sodium bicarbonate
Regulatory milestones approvals, filings & regulatory actions · 1 recorded
| Milestone | Jurisdiction | Brand | Indication | Date | Sentence it was read from |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Approved | US (FDA) | BSS PLUS | — | 1981-10-28 | fda.gov ↗ |
Trials 129 · started per year
| Phase | Registry id | Dates | Indication | Sponsor | Status | Outcome |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phase 06 trials | ||||||
| Phase 0 | NCT04600323 | Feb 2021 → Aug 2023 | chronic kidney disease, cognitive disorder, metabolic acidosis | University of Colorado, Denver | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 0 | NCT04321161 | Feb → Mar 2020 | acute myeloid leukemia | University of Freiburg | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 0 | NCT03822130 | Feb 2019 → Dec 2020 | gastric cancer | Second Affiliated Hospital, School of Medicine, Zhejiang University | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 0 | NCT03330704 | Nov 2017 → Jan 2020 | brain edema | Stanford University | Withdrawn | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 0 | NCT03057535 | May 2015 → Apr 2016 | — | McGill University | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 0 | NCT01225796 | Nov 2010 → Nov 2012 | — | University of Utah | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 112 trials | ||||||
| Phase 1 | NCT06335537 | May 2025 → Jul 2026 overdue | urolithiasis | University of California, Irvine | Recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 1 | NCT06292091 | Feb → Mar 2024 | hypertensive disorder | Seoul National University Hospital | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 1 | NCT06186622 | Jan → Jul 2024 | obesity disorder | Eli Lilly and Company | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 1 | NCT02427594 | Apr 2015 → Aug 2017 | chronic kidney disease | Duke University | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 1 | NCT03391414 | Aug 2014 → Jul 2016 | cystic fibrosis | Joseph Pilewski | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 1 | NCT02710994 | May → Aug 2014 | gastric ulcer, gastroesophageal reflux disease | Ajou University School of Medicine | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 1 | NCT01846429 | Sep 2013 → Dec 2014 | metastatic malignant neoplasm, plasma cell myeloma | H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute | Terminated | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 1 | NCT02531919 | Aug 2013 → Nov 2014 | cancer | University of Arizona | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 1 | NCT01894594 | Jun 2013 → Mar 2019 | chronic kidney disease, metabolic acidosis, sickle cell disease | University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center | Terminated | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 1 | NCT01337804 | Jan 2011 | dyspepsia | Bayer | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 1 | NCT01219322 | Oct 2010 → Jun 2011 | — | Sheba Medical Center | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 1 | NCT01198821 | Aug 2010 → Jun 2011 | malignant pancreatic neoplasm | H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 1/22 trials | ||||||
| Phase 1/2 | NCT07408076 | Feb → Aug 2026 overdue | nephrolithiasis | University of California, Los Angeles | Not yet recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 1/2 | NCT06661902 | Jan 2025 → Jan 2026 | prostate cancer | University of Washington | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 213 trials | ||||||
| Phase 2 | NCT04984226 | Sep 2023 → Dec 2026 expected | chronic kidney disease, diabetes mellitus, metabolic acidosis | University of California, Davis | Recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT05813535 | Dec 2022 → Mar 2025 | chronic intestinal failure | Riad Rahhal | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT05928936 | Nov 2022 → Jun 2028 expected | chronic kidney disease | Emory University | Recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT03348826 | Jun → Sep 2020 | cancer | University Health Network, Toronto | Withdrawn | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT03343080 | Jul → Oct 2018 | heart disorder | Mayo Clinic | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT02303548 | Oct 2014 → Feb 2016 | cardiac arrest, metabolic acidosis | Asan Medical Center | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT02207400 | Aug 2014 → Feb 2015 | — | GlaxoSmithKline | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT02207907 | Aug 2014 → Feb 2015 | — | GlaxoSmithKline | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT02046135 | Sep 2013 → Jun 2017 | acute kidney injury, congenital heart disease | Northwell Health | Terminated | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT01405768 | Jul 2011 → Oct 2012 | dysplasia of cervix | Washington University School of Medicine | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT00392405 | Nov 2006 → ? | acute tubulointerstitial nephritis | Norton Community Hospital | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT00334191 | Jun 2006 | — | Austin Health | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT00317070 | Apr 2006 → Feb 2009 | interstitial cystitis | Nova Scotia Health Authority | Terminated | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2/313 trials | ||||||
| Phase 2/3 | NCT07231900 | Nov 2025 → Dec 2027 expected | hypertensive disorder | Assaf-Harofeh Medical Center | Not yet recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2/3 | NCT06999993 | Jun 2025 → May 2026 overdue | — | Misr University for Science and Technology | Active not recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2/3 | NCT06854510 | Feb 2025 → Feb 2026 overdue | nasopharyngeal carcinoma | Sun Yat-sen University | Active not recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2/3 | NCT06591494 | Sep 2024 → Sep 2025 overdue | Helicobacter pylori infectious disease | Second Affiliated Hospital, School of Medicine, Zhejiang University | Not yet recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2/3 | NCT05313256 | Jul 2022 → Jul 2024 | obstetric disorder | University Hospital, Bordeaux | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2/3 | NCT01748097 | Dec 2012 → Dec 2013 | — | Sheba Medical Center | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2/3 | NCT01458873 | Oct 2011 → Dec 2012 | — | Sheba Medical Center | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2/3 | NCT01452412 | Oct 2011 → Aug 2016 | chronic kidney disease, metabolic acidosis | Albert Einstein College of Medicine | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2/3 | NCT01012349 | Feb → May 2011 | — | Azidus Brasil | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2/3 | NCT00672334 | May 2008 → Jun 2011 | cardiac valvular defect | Austin Health | Terminated | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2/3 | NCT00977444 | Nov 2007 → Feb 2009 | osteoarthritis | Nucitec | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2/3 | NCT00497328 | Aug 2007 → Jun 2013 | acute tubulointerstitial nephritis | National University Hospital, Singapore | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2/3 | NCT00472563 | May 2007 → Feb 2008 | acute kidney injury | Universidad de Antioquia | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 323 trials | ||||||
