Drugs / Ceritinib
last change Mar 2026 re-read 2 minutes ago

Ceritinib

Small molecule targets ALK, ROS1 via inhibition

Developed for
non-small cell lung carcinoma · cholangiocarcinoma · glioblastoma · melanoma · metastatic malignant neoplasm · pancreatic adenocarcinoma · acute leukemia of ambiguous lineage · acute lymphoblastic leukemia
+19 more · ALK-positive anaplastic large cell lymphoma · anaplastic large cell lymphoma · cancer · colorectal adenocarcinoma · cutaneous melanoma · esophageal adenocarcinoma · gastric adenocarcinoma · hematopoietic and lymphoid system neoplasm · hepatocellular carcinoma · inflammatory myofibroblastic tumor · lung adenocarcinoma · lung cancer · metastatic malignant neoplasm in the brain · neoplastic disease or syndrome · neuroblastoma · pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma · soft tissue sarcoma · squamous cell lung carcinoma · thyroid gland undifferentiated (anaplastic) carcinoma
Investigated by
Novartis Pharmaceuticals · Novartis · National Cancer Institute (NCI) · H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute · University of California, San Francisco · University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
+43 more · University of Washington · Yonsei University · Anne Beaven, MD · Criterium, Inc. · EUCLID Clinical Trial Platform · Foundation Medicine · French Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission · French National Institute of Health and Medical Research · Haukeland University Hospital · Helse Fonna · Helse Forde · Helse Møre og Romsdal HF · Helse Nord-Trøndelag HF · Helse Stavanger HF · Hospital of Southern Norway Trust · Innlandet Hospital Trust · Institut Bergonié · Lovisenberg Diakonale Hospital · M.D. Anderson Cancer Center · Melanoma Institute Australia · NRG Oncology · National Cheng-Kung University Hospital · National Health Research Institutes, Taiwan · National Taiwan University Hospital · Nordland Hospital · Oslo University Hospital · Ostfold Hospital Trust · Plateforme labellisée Inca - Hôpital Européen Georges Pompidou, Paris · Plateforme labellisée Inca - Institut Bergonié, Bordeaux · Roswell Park Cancer Institute · St. Joseph's Hospital and Medical Center, Phoenix · St. Olavs Hospital · Sykehuset Telemark · The Hospital of Vestfold · Translational Genomics Research Institute · University Health Network, Toronto · University Hospital of North Norway · University Hospital, Akershus · University of California, Davis · University of Colorado, Denver · Vestre Viken Hospital Trust · Wayne State University · Yael P Mosse

Regulatory milestones approvals, filings & regulatory actions · 4 recorded

MilestoneJurisdictionBrandIndicationDateSentence it was read from
Label expansions (2) US (FDA) ZYKADIA 2017-05-26 – 2017-12-21 fda.gov
Approved EU (EMA) Zykadia 2015-05-06 europa.eu
Approved US (FDA) ZYKADIA 2014-04-29 fda.gov

