...” NCT01341106 ↗
7

“All subjects were orally administered once a day at night : Baraclude® 0.5 mg QD,60weeks” NCT05484466 ↗

“0.5mg Baraclude (entecavir) QD for 6 months after cessation of TDF.” NCT03308890 ↗

“Entecavir (Baraclude) 0.5 mg/day po at week 1-4” NCT00921180 ↗

“Entecavir (Baraclude)0.5 mg/day po at week 1-4” NCT00917761 ↗

“Entecavir (Baraclude®)” NCT03491553 ↗

NCT05484466 ↗

NCT03083821 ↗

Known as Baraclude(Entecavir) “Baraclude(Entecavir)” NCT01641536 ↗
Known as Entecavir (Baraclude) “Entecavir (Baraclude)” NCT01373684 ↗
1

“Entecavir (Baraclude)” NCT01023217 ↗

Known as Entecavir (ETV) “Entecavir (ETV)” NCT03576066 ↗
2

“Entecavir (ETV)” NCT04820686 ↗

“Entecavir (ETV)” NCT03357822 ↗

Known as Entecavir (ETV) - brand name Baraclude “Entecavir (ETV) - brand name Baraclude” NCT03780543 ↗
Known as Entecavir 0.5mg tablets (Bristol-Myers Squibb) “Entecavir 0.5mg tablets (Bristol-Myers Squibb)” NCT01894269 ↗
Known as Entecavir 1.0mg - Braclude “Entecavir 1.0mg - Braclude” NCT01594905 ↗
Known as Entecavir Dispersible Tablets “Entecavir dispersible tablets is an inhibitor of hepatitis B virus replication.” NCT06990776 ↗
1

“Entecavir Dispersible Tablets, Inhibit viral replication;” NCT06566248 ↗

Known as entecavir hydrate “The study aimed to evaluate the efficacy and safety of tenofovir disoproxil fumarate (TDF) and entecavir hydrate (ETV) in nucleos(t)ide analog (NA)-naïve Japanese chronic...” PMID 28374496 ↗ May 2017
Known as Entigin “A Randomized, Parallel, Single-Dose Study to Evaluate the Pharmacokinetics of a Test Formulation of Entigin Film Coated Tablet 0.5mg (Entecavir 0.5 mg), Compared to an...” NCT02850848 ↗
Known as ETV “The purpose of our study is to conduct a multicenter, prospective, randomized study comparing the effect of entecavir (ETV) versus LAM for the prevention of HBV reactivation in...” NCT01580202 ↗
32

“Another potent anti-viral drug, entecavir (ETV), on the other hand, reduces HBV replication in most patients, but causes improvement of liver histology in only 30%, possibly...” NCT01589952 ↗

“First-line NAs (e.g. Entecavir (ETV), tenofovir disoproxil fumarate (TDF), tenofovir alafenamide fumarate (TAF), tenofovir amibufenamide (TMF)), one tablet a day, take orally,...” NCT06323681 ↗

“NUC treatment, including tenofovir disoproxil fumarate (TDF), tenofovir alafenamide (TAF), or entecavir (ETV), will be administered orally per local prescribing information.” NCT05763576 ↗

“Oral nucleos(t)ide analogues (NAs) (Entecavir(ETV), Tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tablets(TDF) or Tenofovir Alafenamide Fumarate(TAF)) is used for 12-24 weeks” NCT05182463 ↗

“we evaluated the antiviral efficacy and safety of entecavir (ETV) plus tenofovir (TDF) combination therapy in multidrug-resistant (MDR) CHB patients.” PMID 26781724 ↗ Feb 2016

“we conducted a randomized controlled trial in which CHB patients with spontaneous SAE were randomized to receive lamivudine (LVD) or entecavir (ETV)” PMID 28671553 ↗ 2018

“Tenofovir alafenamide (TAF) has emerged as a safe and effective alternative to entecavir (ETV) in the management of chronic hepatitis B (CHB).” PMID 42015653 ↗ Apr 2026

“Participants will also receive background treatment with NA (either tenofovir disoproxil, tenofovir alafenamide [TAF] or entecavir [ETV]).” NCT05275023 ↗

“Switching to Entecavir(ETV) plus Tenofovir Disoproxil Fumarate(TDF) combination will result in faster and greater antiviral activity” NCT01597934 ↗

“Entecavir (ETV), tenofovir alafenamide (TAF), or tenofovir disoproxil fumarate (TDF) SOC according to the respective package insert” NCT04454567 ↗

Show 22 more sources

Known as Generic/Brand name: Entecavir/Baraclude(TM) “Generic/Brand name: Entecavir/Baraclude(TM)” NCT01220596 ↗
Known as RunZhong “Patients in the ETV group received ETV tablets (RunZhong, CHIATAI TIANQING, China) 0.5 mg/d orally starting from 2-4 weeks before surgery;” NCT04032860 ↗
Action Inhibit “which has been proved effective in suppressing viral replication” NCT00663182 ↗
Modality Small molecule “Entecavir, a carbocyclic deoxyguanosine analog” NCT00597259 ↗
Route Oral “Tablets, Oral, 1 mg once daily, 96 weeks from the time the last patient is randomized” NCT00065507 ↗