| Phase 3 | NCT07592143 | Jul → Dec 2026 expected | — | King Edward Medical University | Not yet recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT06579690 | May 2025 → Apr 2026 | dystocia | Busitema University | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT05697770 | Apr 2023 → Jan 2026 overdue | metabolic acidosis | Australian and New Zealand Intensive Care Research Centre | Active not recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT05415865 | Sep 2022 → Apr 2024 | overactive bladder, urinary tract infection | Herlev and Gentofte Hospital | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT04655716 | Jul 2021 → Jun 2022 | COVID-19 | Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT04255121 | Jun → Dec 2020 | — | Reims University Hospital | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT04579419 | Nov 2019 → Aug 2020 | — | King Abdulaziz Medical City | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT02872155 | Jul 2017 → Jul 2019 | impaired renal function disease | David Garcia Cinca | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT03106922 | Apr 2016 → Jul 2020 | — | Alfasigma S.p.A. | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT02521181 | Oct 2015 → Jan 2018 | chronic kidney disease | Jennifer Gassman, PhD | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT02476253 | May 2015 → May 2017 | metabolic acidosis | University Hospital, Montpellier | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT01786824 | Dec 2014 → Aug 2015 | acute kidney injury, impaired renal function disease | Nîmes University Hospital | Terminated | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT02726737 | Dec 2014 → Oct 2015 | — | Masoud Saatchi | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT02226913 | Feb → Sep 2013 | — | Masoud Saatchi | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT01493089 | Apr → Oct 2011 | gastroesophageal reflux disease | Norgine | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT00930436 | Jan 2010 → Aug 2012 | acute kidney injury | MD Scientific | Terminated | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT01005719 | Sep 2009 → Jan 2010 | — | Bayer | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT00765206 | May → Aug 2008 | — | Bayer | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT00424320 | Oct 2006 → Jan 2007 | acute kidney injury | Instituto Nacional de Cardiologia Ignacio Chavez | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT00522756 | May 2006 → Dec 2012 | acute kidney injury | McGill University Health Centre/Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT00312117 | Jan → Feb 2006 | acute tubulointerstitial nephritis | Kaiser Permanente | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT01172353 | Jul 2004 → Jan 2008 | kidney failure | Hospital Sao Lucas da PUCRS | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT01471925 | — | gastroesophageal reflux disease | Eurofarma Laboratorios S.A. | Withdrawn | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 425 trials | ||||||
| Phase 4 | NCT07464431 | May 2026 → Jun 2028 expected | acute kidney injury, metabolic acidosis | University of Münster | Not yet recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT06491485 | Oct 2024 → Oct 2025 overdue | — | Assiut University | Not yet recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT06966635 | Apr 2024 → Dec 2025 overdue | gout, nephrolithiasis | Huashan Hospital | Recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT06047366 | Dec 2023 → May 2024 | pulpitis | Indiana University | Terminated | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT05564130 | Feb 2023 → Feb 2026 overdue | cardiac arrest | Lars Wiuff Andersen | Active not recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT05793905 | Dec 2022 → Mar 2023 | — | Damascus University | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT05227300 | Feb → May 2022 | pulpitis | Indiana University | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT05005793 | Dec 2021 → Aug 2026 overdue | metabolic acidosis, vascular disorder | University of Colorado, Denver | Recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT04054128 | Sep 2019 → Feb 2020 | end stage renal failure | Hospital General "Dr. Miguel Silva" de Morelia | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT03833947 | Mar → Oct 2019 | — | Aligarh Muslim University | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT03928470 | Jan → Dec 2019 | gastroesophageal reflux disease | Chong Kun Dang Pharmaceutical | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT03102996 | Jun 2017 → Jun 2021 | impaired renal function disease, metabolic acidosis | University of Zurich | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT03107754 | May 2017 → Oct 2018 | — | University of Hawaii | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT03035812 | Feb 2017 → Feb 2020 | metabolic acidosis, nephrolithiasis | Jean-Philippe Bertocchio | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT02502071 | Jan → Jul 2017 | diabetic kidney disease, type 1 diabetes mellitus | University of Colorado, Denver | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT02082717 | Feb 2014 → Aug 2018 | potassium deficiency | Baptist Health South Florida | Terminated | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT01920126 | Aug 2013 → Aug 2016 | acute kidney injury | Yonsei University | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT02761577 | Jun 2012 → Jul 2013 | kidney disorder | Clinical Hospital Centre Zagreb | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT01611324 | May → Dec 2012 | varicose disease | Campus-Bio-Medico University | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT01587885 | Jan → Apr 2012 | dyspepsia | Bayer | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT00700375 | Jul 2008 → Mar 2010 | — | Osaka General Medical Center | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT00950079 | Feb 2008 → Aug 2009 | acute tubulointerstitial nephritis | CardioVascular Research Foundation, Korea | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT00501475 | Mar 2007 → Oct 2010 | chronic renal failure syndrome | Seoul National University Hospital | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT00384995 | Dec 2006 → Jul 2009 | acute kidney injury | Italian Society of Nephrology | Terminated | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT00606827 | Jan 2005 → Mar 2006 | — | Ospedale Misericordia e Dolce | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase not applicable35 trials | ||||||
