Drugs / Ramucirumab
last change 11 days ago re-read 8 days ago

Ramucirumab

also known as IMC-1121B · CYRAMZA · RAM · 1121B · LY3009806

Monoclonal antibody targets KDR

Developed for
non-small cell lung carcinoma · gastroesophageal junction adenocarcinoma · gastric adenocarcinoma · gastric cancer · hepatocellular carcinoma · cancer · gastroesophageal cancer · colorectal cancer
+45 more · adenocarcinoma · breast cancer · esophageal adenocarcinoma · gastric neoplasm · biliary tract cancer · colorectal carcinoma · esophageal cancer · gastroesophageal adenocarcinoma · head and neck squamous cell carcinoma · malignant pancreatic neoplasm · metastatic malignant neoplasm · neoplasm · renal cell carcinoma · thymic carcinoma · transitional cell carcinoma · urothelial carcinoma · adult glioblastoma · cancer of unknown primary site · carcinoid tumor · carcinoma of esophagus · carcinoma of urethra · central nervous system cancer · childhood malignant neoplasm · colon carcinoma · desmoplastic small round cell tumor · esophageal squamous cell carcinoma · fallopian tube carcinoma · gallbladder carcinoma · gastric carcinoma · intrahepatic cholangiocarcinoma · malignant mesothelioma · mantle cell lymphoma · mesothelioma · metastatic melanoma · ovarian carcinoma · pancreatic adenocarcinoma · primary peritoneal carcinoma · prostate cancer · rectal carcinoma · renal pelvis carcinoma · small intestine adenocarcinoma · synovial sarcoma · thymoma · ureter carcinoma · digestive system carcinoma
Investigated by
Eli Lilly and Company · National Cancer Institute (NCI) · Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC · AstraZeneca · SWOG Cancer Research Network · Washington University School of Medicine
+71 more · Bristol-Myers Squibb · Institut für Klinische Krebsforschung IKF GmbH at Krankenhaus Nordwest · Clovis Oncology, Inc. · Celgene Corporation · Daiichi Sankyo · M.D. Anderson Cancer Center · Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center · Samsung Medical Center · Sanofi · The First Affiliated Hospital with Nanjing Medical University · Tianjin Medical University Cancer Institute and Hospital · Trium Analysis Online GmbH · Yonsei University · AbbVie · Abramson Cancer Center at Penn Medicine · Academic and Community Cancer Research United · Arkadiusz Z. Dudek, MD · Basilea Pharmaceutica · Baylor Research Institute · CSPC Pharmaceutical Group Limited · Chang Gung Memorial Hospital · Chia Tai Tianqing Pharmaceutical Group Co., Ltd. · Children's Oncology Group · China Medical University Hospital · Claudia Proto · Dana-Farber Cancer Institute · Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group · Elevation Oncology · Emory University · Exelixis · Federation Francophone de Cancerologie Digestive · Fiverings Co., Ltd. · Fondazione IRCCS Istituto Nazionale dei Tumori, Milano · Fox Chase Cancer Center · Fudan University · GlaxoSmithKline · H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute · Harry H Yoon · HealthPartners Institute Regions Cancer Care Center · Hellenic Cooperative Oncology Group · Hoosier Cancer Research Network · ImmunityBio, Inc. · Imugene Limited · Innovent Biologics (Suzhou) Co. Ltd. · Ipsen · Italian Oncology Group for Clinical Research · Kaohsiung Medical University Chung-Ho Memorial Hospital · Korean South West Oncology Group · Liza Villaruz, MD · Masahiro Tsuboi · Mayo Clinic · MedImmune LLC · National Cancer Center, Japan · National Cheng-Kung University Hospital · National Health Research Institutes, Taiwan · Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center · Ono Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. · P. C. Thuss-Patience · Parexel · ROGER S KERESZTES MD · Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust · SCRI Development Innovations, LLC · Second Affiliated Hospital of Guangzhou Medical University · Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins · Taipei Veterans General Hospital, Taiwan · University of Chicago · University of Kansas Medical Center · University of Southern California · Walid Shaib, MD · Yale University · Yang Jianjun, PhD

Regulatory milestones approvals, filings & regulatory actions · 17 recorded

MilestoneJurisdictionBrandIndicationDateSentence it was read from
Filed gastroesophageal adenocarcinoma 3 milestones
Filed Japan (PMDA) Cyramza gastroesophageal adenocarcinoma 2014-10-23

“The company has also submitted Cyramza for the treatment of second line gastric cancer in Japan and was granted priority review.” lilly.com ↗

