Drugs / Ponatinib
last change Jul 2026 re-read 9 days ago

Ponatinib

Small molecule targets ABL1, BCR, FLT3, KIT, RET, SRC via inhibition

Developed for
acute lymphoblastic leukemia · chronic myeloid leukemia · B-lymphoblastic leukemia/lymphoma with t(9;22)(q34.1;q11.2) · acute myeloid leukemia · blast phase chronic myelogenous leukemia, BCR-ABL1 positive · leukemia, myeloid, accelerated-phase · adult acute lymphoblastic leukemia · non-small cell lung carcinoma
+24 more · Philadelphia-positive myelogenous leukemia · chronic myelomonocytic leukemia · gastrointestinal stromal tumor · lymphoblastic lymphoma · acute leukemia · acute leukemia of ambiguous lineage · B-cell acute lymphoblastic leukemia · B-lymphoblastic leukemia/lymphoma, BCR-ABL1–like · breast cancer · cancer · childhood acute lymphoblastic leukemia · digestive system cancer · endometrium neoplasm · glioblastoma · hepatobiliary neoplasm · leukemia · lung adenocarcinoma · medullary thyroid gland carcinoma · mixed phenotype acute leukemia with t(9;22)(q34.1;q11.2) · pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma · precursor lymphoblastic lymphoma/leukemia · small cell lung carcinoma · T-cell acute lymphoblastic leukemia · thyroid cancer
Investigated by
Ariad Pharmaceuticals · M.D. Anderson Cancer Center · National Cancer Institute (NCI) · Takeda · GIMEMA Foundation · OHSU Knight Cancer Institute
+53 more · Versailles Hospital · Amgen · Dana-Farber Cancer Institute · Incyte Corporation · Nanfang Hospital, Southern Medical University · Oregon Health and Science University · Peking University People's Hospital · Sun Yat-Sen Memorial Hospital of Sun Yat-Sen University · Third Affiliated Hospital, Sun Yat-Sen University · University of Chicago · University of Washington · Antonio Fojo · Apices Soluciones S.L. · Assistance Publique - Hôpitaux de Paris · Associazione Italiana Pazienti Leucemia Mieloide Cronica · CRIS Cancer Foundation · CZECRIN - Czech Clinical Research Infrastructure Network · Cardiff University · Centre Leon Berard · Deutsche Leukämie- & Lymphom-Hilfe · Fondazione per la Medicina Personalizzata · Fundación Teófilo Hernando, Spain · GWT-TUD GmbH · German Federal Ministry of Education and Research · Goethe University · Guangdong Provincial People's Hospital · Guangxi Medical University · Guangzhou First People's Hospital · Guangzhou General Hospital of Guangzhou Military Command · Hannover Medical School · Helios Klinikum Bad Saarow · Helios Klinikum Berlin-Buch · Incyte Biosciences UK · Incyte Corporation · Institute of Hematology and Blood Transfusion, Czech Republic · Massachusetts General Hospital · Mayo Clinic · Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center · Millennium Pharmaceuticals, Inc. · Otsuka Beijing Research Institute · PETHEMA Foundation · Sameek Roychowdhury · Sebastian Bauer · University Health Network, Toronto · University Hospital Tuebingen · University Hospital, Aachen · University Medical Center Mannheim · University of Alberta · University of Colorado, Denver · University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center · Washington University School of Medicine · WiSP GmbH · Zhujiang Hospital

Regulatory milestones approvals, filings & regulatory actions · 11 recorded

MilestoneJurisdictionBrandIndicationDateSentence it was read from
Filed B-lymphoblastic leukemia/lymphoma with t(9;22)(q34.1;q11.2) 1 milestone
Filed Japan (PMDA) Iclusig B-lymphoblastic leukemia/lymphoma with t(9;22)(q34.1;q11.2) 2026-03-27

“application in Japan seeking regulatory approval for an expanded indication of Iclusig (ponatinib hydrochloride) to include first-line treatment of Philadelphia...” otsuka.co.jp ↗

Filed Philadelphia-positive myelogenous leukemia 2 milestones
Filed Japan (PMDA) Iclusig Philadelphia-positive myelogenous leukemia 2016-01-08

“The New Drug Application (NDA) for ponatinib was filed in Japan for the first time as a novel oral treatment for chronic myeloid leukemia (CML)” otsuka.co.jp ↗

Filed Other Iclusig Philadelphia-positive myelogenous leukemia —

“NDAs have been submitted in Korea and Taiwan as well.” otsuka.co.jp ↗

Approved Indication not stated 3 milestones
Label expansions (6) US (FDA) ICLUSIG — 2016-06-02 – 2025-10-10 fda.gov ↗
Approved EU (EMA) Iclusig — 2013-07-01 europa.eu ↗
Approved US (FDA) ICLUSIG — 2012-12-14 fda.gov ↗