| — | NCT07572994 | May → Sep 2026 expected | myofascial pain syndrome | Cairo University | Not yet recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT07321379 | Feb 2026 → Jan 2028 expected | dystocia | Copenhagen University Hospital, Hvidovre | Not yet recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT07273539 | Oct 2025 → Feb 2026 | gingivitis | HALEON | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT06974019 | Jun 2025 → Jun 2027 expected | — | University of California, San Diego | Not yet recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT07419763 | Apr → Jun 2025 | dental caries | Church & Dwight Company, Inc. | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT06819748 | Feb → Jun 2025 overdue | — | Sichuan Provincial People's Hospital | Recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT06622525 | May 2024 → Oct 2025 | acute kidney injury | Hospital General de Mexicali | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT06734481 | Apr 2024 → May 2026 overdue | pleural empyema | First Affiliated Hospital of Ningbo University | Recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT05761756 | Nov 2023 → Aug 2026 overdue | epilepsy | Duke University | Recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT07120594 | Nov 2023 → Jul 2025 | — | Latakia University | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT05654662 | Feb → Nov 2023 | gingivitis, smooth surface dental caries | HALEON | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT05676216 | Jan 2023 → Dec 2024 | peripheral vertigo | National Taiwan University Hospital | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT05473819 | May → Jun 2022 | — | Alexandria University | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT05338983 | May 2022 → May 2023 | — | Mansoura University | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT04806061 | Oct 2021 → Jul 2024 | COVID-19, acute kidney injury | Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT07365956 | Jan 2021 → Jan 2022 | — | Harran University | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT04374591 | Aug → Nov 2020 | COVID-19, pneumonia | Mansoura University | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT04010630 | Oct 2019 → Dec 2023 | acute kidney injury, metabolic acidosis | University Hospital, Montpellier | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT03428464 | Dec 2018 → Mar 2020 | metabolic acidosis | University of Colorado, Denver | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT03914235 | Aug 2018 → Mar 2019 | tenosynovitis | Mexican Social Security Institute | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT04821193 | Nov 2017 → Jul 2020 | dental caries, prosthesis-related infectious disease, toxic dermatosis | Istanbul University - Cerrahpasa | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT03306758 | Nov 2017 → Jul 2018 | gout | Shanghai Zhongshan Hospital | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT02915601 | Jan 2017 → May 2022 | chronic kidney disease, metabolic acidosis | University of Colorado, Denver | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT02992691 | Dec 2016 → Feb 2017 | — | GlaxoSmithKline | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT03818126 | Jul 2016 → Jun 2018 | aortic valve disorder, ischemic disease | Pawel Buszman | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT02823002 | Jun 2016 → Jan 2025 | — | Northwestern University | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT03140436 | Apr → Aug 2016 | — | Mahidol University | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT02561325 | Sep 2015 → Jan 2017 | — | University Hospital, Clermont-Ferrand | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT02501343 | Mar 2015 → Dec 2016 | type 2 diabetes mellitus | Garvan Institute of Medical Research | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT02031770 | Jan 2014 → Mar 2016 | chronic kidney disease, metabolic acidosis | University of Colorado, Denver | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT01840241 | Apr 2013 → Oct 2015 | acute kidney injury | Yonsei University | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT01350583 | Aug 2010 → May 2012 | — | H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute | Terminated | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT00494637 | Jul 2007 → Dec 2008 | — | Lenox Hill Hospital | Terminated | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT00353340 | Jan 2005 → Jan 2008 | acute kidney injury | Shaare Zedek Medical Center | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT06046924 | Jun 1996 → Nov 2006 | chronic kidney disease, hypertensive disorder | Donald Wesson | Completed | No outcome recorded |
Also used as a comparator or background therapy in 88 trials
| Phase | Registry id | Dates | Indication | Sponsor | Status | Outcome |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phase 02 trials | ||||||
| Phase 0 | NCT04651088 Comparator | Jul → Dec 2026 expected | urolithiasis | University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center | Not yet recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 0 | NCT05486819 Comparator | Aug 2022 → Feb 2023 | — | Cairo University | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 16 trials | ||||||