Filed US (FDA) — gastroesophageal adenocarcinoma 2013-10-03

“U.S. and EU regulatory submissions completed for ramucirumab as a single-agent treatment for patients with advanced gastric cancer” lilly.com ↗

“The U.S. rolling submission was completed for ramucirumab as a single-agent treatment for patients with advanced gastric cancer” lilly.com ↗

Filed EU (EMA) — gastroesophageal adenocarcinoma 2013-10-03

“U.S. and EU regulatory submissions completed for ramucirumab as a single-agent treatment for patients with advanced gastric cancer” lilly.com ↗

“A submission for ramucirumab for the same indication was also made in Europe.” lilly.com ↗

Filed hepatocellular carcinoma 4 milestones
Filed US (FDA) CYRAMZA hepatocellular carcinoma —

“Lilly has made regulatory submissions in the U.S., EU and Japan for the use of CYRAMZA in second-line treatment of patients with hepatocellular carcinoma.” lilly.com ↗

Filed Japan (PMDA) CYRAMZA hepatocellular carcinoma —

“Lilly has made regulatory submissions in the U.S., EU and Japan for the use of CYRAMZA in second-line treatment of patients with hepatocellular carcinoma.” lilly.com ↗

Filed China (NMPA) Cyramza hepatocellular carcinoma —

“for Cyramza® (ramucirumab) as second-line treatment in patients with HCC with baseline alpha-fetoprotein (AFP) ≥400ng/mL following first-line sorafenib was accepted by NMPA in...” innoventbio.com ↗

Filed EU (EMA) CYRAMZA hepatocellular carcinoma —

“Lilly has made regulatory submissions in the U.S., EU and Japan for the use of CYRAMZA in second-line treatment of patients with hepatocellular carcinoma.” lilly.com ↗

Filed non-small cell lung carcinoma 2 milestones
Filed US (FDA) Cyramza non-small cell lung carcinoma 2014-10-23

“Last year, Lilly made a U.S. regulatory submission based on the RELAY intent-to-treat (ITT) patient population” lilly.com ↗

“The company submitted Cyramza to the FDA as a treatment for second-line non-small cell lung cancer.” lilly.com ↗

Filed Japan (PMDA) CYRAMZA non-small cell lung carcinoma —

“Lilly has made a submission in Japan with regulatory action expected by the end of 2020.” lilly.com ↗

Approved Indication not stated 3 milestones
Label expansions (6) US (FDA) CYRAMZA — 2014-11-05 – 2025-04-07 fda.gov ↗
Approved EU (EMA) Cyramza — 2014-12-19 europa.eu ↗
Approved US (FDA) CYRAMZA — 2014-04-21 fda.gov ↗