Trials 43 · a red edge is where a trial was stopped

PhaseRegistry idDatesIndicationSponsorStatusOutcome
Phase 01 trial
Phase 0 NCT02605746 Feb 2016 → Nov 2018 glioblastoma, metastatic malignant neoplasm in the brain St. Joseph's Hospital and Medical Center, Phoenix Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 115 trials
Phase 1 NCT03611738 Feb 2019 → Apr 2025 overdue non-small cell lung carcinoma H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT03501368 Jun 2018 → Oct 2022 melanoma H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT03087448 Sep 2017 → Apr 2022 non-small cell lung carcinoma University of California, San Francisco Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT02780128 Jul 2016 → Aug 2022 cancer, neuroblastoma Yael P Mosse Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT02321501 Jun 2016 → Dec 2026 expected metastatic malignant neoplasm, non-small cell lung carcinoma M.D. Anderson Cancer Center Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT02422589 Oct 2015 → Dec 2017 Novartis Pharmaceuticals Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT02393625 May 2015 → Apr 2027 expected non-small cell lung carcinoma Novartis Pharmaceuticals Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT02292550 May 2015 → Sep 2018 non-small cell lung carcinoma Novartis Pharmaceuticals Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT02299505 Apr 2015 → Jun 2016 non-small cell lung carcinoma Novartis Pharmaceuticals Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT02227940 Jan 2015 → Dec 2018 pancreatic adenocarcinoma Roswell Park Cancer Institute Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1/22 trials
Phase 1/2 NCT02729961 Jan 2018 → Jul 2023 ALK-positive anaplastic large cell lymphoma University of Washington Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT02040870 Mar 2014 → Jul 2017 non-small cell lung carcinoma Novartis Pharmaceuticals Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 219 trials
Phase 2 NCT06813079 Apr 2025 → Feb 2028 expected pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma University Health Network, Toronto Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT02645149 Nov 2021 → Nov 2025 melanoma Melanoma Institute Australia Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT04817956 Apr 2021 → Mar 2040 expected metastatic malignant neoplasm Oslo University Hospital Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT03737994 Jul 2019 → Jul 2021 non-small cell lung carcinoma National Cancer Institute (NCI) Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT03399487 Jul 2018 → May 2020 lung cancer Yonsei University Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT02465528 May 2016 → Aug 2018 anaplastic large cell lymphoma, glioblastoma, inflammatory myofibroblastic tumor Novartis Pharmaceuticals Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT02638909 Dec 2015 → Mar 2018 cholangiocarcinoma, colorectal adenocarcinoma, esophageal adenocarcinoma, gastric adenocarcinoma +2 Criterium, Inc. Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT02513667 Nov 2015 → May 2020 non-small cell lung carcinoma University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT02450903 Aug 2015 → Jul 2017 non-small cell lung carcinoma Novartis Pharmaceuticals Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT02289144 Jun 2015 → Jan 2019 thyroid gland undifferentiated (anaplastic) carcinoma University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 33 trials
Phase 3 NCT03784014 Oct 2019 → Dec 2023 soft tissue sarcoma French National Institute of Health and Medical Research Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT01828099 Jul 2013 → Jun 2016 non-small cell lung carcinoma Novartis Pharmaceuticals Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT01828112 Jun 2013 → Jan 2016 non-small cell lung carcinoma Novartis Pharmaceuticals Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 41 trial
Phase 4 NCT02584933 Dec 2015 → Jun 2027 expected neoplastic disease or syndrome Novartis Pharmaceuticals Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase not applicable1 trial
NCT02551718 Sep 2015 → Jun 2020 acute leukemia of ambiguous lineage, acute lymphoblastic leukemia University of Washington Completed No outcome recorded
Phase not stated1 trial
NCT01947608 non-small cell lung carcinoma Novartis Pharmaceuticals No longer available No outcome recorded
Also used as a comparator or background therapy in 3 trials
PhaseRegistry idDatesIndicationSponsorStatusOutcome
Phase 21 trial
Phase 2 NCT02559778 Comparator Sep 2015 → Sep 2030 expected neuroblastoma Giselle Sholler Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 41 trial
Phase 4 NCT04356118 Background Jun 2020 → Jun 2023 malignant leptomeningeal tumor Hui Bu Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase not stated1 trial
NCT05100134 Background non-small cell lung carcinoma Novartis Pharmaceuticals No longer available No outcome recorded