| Phase 1 | NCT06725992 Background | Jan → Apr 2024 | — | Il-Yang Pharm. Co., Ltd. | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 1 | NCT03399331 Background | Jul 2017 → Dec 2021 | chemotherapy-induced oral mucositis, leukemia | American University of Beirut Medical Center | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 1 | NCT03100838 Comparator | Mar → Dec 2017 | — | Food and Drug Administration (FDA) | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 1 | NCT02411773 Comparator | Jun 2015 → Jun 2027 expected | chronic kidney disease | Emory University | Recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 1 | NCT01440478 Background | Sep → Oct 2011 | — | Eli Lilly and Company | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 1 | NCT01008111 Comparator | Oct 2009 → Apr 2013 | — | Wake Forest University | Withdrawn | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 1/22 trials | ||||||
| Phase 1/2 | NCT04708340 Comparator | Mar 2021 → Oct 2022 | COVID-19, acute respiratory distress syndrome | Reven Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 1/2 | NCT02060149 Comparator | Mar 2014 → Mar 2015 | pneumonia | Xijing Hospital | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 216 trials | ||||||
| Phase 2 | NCT07504471 Background | Mar → Dec 2026 expected | malignant pancreatic neoplasm | Ruijin Hospital | Recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT03301558 Comparator | Dec 2025 | — | Prim. Priv. Doz. Dr. Daniel Cejka | Withdrawn | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT07202624 Comparator | Feb → Jun 2025 | pharyngitis | Prince Sultan Military Medical City | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT05870007 Comparator | May 2023 → Dec 2025 overdue | autosomal dominant polycystic kidney disease, chronic kidney disease | Taipei Medical University Shuang Ho Hospital | Enrolling by invitation | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT05414305 Background | Oct 2020 → Dec 2023 | interstitial cystitis | Walter Reed National Military Medical Center | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT04401176 Comparator | Sep 2020 → Jun 2023 | interstitial cystitis | Walter Reed National Military Medical Center | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT03238625 Comparator | Aug → Oct 2017 | — | University of Zurich | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT02870738 Comparator | Apr 2017 → Feb 2026 overdue | interstitial cystitis | Corewell Health East | Active not recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT01426295 Comparator | Apr 2011 → Apr 2013 | hematologic disorder | Nantes University Hospital | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT00706771 Comparator | Feb 2010 → Sep 2012 | impaired renal function disease | Austin Health | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT00878956 Comparator | Apr 2009 → Jun 2011 | acute kidney injury | Austin Health | Terminated | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT00921518 Comparator | Jan 2009 → Jan 2012 | acute kidney injury | Community Medical Center, Scranton, PA | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT00540904 Comparator | Sep 2007 → Aug 2008 | — | Barretos Cancer Hospital | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT00634491 Comparator | Sep 2007 → Feb 2008 | acute tubulointerstitial nephritis | Shiraz University of Medical Sciences | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT00513825 Comparator | Aug 2007 → Jul 2008 | acute tubulointerstitial nephritis | Tehran University of Medical Sciences | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2 | NCT00484354 Comparator | May 2006 → Dec 2011 | acute kidney injury | Wake Forest University Health Sciences | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2/35 trials | ||||||
| Phase 2/3 | NCT07000058 Comparator | Jun → Dec 2025 overdue | — | Misr University for Science and Technology | Active not recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2/3 | NCT03226626 Background | Dec 2021 → Jan 2022 | infectious disease with sepsis, thrombotic disease | HK Surgical, Inc. | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2/3 | NCT02503904 Comparator | Oct 2015 → Jun 2019 | venous thromboembolism | Klein, Jeffrey A., M.D. | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2/3 | NCT00888290 Comparator | Mar 2009 → May 2010 | chronic kidney disease | Albert Einstein College of Medicine | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 2/3 | NCT00130598 Comparator | Jun 2005 → Dec 2009 | acute kidney injury | University Hospital, Basel, Switzerland | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 314 trials | ||||||
| Phase 3 | NCT05719467 Comparator | Jan 2023 → Jan 2025 overdue | pregnancy disorder | Oslo University Hospital | Recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT03463915 Comparator | Jan 2019 → Oct 2020 | interstitial cystitis | Olivia Cardenas-Trowers, M.D. | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT02728037 Background | Apr 2016 → Mar 2020 | pelvis syndrome | Queen's University | Terminated | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT02980003 Comparator | Mar 2015 → Oct 2020 | acute kidney injury | G. d'Annunzio University | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT01467466 Comparator | Oct 2013 → Sep 2017 | acute kidney injury, coronary artery disorder | VA Office of Research and Development | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT02205008 Background | Oct 2012 → Dec 2015 | cancer | Kyungpook National University Hospital | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT01065857 Comparator | Jan → Jun 2010 | — | Laboratorios Casen-Fleet S.L.U. | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT01210456 Comparator | Oct 2009 → Oct 2014 | chronic kidney disease | Tokushukai Medical Group | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT01066741 Comparator | May 2009 → Feb 2011 | hypopharynx cancer, oropharynx cancer | Centre Leon Berard | Terminated | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT01098032 Comparator | Jan 2009 → Dec 2010 | chronic kidney disease | Clinica Mediterranea | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT01077076 Background | Dec 2008 → Mar 2009 | gastrin secretion abnormality | Bayer | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT00674115 Comparator | Apr → Jun 2008 | — | Bayer | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT00514150 Comparator | Aug 2007 → Jun 2008 | acute tubulointerstitial nephritis | Tehran University of Medical Sciences | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 3 | NCT00427648 Comparator | Mar 2006 → May 2010 | overactive bladder | Frank Tu | Terminated | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 425 trials | ||||||