Trials 134 · started per year

today
US approved 2014
EU approved 2014
1
1
2
4
5
9
7
5
1
3
15
13
4
6
12
16
9
2
6
8
2
1
200520062007200820092010201120122013201420152016201720182019202020212022202320242025202620272028
PhaseRegistry idDatesIndicationSponsorStatusOutcome
Phase 121 trials
Phase 1 NCT05856864 Jun → Jul 2024 hepatocellular carcinoma Tianjin Medical University Cancer Institute and Hospital Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT05980416 Aug 2023 → May 2025 gastric neoplasm Elevation Oncology Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Business
Phase 1 NCT04557384 Feb → May 2021 neoplasm Eli Lilly and Company Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT05800418 Nov 2019 → Feb 2020 colorectal cancer, gastric cancer, non-small cell lung carcinoma Chia Tai Tianqing Pharmaceutical Group Co., Ltd. Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT02789345 Oct 2016 → Oct 2017 non-small cell lung carcinoma Eli Lilly and Company Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT02745769 Oct 2016 → Nov 2018 colorectal cancer, mantle cell lymphoma Eli Lilly and Company Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT02791334 Jun 2016 → May 2020 cutaneous melanoma, hormone receptor-positive breast cancer, malignant pancreatic neoplasm Eli Lilly and Company Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT02572687 Feb 2016 → Mar 2018 gastric cancer, gastroesophageal junction adenocarcinoma, hepatocellular carcinoma, non-small cell lung carcinoma Eli Lilly and Company Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT02564198 Dec 2015 → Jul 2019 central nervous system cancer, childhood malignant neoplasm Eli Lilly and Company Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT02597036 Nov 2015 → Nov 2017 cancer Eli Lilly and Company Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 1/218 trials · 2 missed
Phase 1/2 NCT06996782 Nov 2025 → Feb 2029 expected non-small cell lung carcinoma AstraZeneca Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT06445972 Aug 2024 → May 2028 expected esophageal cancer, gastroesophageal adenocarcinoma, gastroesophageal junction adenocarcinoma Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT05927857 Apr 2024 → Dec 2027 expected gastric adenocarcinoma National Health Research Institutes, Taiwan Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT05894824 Feb 2024 → Dec 2025 overdue gastric cancer, gastroesophageal junction adenocarcinoma Yonsei University Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT06007937 Aug 2023 → Aug 2028 expected metastatic malignant neoplasm, non-small cell lung carcinoma Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT04921904 Jun 2021 → Dec 2024 esophageal adenocarcinoma, gastroesophageal junction adenocarcinoma Baylor Research Institute Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT04151563 Apr 2021 → Dec 2023 non-small cell lung carcinoma Bristol-Myers Squibb Withdrawn No outcome recorded Stop: Business
Phase 1/2 NCT04604132 Oct 2020 → Nov 2022 gastric adenocarcinoma Basilea Pharmaceutica Terminated No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT03739801 Apr 2020 → Apr 2022 gastric adenocarcinoma, gastroesophageal junction adenocarcinoma University of Southern California Withdrawn No outcome recorded
Phase 1/2 NCT04145700 Mar 2020 → Feb 2023 synovial sarcoma Eli Lilly and Company Terminated Missed primary
Phase 275 trials · 4 met primary · 13 missed
Phase 2 NCT07669740 Jul 2026 → Jun 2027 expected gastric cancer The First Affiliated Hospital with Nanjing Medical University Not yet recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT07098338 Aug 2025 → Apr 2029 expected non-small cell lung carcinoma AstraZeneca Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT06448754 Aug 2024 → Jul 2027 expected non-small cell lung carcinoma AstraZeneca Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT06031688 Aug 2024 → May 2028 expected non-small cell lung carcinoma SWOG Cancer Research Network Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT06564298 Aug 2024 → Dec 2025 overdue gastric cancer The First Affiliated Hospital with Nanjing Medical University Not yet recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT06441019 Jul 2024 → May 2025 hepatocellular carcinoma Fudan University Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT05980000 Oct 2023 → Jun 2027 expected head and neck squamous cell carcinoma Washington University School of Medicine Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT05642572 May 2023 → Jun 2027 expected non-small cell lung carcinoma SWOG Cancer Research Network Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT05942573 Dec 2022 → Oct 2023 gastroesophageal cancer Tianjin Medical University Cancer Institute and Hospital Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase 2 NCT05311176 Aug 2022 → Apr 2024 gastric adenocarcinoma, gastroesophageal junction adenocarcinoma Imugene Limited Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 2/31 trial · 1 missed
Phase 2/3 NCT02661971 Jun 2016 → Dec 2021 gastric cancer, gastroesophageal cancer Institut für Klinische Krebsforschung IKF GmbH at Krankenhaus Nordwest Completed Missed primary
Phase 315 trials · 9 met primary · 2 missed
Phase 3 NCT05633602 Mar 2023 → Nov 2025 overdue non-small cell lung carcinoma SWOG Cancer Research Network Active not recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT04675983 Mar 2021 → Feb 2023 gastric adenocarcinoma Innovent Biologics (Suzhou) Co. Ltd. Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Business
Phase 3 NCT03520946 Jan 2019 → Jul 2024 colorectal cancer Institut für Klinische Krebsforschung IKF GmbH at Krankenhaus Nordwest Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT02898077 Mar 2017 → Jun 2020 gastric adenocarcinoma, gastroesophageal junction adenocarcinoma Eli Lilly and Company Completed No outcome recorded
Phase 3 NCT02934464 Dec 2016 → Dec 2021 gastric neoplasm Fondazione IRCCS Istituto Nazionale dei Tumori, Milano Unknown Met primary
Phase 3 NCT02435433 Jul 2015 → Mar 2018 hepatocellular carcinoma Eli Lilly and Company Completed Met primary
Phase 3 NCT02426125 Jul 2015 → Apr 2017 urothelial carcinoma Eli Lilly and Company Completed Met primary
Phase 3 NCT02411448 May 2015 → Jan 2019 overdue non-small cell lung carcinoma Eli Lilly and Company Active not recruiting Met primary
Phase 3 NCT02314117 Jan 2015 → Jan 2017 gastric adenocarcinoma, gastroesophageal junction adenocarcinoma Eli Lilly and Company Completed Met primary
Phase 3 NCT01183780 Dec 2010 → Jul 2014 colorectal cancer Eli Lilly and Company Completed Met primary
Phase 41 trial
Phase 4 NCT06169410 Dec 2023 → Dec 2025 gastric cancer Yang Jianjun, PhD Unknown No outcome recorded
Phase not applicable1 trial · 1 met primary
— NCT04517747 Oct 2020 → Jan 2022 gastric adenocarcinoma, gastroesophageal junction adenocarcinoma Institut für Klinische Krebsforschung IKF GmbH at Krankenhaus Nordwest Completed Met primary
Phase not stated2 trials
— NCT02065765 — gastric cancer, gastroesophageal junction adenocarcinoma Eli Lilly and Company Approved for marketing No outcome recorded
— NCT02307812 — gastric cancer, gastroesophageal junction adenocarcinoma Eli Lilly and Company Approved for marketing No outcome recorded
Comparator or background therapy39 trials
Phase 1 NCT07594548 Background Sep 2027 → Sep 2030 expected esophageal adenocarcinoma, gastric adenocarcinoma, gastroesophageal junction adenocarcinoma Northwestern University Not yet recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT06675136 Background Oct 2025 → Jan 2029 expected gastric adenocarcinoma, peritoneum cancer City of Hope Medical Center Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT05365581 Background Jun 2022 → May 2028 expected gastric adenocarcinoma, gastroesophageal junction adenocarcinoma, pancreatic adenocarcinoma Astellas Pharma Global Development, Inc. Recruiting No outcome recorded
Phase 1 NCT05062980 Comparator Mar 2022 → Feb 2025 non-small cell lung carcinoma Genprex, Inc. Terminated No outcome recorded Stop: Enrollment
Phase 1 NCT06542731 Background Jun 2021 → Sep 2026 overdue non-small cell lung carcinoma Ono Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. Active not recruiting No outcome recorded

