Drugs / Droxidopa
last change Sep 2026 re-read 9 days ago

Droxidopa

Small molecule

Developed for
orthostatic hypotension · Parkinson disease · disorder of catecholamine synthesis · multiple system atrophy · autonomic nervous system disorder · hypotensive disorder · peripheral neuropathy · pure autonomic failure
+15 more · acute kidney injury · attention deficit-hyperactivity disorder · cirrhosis of liver · fibromyalgia · hereditary sensory and autonomic neuropathy type 4 · Menkes disease · movement disorder · myalgic encephalomeyelitis/chronic fatigue syndrome · postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome · primary progressive freezing gait · progressive supranuclear palsy · autonomic neuropathy · occipital horn syndrome · primary dysautonomia · syncope, familial vasovagal
Investigated by
Chelsea Therapeutics · H. Lundbeck A/S · James J. Peters Veterans Affairs Medical Center · Lundbeck LLC · National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) · National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)
+22 more · Vanderbilt University · Vanderbilt University Medical Center · Alberto Espay, MD, MSc · American Academy of Neurology · Arizona State University · Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center · Bronx VA Medical Center · Chiltern International Inc. · Colorado Springs Neurological Associates · Giuseppe Cullaro, MD · Henry Ford Health System · Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai · Kessler Foundation · Loma Linda University · Mayo Clinic · NYU Langone Health · New York State Department of Health · St. Joseph's Hospital and Medical Center, Phoenix · Stephen G. Kaler · TSH Biopharm Corporation Limited · University Hospital, Toulouse · William Ondo, MD

Regulatory milestones approvals, filings & regulatory actions · 2 recorded

MilestoneJurisdictionBrandIndicationDateSentence it was read from
Filed primary orthostatic hypotension 1 milestone
Filed US (FDA) — primary orthostatic hypotension —

“for the treatment of neurogenic orthostatic hypotension and resubmitted an application for FDA approval in August 2013.” sumitomo-pharma.com ↗

Approved Indication not stated 1 milestone
Approved US (FDA) NORTHERA — 2014-02-18 fda.gov ↗