Trials 65 · started per year

today
US approved 2012
EU approved 2013
1
1
1
4
7
2
5
5
2
6
6
6
8
2
1
2
2
2
200820092010201120122013201420152016201720182019202020212022202320242025202620272028
PhaseRegistry idDatesIndicationSponsorStatusOutcome
Phase 13 trials
Phase 1 NCT03878524 Apr → Dec 2020 acute myeloid leukemia, atypical chronic myeloid leukemia, BCR-ABL1 negative, blast phase chronic myelogenous leukemia, BCR-ABL1 positive, castration-resistant prostate carcinoma +14 OHSU Knight Cancer Institute Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 1 NCT02779283 Jan 2016 → Apr 2018 acute lymphoblastic leukemia, acute myeloid leukemia OHSU Knight Cancer Institute Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT00660920 Jun 2008 → May 2016 chronic myeloid leukemia Ariad Pharmaceuticals Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1/28 trials
Phase 1/2 NCT06207123 Sep 2024 → Dec 2026 expected acute leukemia, lymphoblastic lymphoma University of Chicago Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT04501614 Feb 2021 → Dec 2023 B-lymphoblastic leukemia/lymphoma, BCR-ABL1–like, childhood acute lymphoblastic leukemia, mixed phenotype acute leukemia with t(9;22)(q34.1;q11.2) Takeda Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 1/2 NCT03934372 Jan 2020 → Feb 2028 expected acute lymphoblastic leukemia, acute myeloid leukemia, blast phase chronic myelogenous leukemia, BCR-ABL1 positive, leukemia, myeloid, accelerated-phase Incyte Corporation Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT03704688 Oct 2018 → Feb 2022 non-small cell lung carcinoma Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT03576547 Jun 2018 → Jun 2024 Philadelphia-positive myelogenous leukemia, acute lymphoblastic leukemia, blast phase chronic myelogenous leukemia, BCR-ABL1 positive M.D. Anderson Cancer Center Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 1/2 NCT02829840 Sep 2016 → Sep 2021 acute myeloid leukemia M.D. Anderson Cancer Center Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT02428543 Jul 2013 → Oct 2021 acute myeloid leukemia Versailles Hospital Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT01667133 Aug 2012 → Aug 2018 acute lymphoblastic leukemia, chronic myeloid leukemia Ariad Pharmaceuticals Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 242 trials · 4 met primary
Phase 2 NCT07301424 Jul 2026 → Dec 2027 expected B-lymphoblastic leukemia/lymphoma with t(9;22)(q34.1;q11.2) University of Alberta Not yet recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT07224100 Mar 2026 → Jul 2028 expected B-lymphoblastic leukemia/lymphoma with t(9;22)(q34.1;q11.2), lymphoblastic lymphoma University of Washington Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT06813079 Apr 2025 → Feb 2028 expected pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma University Health Network, Toronto Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT04845035 Jan 2024 → Jan 2026 acute lymphoblastic leukemia University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT06061094 Jul 2023 → Jul 2029 expected B-lymphoblastic leukemia/lymphoma with t(9;22)(q34.1;q11.2) Goethe University Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT05306301 Oct 2022 → Mar 2026 overdue acute lymphoblastic leukemia GIMEMA Foundation Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT05268003 Jun 2022 → Apr 2026 T-cell acute lymphoblastic leukemia M.D. Anderson Cancer Center Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT04475731 May 2021 → Nov 2024 overdue B-lymphoblastic leukemia/lymphoma with t(9;22)(q34.1;q11.2), acute lymphoblastic leukemia GIMEMA Foundation Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT04747912 Mar 2021 → Mar 2028 expected B-lymphoblastic leukemia/lymphoma with t(9;22)(q34.1;q11.2), acute lymphoblastic leukemia University of Chicago Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT04554459 Feb 2021 → Sep 2023 B-lymphoblastic leukemia/lymphoma with t(9;22)(q34.1;q11.2), adult acute lymphoblastic leukemia Institute of Hematology and Blood Transfusion, Czech Republic Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 2/33 trials
Phase 2/3 NCT06860269 May 2025 → Mar 2035 expected acute lymphoblastic leukemia Assistance Publique - Hôpitaux de Paris Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2/3 NCT03624530 Aug 2018 → Jul 2021 B-lymphoblastic leukemia/lymphoma with t(9;22)(q34.1;q11.2) Nanfang Hospital, Southern Medical University Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 2/3 NCT01761747 Jan 2013 → Jun 2014 non-small cell lung carcinoma Dana-Farber Cancer Institute Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 35 trials · 1 met primary · 1 missed
Phase 3 NCT04722848 Sep 2021 → Sep 2027 expected adult acute lymphoblastic leukemia GIMEMA Foundation Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT04530565 Jan 2021 → Jul 2028 expected B-lymphoblastic leukemia/lymphoma with t(9;22)(q34.1;q11.2) National Cancer Institute (NCI) Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT03589326 Oct 2018 → Aug 2022 overdue acute lymphoblastic leukemia Takeda Active not recruiting Met primary
Phase 3 NCT02627677 Dec 2015 → Oct 2020 chronic myeloid leukemia Ariad Pharmaceuticals Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT01650805 Jun 2012 → Oct 2013 chronic myeloid leukemia Ariad Pharmaceuticals Terminated Missed primary
Phase not applicable2 trials
— NCT01888562 Jan 2016 → Jul 2018 endometrium neoplasm Washington University School of Medicine Withdrawn No outcome recorded
— NCT02551718 Sep 2015 → Jun 2020 acute leukemia of ambiguous lineage, acute lymphoblastic leukemia University of Washington Completed No outcome recorded
Phase not stated2 trials
— NCT01592136 — acute lymphoblastic leukemia, chronic myeloid leukemia Ariad Pharmaceuticals Approved for marketing No outcome recorded
— NCT01549548 — Philadelphia-positive myelogenous leukemia, chronic myeloid leukemia OHSU Knight Cancer Institute No longer available No outcome recorded
Comparator or background therapy1 trial
Phase 2 NCT01838642 Comparator Mar 2013 → Dec 2015 thyroid cancer National Institutes of Health Clinical Center (CC) Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment

News releases announcing trial results or a regulatory action · 11

DateIssuerRelease
2026-03-27 Otsuka Pharmaceutical Development & Commercialization, Inc. Regulatory Otsuka Submits Application in Japan for Iclusig for First-Line Treatment of Philadelphia Chromosome-Positive Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia® otsuka.co.jp ↗
2024-03-19 Takeda Regulatory Takeda Announces U.S. FDA Approval of Supplemental New Drug Application (sNDA) for ICLUSIG® (ponatinib) in Adult Patients with Newly Diagnosed Ph+ ALL takeda.com ↗
Takeda ( TSE:4502/NYSE:TAK ) today announced that the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has approved the supplemental New Drug Application (sNDA) for ICLUSIG ® (ponatinib) for the treatment of adult patients with newly diagnosed Philadelphia chromosome-positive acute lymphoblastic leukemia (Ph+ ALL) in combination with chemotherapy.
2022-11-17 Takeda Results Phase 3 Trial of ICLUSIG ® (ponatinib) Met Primary Endpoint in Newly-Diagnosed Ph+ ALL, a Setting with No Targeted Treatments Approved in the US takeda.com ↗
Primary Endpoint Result Shows Superiority Compared to Imatinib as Assessed by MRD-Negative Complete Remission
2021-05-20 Incyte Corporation Results Positive Primary Analysis from the Phase 2 OPTIC Study of Ponatinib (Iclusig®) in Chronic Phase-Chronic Myeloid Leukemia (CP-CML) to be Presented at the 2021 ASCO Annual Meeting incyte.com ↗
The results show that the optimal benefit-risk profile for ponatinib in patients with CP-CML was achieved with a starting dose of 45mg/day, and upon response (achieving ≤1% BCR-ABL1IS), dose reduction to 15mg/day.
2021-05-19 Takeda Results Takeda to Present Positive Primary Analysis from Phase 2 OPTIC Trial of ICLUSIG® (ponatinib), Reinforcing Ability to Address Gaps in Care for Chronic-Phase CML takeda.com ↗
The OPTIC trial, which evaluated treatment in patients with resistant disease, with and without mutations, met its primary endpoint.
2020-12-18 Takeda Regulatory U.S. FDA Approves Supplemental New Drug Application for Takeda’s ICLUSIG ® (ponatinib) for Adult Patients with Resistant or Intolerant Chronic-Phase CML takeda.com ↗
2020-05-29 Takeda Results Takeda to Present Data from the ICLUSIG ® (ponatinib) Clinical Trial Program that Could Prove Practice-Changing for the Treatment of Chronic-Phase CML takeda.com ↗
This dosing regimen resulted in an adjudicated arterial occlusive event (AOE) rate of 5.3%.
2020-05-29 Incyte Corporation Results Interim Data from the Open Label Phase 2 OPTIC Study of Iclusig® (ponatinib) for Chronic Phase-CML Presented at the ASCO and EHA Virtual Meetings incyte.com ↗
Data from the interim analysis of the Phase 2 OPTIC trial show that response-based dosing regimens of Iclusig can optimize benefit-risk profile in patients with resistant or intolerant chronic phase-chronic myeloid leukemia (CML)
2018-03-22 Takeda Results Takeda Announces Publication of Final Data from ICLUSIG ® (ponatinib) Pivotal Phase 2 PACE Trial in Blood takeda.com ↗
The final five-year results support ICLUSIG as an effective treatment option for patients with chronic-phase CML (CP-CML) whose prior therapies have failed.
2016-09-28 Otsuka Pharmaceutical Development & Commercialization, Inc. Regulatory ICLUSIG Tablets 15 mg Approved in Japan for Patients with Chronic Myeloid Leukemia and Philadelphia Chromosome-positive Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia® otsuka.co.jp ↗
ICLUSIG, an oral tyrosine kinase inhibitor (TKI) discovered by ARIAD Pharmaceuticals, Inc. and indicated for chronic myeloid leukemia (CML) and Philadelphia Chromosome-positive acute lymphoblastic leukemia (Ph+ ALL), has been approved in Japan.
2016-01-08 Otsuka Pharmaceutical Development & Commercialization, Inc. Regulatory Otsuka and ARIAD Announce New Drug Application for Ponatinib Submitted in Japan for the Treatment of Refractory Leukemia otsuka.co.jp ↗
The New Drug Application (NDA) for ponatinib was filed in Japan for the first time as a novel oral treatment for chronic myeloid leukemia (CML) and Philadelphia-chromosome positive acute lymphoblastic leukemia (Ph+ ALL).