News releases announcing trial results or a regulatory action · 39

DateIssuerRelease
2026-09-18 HanchorBio Inc. Results HanchorBio to Present Five Clinical Abstracts at CSCO 2026 hanchorbio.com ↗
Among 15 efficacy-evaluable patients, the overall objective response rate (ORR) was 60%, highlighted by an 80% ORR in the 5.12–8 mg/kg mid-dose cohorts with a maximum tumor reduction of −78.2%.
2026-06-30 HanchorBio Inc. Results HanchorBio Showcases HCB101 Myeloid-Enhancer Strategy in Gastric Cancer and HNSCC at JCA-AACR 2026 hanchorbio.com ↗
Across 15 efficacy-evaluable patients, dose-related antitumor activity was observed, including an 80% objective response rate in the mid-dose cohorts and a disease control rate of 93.3% across the overall cohort.
2026-06-10 HanchorBio Inc. Results HanchorBio Presents Late-Breaking Data at FOCIS 2026 Supporting Innate-Immune Product Engine Across Oncology and Autoimmune Disease hanchorbio.com ↗
HCB101 combined with ramucirumab and paclitaxel achieved an overall objective response rate (ORR) of 57.1%
2026-03-05 HanchorBio Inc. Results HanchorBio Presents Dose-Dependent Tumor Responses and Deepening Tumor Shrinkage with HCB101 Triple Combination in Second-Line Gastric Cancer at the 11th Asia-Pacific Gastroesophageal Cancer Congress hanchorbio.com ↗
The poster highlights early findings supporting dose-dependent antitumor activity of HCB101 in combination with ramucirumab and paclitaxel in patients with advanced gastric adenocarcinoma who progressed after first-line therapy.
2026-01-09 HanchorBio Inc. Results HanchorBio Reports High Objective Response Rate with HCB101 Combination in Second-Line Gastric Cancer Following ASCO-GI 2026 Poster Presentation hanchorbio.com ↗
HanchorBio, Inc. (TPEx: 7827), a global clinical-stage biotechnology company advancing next-generation immunotherapies for oncology and autoimmune diseases, today reported updated clinical data from its ongoing Phase Ib/IIa study evaluating HCB101 in combination with ramucirumab and paclitaxel in patients with previously treated gastric cancer.
2025-01-22 Agenus Inc. Results Agenus Presents Data at ASCO GI Demonstrating Impact of BOT/BAL in Colorectal Cancer Across Neoadjuvant and Advanced Disease agenusbio.com ↗
The novel approach demonstrated early signals of activity and tolerability in the second-line treatment setting
2022-10-10 Innovent Biologics (Suzhou) Co. Ltd. Regulatory The China NMPA Approved CYRAMZA® (ramucirumab) for the Treatment in Patients with Hepatocellular Carcinoma innoventbio.com ↗
the National Medical Products Administration (NMPA) of China has approved the supplemental New Drug Application (sNDA) for CYRAMZA® (ramucirumab)
2020-05-29 Eli Lilly and Company Regulatory Lilly's CYRAMZA® (ramucirumab) Receives FDA Approval as First-Line Treatment for Metastatic EGFR-Mutated Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer lilly.com ↗
With this approval, CYRAMZA has now received six FDA approvals to treat certain types of lung, liver, stomach and colorectal cancers.
2020-02-26 Eli Lilly and Company Regulatory FDA Advisory Committee Votes in Favor of Lilly's CYRAMZA® (ramucirumab) as First-Line Treatment for Metastatic EGFR-Mutated Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer lilly.com ↗
2019-12-13 Eli Lilly and Company Regulatory CHMP Issues Positive Opinion to Expand CYRAMZA® (ramucirumab) Label to Include Results from RELAY Study in Patients with Metastatic EGFR-Mutated Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer lilly.com ↗
The Committee agreed that the label should include an indication for CYRAMZA in combination with erlotinib for the first-line treatment of adult patients with metastatic non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) with activating epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) mutations.
2019-10-07 Eli Lilly and Company Results Lilly's CYRAMZA® (ramucirumab) Phase 3 Data in First-Line EGFR-Mutated Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer Published in The Lancet Oncology lilly.com ↗
The CYRAMZA-erlotinib combination achieved a median PFS of 19.4 months, corresponding to a seven-month improvement over erlotinib alone.
2019-05-13 Eli Lilly and Company Regulatory Lilly's CYRAMZA® (ramucirumab) Becomes First FDA-Approved Biomarker-Driven Therapy in Patients with Hepatocellular Carcinoma lilly.com ↗
Eli Lilly and Company (NYSE: LLY) today announced that the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has approved CYRAMZA® (ramucirumab injection, 10 mg/mL solution), as a single agent, for the treatment of patients with hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) who have an alpha-fetoprotein (AFP) of ≥400 ng/mL and have been treated with sorafenib.