Trials 32

PhaseRegistry idDatesIndicationSponsorStatusOutcome
Phase 14 trials
Phase 1 NCT02897063 Sep 2016 → Sep 2026 overdue Parkinson disease, orthostatic hypotension, pure autonomic failure Vanderbilt University Medical Center Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT01468259 Oct → Dec 2012 end stage renal failure Chelsea Therapeutics Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT01354158 May 2011 → May 2013 hypotensive disorder, spinal cord injury Bronx VA Medical Center Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT01327066 Mar → Apr 2011 — Chelsea Therapeutics Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1/24 trials
Phase 1/2 NCT07398508 Aug 2026 → Jun 2030 expected Menkes disease Stephen G. Kaler Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT01331122 Apr → Dec 2012 movement disorder Chelsea Therapeutics Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT03070730 Aug 2011 → Dec 2012 postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 1/2 NCT00547911 Oct 2007 → Apr 2013 Parkinson disease, autonomic nervous system disorder, multiple system atrophy National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 29 trials
Phase 2 NCT06937307 May 2025 → Dec 2026 expected acute kidney injury, cirrhosis of liver Giuseppe Cullaro, MD Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT03446807 Dec 2021 → Jul 2023 Parkinson disease, multiple system atrophy, progressive supranuclear palsy Loma Linda University Withdrawn No outcome recorded Stop: Business
Phase 2 NCT03567447 Aug 2018 → Dec 2019 Parkinson disease St. Joseph's Hospital and Medical Center, Phoenix Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT02624310 Jan 2016 → Jan 2019 hereditary sensory and autonomic neuropathy type 4 NYU Langone Health Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT02066571 Mar 2015 → Apr 2017 CGF1, Parkinson disease, primary progressive freezing gait Henry Ford Health System Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT01370512 Nov 2011 → May 2027 expected orthostatic hypotension Mayo Clinic Enrolling by invitation No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT00977171 Jul 2010 → Oct 2011 myalgic encephalomeyelitis/chronic fatigue syndrome, neurally mediated hypotension, orthostatic hypotension Chelsea Therapeutics Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 2 NCT00983814 Oct 2009 → May 2011 attention deficit-hyperactivity disorder Chelsea Therapeutics Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT01323374 Jan 2009 → Oct 2011 fibromyalgia Chelsea Therapeutics Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2/32 trials
Phase 2/3 NCT02071459 Jan 2014 → Oct 2019 multiple system atrophy University Hospital, Toulouse Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2/3 NCT00581477 Jan 2004 → Dec 2020 autonomic nervous system disorder, disorder of catecholamine synthesis, orthostatic hypotension Vanderbilt University Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 34 trials · 1 missed
Phase 3 NCT01612078 Jun 2012 → Feb 2013 orthostatic hypotension TSH Biopharm Corporation Limited Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT01176240 Jun 2010 → Oct 2012 Parkinson disease, orthostatic hypotension Chelsea Therapeutics Completed Mixed
Phase 3 NCT01132326 Jan 2009 → Feb 2013 disorder of catecholamine synthesis, orthostatic hypotension, peripheral neuropathy, pure autonomic failure Chelsea Therapeutics Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT00633880 Jan 2008 → Aug 2009 autonomic nervous system disorder, disorder of catecholamine synthesis, orthostatic hypotension, peripheral neuropathy Chelsea Therapeutics Completed Missed primary
Phase 46 trials · 1 missed
Phase 4 NCT05839652 Jul 2023 → Jun 2026 overdue hypotensive disorder James J. Peters Veterans Affairs Medical Center Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 4 NCT04510922 Feb 2019 → Dec 2020 Parkinson disease, orthostatic hypotension Alberto Espay, MD, MSc Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 4 NCT03229174 Aug 2018 → Feb 2022 Parkinson disease, orthostatic hypotension William Ondo, MD Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 4 NCT03602014 Jun 2018 → Dec 2021 orthostatic hypotension, spinal cord injury James J. Peters Veterans Affairs Medical Center Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 4 NCT03115827 Apr 2017 → Dec 2018 Parkinson disease Vanderbilt University Medical Center Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 4 NCT02586623 Feb 2016 → Jul 2022 orthostatic hypotension H. Lundbeck A/S Completed Missed primary
Phase not applicable2 trials
— NCT03173781 Apr 2016 → Oct 2017 Parkinson disease Colorado Springs Neurological Associates Completed No outcome recorded
— NCT00004478 Mar 1999 → Mar 2006 multiple system atrophy, orthostatic hypotension Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai Completed No outcome recorded
Phase not stated1 trial
— NCT00889135 Sep 2004 → Jun 2015 disorder of catecholamine synthesis Vanderbilt University Approved for marketing No outcome recorded
Comparator or background therapy9 trials
Phase 1 NCT01149629 Comparator Jul → Aug 2010 orthostatic hypotension Chelsea Therapeutics Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT04977388 Comparator Jul 2021 → Oct 2023 Menkes disease, occipital horn syndrome Stephen G. Kaler, MD Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT02812147 Comparator May 2016 → Jun 2019 Parkinson disease St. Joseph's Hospital and Medical Center, Phoenix Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT02558972 Comparator Sep 2015 → Dec 2022 postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome, syncope, familial vasovagal New York Medical College Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 2 NCT00657046 Comparator Dec 2007 → Jan 2009 — Chelsea Therapeutics Completed No outcome recorded

News releases announcing trial results or a regulatory action · 5

DateIssuerRelease
2021-09-28 Lupin Limited Regulatory Lupin Launches Droxidopa Capsules in the United States lupin.com ↗
Global pharma major Lupin Limited (Lupin) today announced the launch of Droxidopa Capsules, 100 mg, 200 mg, and 300 mg, having received an approval from the United States Food and Drug Administration (US FDA).
2021-02-19 Zydus Lifesciences Limited Regulatory Zydus Cadila receives final approval from USFDA for Droxidopa Capsules zyduslife.com ↗
Zydus Cadila has received final approval from the USFDA to market Droxidopa Capsules, 100 mg, 200 mg, and 300 mg (US RLD: Northera Capsules).
2021-02-19 Lupin Limited Regulatory Lupin Receives Approval for Droxidopa Capsules lupin.com ↗
today announced that it has received approval for its Droxidopa Capsules, 100 mg, 200 mg, and 300 mg, from the United States Food and Drug Administration
2020-05-16 Zydus Lifesciences Limited Regulatory Zydus Cadila receives tentative approval from USFDA for Droxidopa Capsules, 100 mg, 200 mg, and 300 mg zyduslife.com ↗
Zydus Cadila has received tentative approval from the USFDA to market Droxidopa Capsules, (US RLD: Northera®) in the strengths of 100 mg, 200 mg, and 300 mg.
2014-02-19 Sumitomo Pharma America, Inc. Regulatory Chelsea Therapeutics Obtains US FDA Accelerated Approval on "NORTHERA" sumitomo-pharma.com ↗
obtained the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) accelerated approval on the agent on February 18, 2014 (U.S. time) for the treatment of neurogenic orthostatic hypotension.