All press releases naming this drug 14 releases

DateIssuerRelease

Evidence & citations 10 cited values

Every value below carries the sentence it was read from. 69 sources stand behind the page.

FieldValueCited text
Known as Ponatinib “Imatinib was initiated at a dose of 200mg/d, dasatinib at a dose of 50mg/d, and ponatinib at a dose of 30mg/d.” NCT03624530 ↗
64

“Ponatinib is a drug, taken by mouth, that targets and kills leukemia cells that have the BCR-ABL mutation.” NCT07301424 ↗

“If the patients had T315I mutations, ponatinib will be given.” NCT01883219 ↗

“Pentostatin Ponatinib Pralatrexate” NCT02551718 ↗

NCT01874665 ↗

NCT04709731 ↗

NCT04188405 ↗

NCT04233346 ↗

NCT04722848 ↗

NCT01641107 ↗

NCT02627677 ↗

Show 54 more sources

Known as AP-24534 HCL ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1171837 ↗
Known as AP24534 “Ponatinib (AP24534) is a potent oral tyrosine kinase inhibitor that blocks native and mutated BCR-ABL, including the gatekeeper mutant T315I, which is uniformly resistant to...” PMID 23190221 ↗ Nov 2012
2

“Ponatinib (AP24534) is a third generation tyrosine kinase inhibitor targeting the BCR-ABL tyrosine kinase domain.” NCT02428543 ↗

“Expanded Access Program of Ponatinib (AP24534)” NCT01592136 ↗

Known as Iclusig “In the Phpos ALL subset, the third-generation tyrosine kinase inhibitor ponatinib (PONA, Iclusig®, Incyte) has also been evaluated frontline with promising results when...” NCT06860269 ↗
2

“Ponatinib (Iclusig®) : Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor (BCR-ABL); oral (tablets) : 30mg/day during 6 months (induction phase)” NCT04070443 ↗

“patients will receive a dosage of 15 mg of ICLUSIG (ponatinib).” NCT05306301 ↗

Known as PONA “In the Phpos ALL subset, the third-generation tyrosine kinase inhibitor ponatinib (PONA, Iclusig®, Incyte) has also been evaluated frontline with promising results when...” NCT06860269 ↗
Known as Ponatinib Hydrochloride “Ponatinib Hydrochloride as Second Line Therapy in Treating Patients With Chronic Myeloid Leukemia in Chronic Phase Resistant or Intolerant to Imatinib Mesylate, Dasatinib, or Nilotinib” NCT01746836 ↗
2

“Drug: Ponatinib Hydrochloride” NCT02265341 ↗

NCT03576547 ↗

Action Inhibit “Ponatinib (AP24534) is a potent oral tyrosine kinase inhibitor that blocks native and mutated BCR-ABL, including the gatekeeper mutant T315I, which is uniformly resistant to...” PMID 23190221 ↗ Nov 2012
Modality Small molecule “Ponatinib is a novel synthetic orally active tyrosine kinase inhibitor (TKI)” NCT01641107 ↗
Route Oral “administered ponatinib 45 mg, tablet, orally” NCT01207440 ↗
Target ABL1 “The BCR-ABL1 inhibitor ponatinib is approved for the treatment of adults with chronic myeloid leukemia or Philadelphia chromosome-positive acute lymphoblastic leukemia,...” PMID 34699069 ↗ Dec 2021