Press releases naming this drug 10 releases

DateIssuerRelease
2017-06-29 Novartis Pharmaceuticals Novartis receives EU approval for first-line use of Zykadia® in ALK-positive advanced non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) novartis.com
2017-05-26 Novartis Pharmaceuticals Novartis receives FDA approval for expanded use of Zykadia® in first-line ALK-positive metastatic non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) novartis.com
2017-05-19 Novartis Pharmaceuticals Novartis receives positive CHMP opinion for first-line use of Zykadia® in ALK-positive advanced non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) novartis.com
2017-02-23 Novartis Pharmaceuticals Novartis drug Zykadia receives FDA Priority Review for first-line use in patients with ALK+ metastatic NSCLC novartis.com
2016-12-06 Novartis Pharmaceuticals Novartis announces Zykadia® first-line study results showing 16.6 month progression-free survival in patients with ALK+ advanced NSCLC novartis.com
2016-10-09 Novartis Pharmaceuticals Novartis ALK+ metastatic NSCLC therapy Zykadia® extends progression-free survival beyond 18 months in Phase II study novartis.com
2016-09-23 Novartis Pharmaceuticals Novartis announces positive top-line results from ASCEND-4, a Phase III trial of Zykadia® in untreated adult ALK+ NSCLC patients novartis.com
2015-06-01 Novartis Pharmaceuticals Novartis presents new data at ASCO for Zykadia® and combination of Tafinlar® and Mekinist® in certain NSCLC patients with unmet needs novartis.com
2015-05-08 Novartis Pharmaceuticals Novartis lung cancer drug Zykadia® gains EU approval, providing new therapy for certain patients with ALK+ NSCLC novartis.com
2015-02-27 Novartis Pharmaceuticals Novartis lung cancer drug Zykadia® recommended for EU approval in patients with ALK+ NSCLC previously treated with crizotinib novartis.com

Evidence & citations 13 cited values

Every value below carries the sentence it was read from. 49 sources stand behind the page.

FieldValueCited text
Known as ceritinib Ceritinib (LDK378) is a new ALK inhibitor that has shown greater antitumor potency than crizotinib in preclinical studies.” PMID 24670165 Mar 2014
35

“After disease progression with ASP3026 treatment, LDK378 (ceritinib) was initiated at a dose of 750mg once daily.” PMID 27565932 Jul 2016

“ALK ROS1 Mutation:Crizotinib,Ceritinib,Alectinib” NCT04356118

“Carfilzomib Ceritinib Cladribine” NCT02551718

“LDK378(Ceritinib)” NCT03399487

“ALK - CeritinibNCT02645149

CeritinibNCT04817956

NCT02638909

NCT02393625

NCT01742286

NCT02584933

NCT01828112

NCT03611738

NCT03087448

NCT02299505

NCT02321501

NCT01828099

NCT02422589

NCT02587650

NCT03501368

NCT02186821

NCT02227940

NCT02336451

NCT02729961

NCT03784014

NCT06813079

NCT02605746

NCT02513667

NCT03737994

NCT05100134

NCT02292550

NCT02465528

NCT02559778

NCT02343679

NCT02780128

NCT02289144

Known as CERITINIB (LDK378) ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL2403108
Known as ceritinib(Zykadia) ceritinib(Zykadia)NCT02374489
Known as CERITINIB[MI] ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL2403108
Known as CPD 15 ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL2403108
Known as LDK378 “Ceritinib (LDK378) for Patients Whose Tumors Have Aberrations in ALK or ROS1 (SIGNATURE)” NCT02186821
16

“Preoperative Ceritinib (LDK378) in Glioblastoma Multiforme and CNS Metastasis” NCT02605746

“Drug: Ceritinib (LDK378)” NCT02393625

“Ceritinib (LDK378)” NCT02465528

NCT01947608

NCT02374489

NCT01283516

NCT02276027

NCT02450903

NCT01634763

NCT01772797

NCT02040870

NCT03399487

NCT01685060

NCT01964157

NCT01950481

NCT01685138

Known as LKD378 “This study is being done to learn about a new drug, Ceritinib (LKD378).” NCT02605746
Known as NVP-LDK-378-NX ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL2403108
Known as ZYKADIA “The main purpose of this study is to determine the risks and benefits of ceritinib (ZYKADIA) given in combination with trametinib (MEKINIST) in patients who have progressed on...” NCT03501368
Action Inhibit “LDK378 is a selective and a potent inhibitor of anaplastic lymphoma kinase (ALK) activity” NCT01283516
Modality Small molecule “ceritinib (novel, potent and selective small molecule anaplastic lymphoma kinase [ALK] inhibitor)” NCT02321501
Route Oral “is administered orally.” NCT01283516
Target ALK “LDK378 is a selective and a potent inhibitor of anaplastic lymphoma kinase (ALK) activity” NCT01283516