Evidence & citations 9 cited values

Every value below carries the sentence it was read from. 42 sources stand behind the page.

FieldValueCited text
Known as Droxidopa “Twenty-five participants will be asked to visit the laboratory on 6 occasions, for an open-label, dose escalation trial to determine the effect of midodrine and droxidopa on...” NCT05839652 ↗
36

NCT06937307 ↗

NCT01612078 ↗

NCT04977388 ↗

NCT01354158 ↗

NCT01132326 ↗

NCT04510922 ↗

NCT00738062 ↗

NCT01927055 ↗

NCT02066571 ↗

NCT01331122 ↗

Show 26 more sources

Known as DOPS ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL2103827 ↗
Known as L-DOPS “Droxidopa \[also, known as L-threo-3,4-dihydroxyphenylserine, L-threo-DOPS, or L-DOPS\] is the International non-proprietary name (INN) for a synthetic amino acid precursor of...” NCT00782340 ↗
4

“Droxidopa [also, known as L-threo-3,4-dihydroxyphenylserine, L-threo-DOPS, or L-DOPS] is the International non-proprietary name (INN) for a synthetic amino acid precursor of...” NCT00738062 ↗

“Introduction Droxidopa (L-DOPS) is an orally administered, synthetic catecholamine” NCT01468259 ↗

“Droxidopa (L-DOPS)” NCT02624310 ↗

NCT02812147 ↗

Known as L-threo-3,4-dihydroxyphenylserine “Droxidopa \[also, known as L-threo-3,4-dihydroxyphenylserine, L-threo-DOPS, or L-DOPS\] is the International non-proprietary name (INN) for a synthetic amino acid precursor of...” NCT00782340 ↗
3

“Droxidopa [also, known as L-threo-3,4-dihydroxyphenylserine, L-threo-DOPS, or L-DOPS] is the International non-proprietary name (INN) for a synthetic amino acid precursor of...” NCT00738062 ↗

“The drug Droxidopa is a synthetic amino acid L-threo-3,4-dihydroxyphenylserine and can be metabolized by the non-copper dependent enzyme DOPA decarboxylase to produce...” NCT07398508 ↗

“droxidopa [also, known as L-threo-3,4-dihydroxyphenylserine, L-threo-DOPS, or L-DOPS] is the International non-proprietary name (INN) for a synthetic amino acid precursor of...” NCT00633880 ↗

Known as L-threo-DOPS “Droxidopa \[also, known as L-threo-3,4-dihydroxyphenylserine, L-threo-DOPS, or L-DOPS\] is the International non-proprietary name (INN) for a synthetic amino acid precursor of...” NCT00782340 ↗
2

“Droxidopa [also, known as L-threo-3,4-dihydroxyphenylserine, L-threo-DOPS, or L-DOPS] is the International non-proprietary name (INN) for a synthetic amino acid precursor of...” NCT00738062 ↗

NCT02071459 ↗

Known as Northera “Droxidopa (Northera) is an approved drug for the treatment of low blood pressure in PD.” NCT03115827 ↗
4

“Droxidopa 100 MG [Northera]” NCT04510922 ↗

“Northera (Droxidopa)” NCT02558972 ↗

NCT03034564 ↗

NCT03602014 ↗

Action Activate “direct alpha-1 adrenoreceptor agonist” NCT03070730 ↗
Modality Small molecule “a synthetic amino acid precursor of norepinephrine (NE)” NCT00738062 ↗
Route Oral “Droxidopa Oral Product” NCT00581477 ↗