| Phase 4 | NCT07424625 Comparator | Jul 2026 → Feb 2027 expected | metabolic acidosis | Mayo Clinic | Not yet recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT06514430 Comparator | Jul 2025 → Feb 2026 | overactive bladder | Montefiore Medical Center | Withdrawn | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT06367452 Background | Oct 2023 → Jan 2024 | — | Tecnoquimicas | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT05006638 Comparator | Dec 2022 → Jun 2023 | poisoning | Aya Sabry Mohamed Mohamed | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT05818007 Comparator | Apr 2022 → Mar 2023 | chemotherapy-induced oral mucositis | Yuzuncu Yil University | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT04773236 Comparator | Feb → May 2021 | — | University of Baghdad | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT04530448 Comparator | Oct 2020 → Jul 2021 | COVID-19, acute kidney injury | West Virginia University | Terminated | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT04509258 Comparator | Oct 2020 → Oct 2021 | — | Cairo University | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT04270526 Comparator | Aug 2020 → Jun 2023 | attention deficit-hyperactivity disorder 8, overactive bladder | Boston Urogynecology Associates | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT03627884 Comparator | Oct 2016 → Mar 2018 | acute kidney injury, end stage renal failure | Coney Island Hospital, Brooklyn, NY | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT03121053 Comparator | Oct 2016 → Dec 2018 | acute kidney injury, acute tubulointerstitial nephritis, aortic valve disorder, chronic kidney disease | St. Antonius Hospital | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT02647892 Comparator | Jan 2016 → Nov 2021 | — | University of Nebraska | Terminated | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT02692378 Comparator | Nov 2015 → May 2016 | end stage renal failure | Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT02662374 Background | Sep 2015 → Apr 2016 | chemotherapy-induced oral mucositis | Riyadh Colleges of Dentistry and Pharmacy | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT02627846 Comparator | Jun 2015 → Aug 2018 | varicose disease | Hull University Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT02288364 Comparator | Dec 2014 → Aug 2015 | — | Duke University | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT02483143 Comparator | Feb 2014 → Feb 2015 | pulmonary embolism | Karadeniz Technical University | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT01491243 Comparator | Jan 2014 → Dec 2015 | coronary artery disorder | University of Roma La Sapienza | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT01622296 Comparator | Apr → Jul 2012 | — | University of California, San Francisco | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT01377337 Comparator | Dec 2011 → Dec 2013 | sudden cardiac arrest | Rambam Health Care Campus | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT01466491 Comparator | Oct 2011 → May 2013 | — | Oregon Health and Science University | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT01594489 Comparator | Jan 2009 → Sep 2012 | acute kidney injury | Ospedale Misericordia e Dolce | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT00639912 Comparator | Jun 2007 → May 2010 | — | Azienda USL Reggio Emilia - IRCCS | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT01093131 Comparator | Feb 2005 → Sep 2009 | acute tubulointerstitial nephritis | The Western Pennsylvania Hospital | Withdrawn | No outcome recorded |
| Phase 4 | NCT00749827 Comparator | — | acute tubulointerstitial nephritis | Memorial University of Newfoundland | Withdrawn | No outcome recorded |
| Phase not applicable18 trials | ||||||
| — | NCT07408414 Comparator | Sep 2025 → Sep 2026 expected | pilonidal sinus | Opća županijska bolnica Požega | Recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT07436650 Comparator | Jun 2025 → Aug 2030 expected | mucositis | Ain Shams University | Recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT07008222 Background | Jun 2025 → Jan 2026 overdue | — | University of California, San Diego | Not yet recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT05113641 Comparator | Aug 2023 → Jul 2026 overdue | chronic kidney disease, metabolic acidosis | Dylan MacKay | Active not recruiting | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT05035524 Comparator | Sep 2021 → Mar 2022 | COVID-19, acute respiratory distress syndrome, pneumonia | Mansoura University | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT04833777 Background | Jul 2021 → Dec 2022 | carpal tunnel syndrome | University of Saskatchewan | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT04772209 Comparator | Feb 2021 → Mar 2022 | prosthesis-related infectious disease, urinary tract infection | Zonguldak Ataturk State Hospital | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT02838056 Background | Feb → Sep 2017 | — | Taipei Medical University WanFang Hospital | Unknown | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT02822131 Background | Jan → Jun 2016 | hypertensive disorder | University of Zurich | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT02454296 Comparator | May → Dec 2015 | — | University of Hawaii | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT01574157 Comparator | Nov 2012 → May 2018 | chronic renal failure syndrome, diabetes mellitus | VA Office of Research and Development | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT01660412 Comparator | Aug 2012 → Dec 2016 | — | University of Arkansas | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT01362556 Comparator | Mar 2011 → Dec 2013 | cardiac arrest | Medical University of Graz | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT01160627 Comparator | Apr 2010 → Mar 2013 | acute tubulointerstitial nephritis | Odense University Hospital | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT00928564 Comparator | Apr 2009 → Dec 2015 | levator syndrome | University of California, Irvine | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT00816751 Background | Dec 2007 → Feb 2008 | — | University of California, San Diego | Completed | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT00579995 Comparator | May 2005 → Apr 2010 | — | University of Nebraska | Terminated | No outcome recorded |
| — | NCT01612013 Comparator | May 2005 → May 2009 | acute kidney injury | Federal University of São Paulo | Completed | No outcome recorded |
Evidence & citations 47 cited values
Every value below carries the sentence it was read from. 228 sources stand behind the page.