All press releases naming this drug 41 releases

DateIssuerRelease

Evidence & citations 10 cited values

Every value below carries the sentence it was read from. 179 sources stand behind the page.

FieldValueCited text
Known as ramucirumab “Ramucirumab is a fully human immunoglobulin G1 monoclonal antibody receptor antagonist designed to block the ligand-binding site of vascular endothelial growth factor...” PMID 25787923 ↗ Mar 2015
167

“Immunotherapy, with agents including but not limited to ramucirumab, pembrolizumab, camrelizumab, and tislelizumab.” NCT07691645 ↗

“Biological/Vaccine Ramucirumab 947687-13-0” NCT05045404 ↗

“Drug: Ramucirumab” NCT03872947 ↗

NCT00735696 ↗

NCT04517747 ↗

NCT01234402 ↗

NCT01168973 ↗

NCT03739801 ↗

NCT04145700 ↗

NCT04557384 ↗

Show 157 more sources

Known as 1121B ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1743062 ↗
Known as CYRAMZA “healthy volunters receive Cyramza (Ramucirumab) 8mg/kg once” NCT03863587 ↗
2

“Ramucirumab 10 MG/ML Intravenous Solution [CYRAMZA]” NCT03686488 ↗

“Ramucirumab (CYRAMZA®)” NCT05071053 ↗

Known as IMC-1121B “ramucirumab (IMC-1121B)” NCT01515306 ↗
7

“Ramucirumab (IMC-1121B)” NCT01427933 ↗

NCT00786383 ↗

NCT01017731 ↗

NCT00793975 ↗

NCT01005355 ↗

NCT00862784 ↗

NCT00683475 ↗

Known as LY3009806 ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1743062 ↗
Known as RAM “Icrucumab (ICR) and ramucirumab (RAM) bind vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF) receptors 1 and 2 (VEGFR-1 and -2), respectively.” PMID 28220020 ↗ Feb 2017
2

“Ramucirumab (RAM) is a VEGFR2 monoclonal antibody.” PMID 37268519 ↗ Mar 2023

“ramucirumab (RAM)” NCT07546812 ↗

Action Inhibit “Ramucirumab is a human immunoglobulin G1 antibody that binds vascular endothelial growth factor receptor-2 and blocks ligand-stimulated activation.” PMID 25185099 ↗ Sep 2014
Modality Monoclonal antibody “a fully human monoclonal antibody targeting the vascular endothelial growth factor receptor-2” PMID 24930625 ↗ Jun 2014
Route Intravenous “administered as an intravenous infusion” NCT00515697 ↗
Target KDR “targeting the vascular endothelial growth factor receptor-2 in patients with advanced solid tumors.” PMID 25787923 ↗ Mar 2015