| Field | Value | Cited text |
|---|---|---|
| Known as | Sodium Bicarbonate | “BACKGROUND: Zegerid (on demand immediate-release omeprazole and sodium bicarbonate combination therapy) has demonstrated earlier absorption and more rapid pH change compared...” PMID 25706883 ↗ Feb 2015213“Bladder instillation mixture of heparin (10,000 units), 2% viscous lidocaine (10 mL), 8.4% sodium bicarbonate (15 mL of 1 mEq/mL), 0.5% bupivacaine (10 mL of 5 mg/mL) plus...” NCT03463915 ↗ “Control at our institution is 5cc sodium bicarbonate, 5cc rinsidin and 5cc of mycostatin 4 times daily for children. For adults it is Caphosol in the BMT unit and in the Basile...” NCT03399331 ↗ “Participants were randomized in a 3-way crossover design and received, in random order, Zegerid OTC Capsules (20 mg omeprazole and 1100 mg sodium bicarbonate), Prilosec OTC...” NCT01077076 ↗ “or (B) sodium bicarbonate (166 mEq/L) 3 mL/kg for 1 h before and 1 mL/kg/h for 6 h after the procedure or (C) sodium bicarbonate (166 mEq/L) 3 mL/kg over 20 min before the...” PMID 22267245 ↗ Jan 2012 “heparin sulphate 40,000 IU (4 cc of 10,000 units/cc), lidocaine 2% 16 ml, Sodium bicarbonate 8.4% 4 ml and Kenalog 40 mg (1cc) to reach a total fluid volume of 25 ml will be...” NCT02870738 ↗ “intra-articular injections of sodium bicarbonate with a single (SBCG1) or double dose (SBCG2) of calcium gluconate administered monthly compared with methylprednisolone (MP)...” PMID 28469486 ↗ Feb 2017 “Intravenous hydration: sodium (1.6 molar) Bicarbonate 3 mL / kg / h starting one hour before the computed tomography and sodium bicarbonate (1/6 M) 1 mL / kg / h during the...” NCT02872155 ↗ “Active drug comprised of: ascorbic acid, magnesium sulfate heptahydrate, cyanocobalamin, thiamine, riboflavin 5' phosphate, niacinamide, pyridoxine, calcium d-pantothenate, and...” NCT04708340 ↗ “Tumescent solution prepared with 500 mL normal saline, 20 mL 2% lidocaine, one ampule of epinephrine (1 mg/mL), and 5 mL sodium bicarbonate; infiltrated into the operative...” NCT07408414 ↗ “Six weekly bladder instillations, each instillation consisting of 40,000 IU Heparin, 200mg lidocaine, 2ml 8.4% sodium bicarbonate, sterile water for a total volume 50 milliliters (mL).” NCT05414305 ↗ “tumescent formulation of cefazolin (1gm) and metronidazole (500mg/100ml) in a dilute solution of lidocaine (1gm), epinephrine (1mg) in 100ml and sodium bicarbonate (10mEq/10ml)” NCT03226626 ↗ “A mixture of epinephrine 1:200,000 and lidocaine 1%). Buffered to reduce injection pain by 1 ml of sodium bicarbonate 8.4% for every 10 ml of the local anesthetic mixture.” NCT07000058 ↗ “Sodium bicarbonate (NaHCO3) solutions are used in different areas such as oral hygiene and dental care in the world and our country, and side effects are not reported.” NCT04821193 ↗ “The PCB will consist of a total of 20 mL local anesthetic (18 mL of 1% lidocaine buffered with 2 mL sodium bicarbonate) injected with the following technique:” NCT01466491 ↗ “Buffered Lidocaine 2% with epinephrine 1.80000 mixed with 1.8% sodium bicarbonate in IANB injection in the treatment of bilateral primary mandibular molars” NCT05793905 ↗ “8ml of 0.5% bupivicaine, 1ml of 10mg/ml triamcinolone, 1ml of 8.4% sodium bicarbonate for a total volume of 10ml. Five ml will be used at each block site.” NCT00928564 ↗ “In patients belonging to Group (A), ETT cuff will be filled with mixture of 7.5% sodium bicarbonate with 2% lignocaine in the proportions of 0.5: 9.5 ml” NCT03833947 ↗ “lidocaine 2%, 2 ml will be initially injected into the cuff, and then a supplementary volume of 2 ml of sodium bicarbonate (NaHCO3) 8.4% will be added” NCT07202624 ↗ “macrogol 3350 59.000 g, anhydrous sodium sulphate 5.685 g, sodium bicarbonate 1.685 g, sodium chloride 1.465 g, potassium chloride 0.7425 g.” NCT03106922 ↗ “The concentration of components in the final mixture is 0.7% lidocaine, 0.8% sodium bicarbonate, 6.0% dextrose, and 2.5% magnesium sulfate.” NCT02728037 ↗ “Performance of paracervical block, using 18 mL of 1% lidocaine buffered with 2 mL 8.4% sodium bicarbonate, prior to laminaria insertion” NCT02454296 ↗ “Patients will receive the nebulization with Sodium Bicarbonate of pH 7.4 (Each time the volume of aerosol solution is 5ml, q8h).” NCT02060149 ↗ “The intervention will offer use of a specific catheter lock solution (8.4% sodium bicarbonate) when the catheter is not in use.” NCT05813535 ↗ “The Effect of a Sodium Bicarbonate and Hydrogen Peroxide Gel on Wound Healing of Incisional Wounds for Bilateral Hernia Repair” NCT01008111 ↗ “Patients allocated to the Systemic alone therapy group will receive 154 mEq/l of sodium bicarbonate in dextrose and H2O” NCT01098032 ↗ “The buffered lidocaine protocol used 50 ml of 1% lidocaine, 45 ml of 0.9% saline, and 5 ml of 8.4% sodium bicarbonate.” PMID 40025238 ↗ Mar 2025 “Zegerid (20 mg omeprazole/ 1100 mg sodium bicarbonate) taken with approximately 2 oz of water once daily for 7 days.” NCT01005719 ↗ “The investigator will add Sodium bicarbonate in lidocaine with adrenaline (1:80,000 ) for Buffered Local anesthesia.” NCT07592143 ↗ “Sodium Bicarbonate Prescription and Extracellular Volume Increase: Real-world Data Results from the AlcalUN Study.” PMID 34564842 ↗ Oct 2021 “EsoduoⓇ (esomeprazole 20 mg with sodium bicarbonate 800 mg) or NexiumⓇ (esomeprazole 20 mg) once daily for 4 weeks” PMID 35730245 ↗ Jun 2022 “Test dentifrice containing 0.243% sodium fluoride, 5.0% potassium nitrate, and 20% sodium bicarbonate.” NCT07419763 ↗ “patients will receive local methods: cholorohexidine mouthwash as well sodium bicarbonate mouthwash” NCT07436650 ↗ “Intravenous sodium bicarbonate (130 mEq/L) in 4.35% dextrose at 3.5 ml/Kg over 1 hour pre-contrast” NCT00749827 ↗ “1 - 4 postoprative day: 0.9% saline solution 1L plus 5-FU 700 mg/m2 plus sodium bicarbonate 50” NCT02205008 ↗ “30 cc of 1% xylocaine and 10 cc of 0.9% sodium bicarbonate, dosed twice a week for three weeks” NCT00427648 ↗ “pre-treatment of 50-100 mL of 5% Sodium Bicarbonate (NaHCO3) followed by a 5% glucose flush” NCT07504471 ↗ “Sodium bicarbonate (154 mEq/L in dextrose and H20) 3mL/kg for 1 hour before contrast medium” NCT01594489 ↗ “Local anesthetic solution mixed with sodium bicarbonate to increase pH before injection.” NCT07120594 ↗ “It contains 67% weight/weight (w/w) Sodium Bicarbonate and 0.310% w/w Sodium Fluoride” NCT05654662 ↗ “8.4% Sodium Bicarbonate will be added to the anaesthetic solution in ratio 1:19” NCT05473819 ↗ “10 mL 1% lidocaine with 1:100,000 epinephrine and 1 mL 8.4% sodium bicarbonate” NCT04833777 ↗ “Oral administration of sodium bicarbonate to simulate carbon dioxide exposure” NCT05761756 ↗ “Intervention: 1.5-4.5 g/day sodium bicarbonate or placebo for 24 months.” PMID 41953463 ↗ Feb 2026 “Immediate release omeprazole 40 mg and sodium bicarbonate 1,100 mg” NCT02710994 ↗ “Administration of sodium bicarbonate was proved to reduce POPI.” NCT05486819 ↗ “40,000 IU Heparin, 200mg lidocaine, 2ml 8.4% sodium bicarbonate” NCT04401176 ↗ “7% sodium bicarbonate 2.3 ml (1.9 mEq) + 0.1mg epinephrine” NCT02838056 ↗ “75 cc of sodium bicarbonate (8.4%) mixed in 425 cc of D5W” NCT00472563 ↗ “buffered to near pH 7.40 using sodium bicarbonate” PMID 26222533 ↗ Dec 2015 “2 cc of sodium bicarbonate, 18 cc of 1% lidocaine” NCT06974019 ↗ “Ilaprazole 20mg + Sodium bicarbonate 500mg” NCT06725992 ↗ “intravenous 1.26% sodium bicarbonate” PMID 29130810 ↗ Nov 2017 “8.4% sodium bicarbonate inhaled” NCT03391414 ↗ “* Sodium Bicarbonate 8.4% 5 ml” NCT00317070 ↗ “Bicanorm (Sodium bicarbonate)” NCT04321161 ↗ “7.5% sodium bicarbonate (4ml)” NCT03914235 ↗ “NAC or sodium bicarbonate” NCT00501475 ↗ “Sodium Bicarbonate” NCT02060149 ↗ “Sodium Bicarbonate” NCT05035524 ↗ “Sodium Bicarbonate” NCT02823002 ↗ |
| Known as | 8.4% sodium bicarbonate solution | “Drug: 8.4% sodium bicarbonate solution” NCT06579690 ↗ |
| Known as | B1654 | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | baking soda | “Sodium bicarbonate, also known as baking soda, may help prevent kidney failure in people with chronic kidney disease.” NCT02521181 ↗ |
| Known as | Bicanorm | ClinicalTrials.gov intervention name — accepted as the source's own label NCT04321161 ↗ |
| Known as | Bicarbonate de sodium | ClinicalTrials.gov intervention name — accepted as the source's own label NCT01426295 ↗ |
| Known as | Bicarbonate of soda | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | Biosedra Versylène | “•Bicarbonate de sodium à 1.4% Biosedra Versylène® or PAROEX® :” NCT01426295 ↗ |
| Known as | Carbonic acid monosodium salt | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | Carbonic acid sodium salt (1:1) | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | E-500(II) | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | Genitron tp-bch 51051 | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | Hydrocerol esc 5671 | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | INS NO.500(II) | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | INS-500(II) | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | Monosodium carbonate | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | NaBic | “NaBic is considered to be safe in the setting of intensive care treatment and is often used in the treatment of patients with metabolic acidosis without any discernible adverse...” NCT00334191 ↗ |
| Known as | NaHCO3 | “The purpose of this study is to test the effect of increasing the body pH acutely with an alkaline medication (sodium bicarbonate, NaHCO3, sodibic) on glucose metabolism post...” NCT02501343 ↗19“Our main aim is to investigate the effectiveness of sodium bicarbonate (NaHCO3), a ubiquitous and cheap option as a catheter lock solution, in comparison with traditionally...” PMID 37823971 ↗ Oct 2023 “BACKGROUND: N-acetylcysteine (NAC) or sodium bicarbonate (NaHCO3), singly or combined, inconsistently prevent patients exposed to radiographic contrast media from developing...” PMID 25254489 ↗ Sep 2014 “Sodium bicarbonate (NaHCO3) solutions are used in different areas such as oral hygiene and dental care in the world and our country, and side effects are not reported.” NCT04821193 ↗ “Sodium bicarbonate (NaHCO3) demonstrates anti-infective and anticoagulation properties with a good safety profile, making it an ideal lock solution development target.” PMID 30668833 ↗ Oct 2019 “The del Nido components are: Plasma-Lyte A (1000ml), Mannitol 20% (16.3ml), MgSO4 50% (4ml) , NaHCO3 8.4% (13ml) , KCl 2mEq/mL (13ml), Lidocaine 1% (13ml).” NCT03818126 ↗ “three experimental toothpastes containing 20%, 35%, and 50% w/w sodium bicarbonate (NaHCO3) with commercial toothpastes containing 67% and 0% w/w NaHCO3” PMID 30942962 ↗ Dec 2018 “lidocaine 2%, 2 ml will be initially injected into the cuff, and then a supplementary volume of 2 ml of sodium bicarbonate (NaHCO3) 8.4% will be added” NCT07202624 ↗ “Oral alkalization with sodium bicarbonate (NaHCO3 ) or citrate is prescribed for conditions ranging from metabolic acidosis to nephrolithiasis.” PMID 34564842 ↗ Oct 2021 “Patients allocated to the sodium bicarbonate (NaHCO3) arm will receive a 0.150 M NaHCO3 solution prepared in a sterile water base.” NCT00484354 ↗ “Treatment consisted of 0.15 g/kg/day Sodium Bicarbonate (NaHCO3) increasing to 0.3 g/kg/day after 1 week if well tolerated.” NCT01350583 ↗ “Trials examining the effect of sodium bicarbonate (NaHCO3) on cognitive function are lacking.” PMID 40797182 ↗ Aug 2025 “pre-treatment of 50-100 mL of 5% Sodium Bicarbonate (NaHCO3) followed by a 5% glucose flush” NCT07504471 ↗ “treatment with sodium bicarbonate (NaHCO 3 ) did not improve vascular endothelial function” PMID 37228030 ↗ May 2023 “via administration of an alkalizing agent such as sodium bicarbonate (NaHCO3)” NCT03057535 ↗ “Short-term use of sodium bicarbonate (NaHCO3)-containing toothpaste” PMID 29758155 ↗ Mar 2018 “sodium bicarbonate (NaHCO3) infusion” PMID 24714489 ↗ Apr 2014 “Drug: Sodium Bicarbonate (NaHCO3)” NCT07231900 ↗ |
| Known as | Natrii hydrogenocarbonas | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | Natrum bicarbonicum | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | NSC-134031 | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | Nurse harveys | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | Onset | “Onpharma's Onset sodium bicarbonate buffer to be added to a standard cartridge of dental local anesthetic” NCT05227300 ↗ |
| Known as | S-bicarb | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | S-bicarb sf | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | SOB | “N-acetylcysteine (NAC) and sodium bicarbonate (SOB) therapies may prevent contrast-induced nephropathy (CIN).” PMID 26301645 ↗ Aug 2015 |
| Known as | sodibic | “The purpose of this study is to test the effect of increasing the body pH acutely with an alkaline medication (sodium bicarbonate, NaHCO3, sodibic) on glucose metabolism post...” NCT02501343 ↗ |
| Known as | Sodium acid carbonate | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | Sodium bicarb | “8.4% sodium bicarb locks when off venous nutrition” NCT05813535 ↗ |
| Known as | Sodium bicarbonate anhydrous | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | Sodium bicarbonate component of baros | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | Sodium bicarbonate component of colyte | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | Sodium bicarbonate component of golytely | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | Sodium bicarbonate component of halflytely | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | Sodium bicarbonate component of konvomep | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | Sodium bicarbonate component of navstel | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | Sodium bicarbonate component of normocarb | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | Sodium bicarbonate component of nulytely | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | Sodium bicarbonate component of suclear | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | Sodium bicarbonate component of zegerid | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Known as | Sodium Bicarbonate Inj., 8.4% USP Neutralizing Additive Solution (NDC Code 509-100-03) | “Sodium Bicarbonate Inj., 8.4% USP Neutralizing Additive Solution (NDC Code 509-100-03)” NCT01622296 ↗ |
| Known as | Sodium hydrogen carbonate | “20 ml of Lidocaine Hydrochloride and 10 ml of Sodium hydrogen carbonate will be pulled up and mixed in a syringe on site, and 30 ml mixed solution in total will afterwards be...” NCT05415865 ↗1“Sodium hydrogen carbonate, ATC-Code: A02AH” NCT03102996 ↗ |
| Known as | Thamicarb | ChEMBL registry synonym — accepted as the source's own label CHEMBL1353 ↗ |
| Action | Inhibit | “Here, the strategy will be deployed not for ion trapping but to inhibit the virus from infecting RTEC.” NCT04530448 ↗ |
| Modality | Diagnostic / imaging agent | “to verify whether the IV line is in the vein or surrounding tissue” NCT01748097 ↗ |
| Route | Intravenous | “intravenous volume supplementation with either (A) sodium chloride 0.9% 1 mL/kg/h for at least 12h prior and after the procedure or (B) sodium bicarbonate” PMID 22267245 ↗ Jan 2012 |
| Route | Oral | “intravenous volume supplementation with either (A) sodium chloride 0.9% 1 mL/kg/h for at least 12h prior and after the procedure or (B) sodium bicarbonate” PMID 22267245 ↗ Jan 2012 |